Thread: Data Centres

tsflora Guest
    Hi i need some help, i am planning to open a data centre but dont know were to start from. can some one tell me the funds required and also the equipment involved.
    Also what else can someone use a data centre for...
    Thanks
    Tsflora

Opening a datacenter is a very expensive investment, you should really look at colocating servers in an existing DC before considering opening one yourself.

There is a lot to consider with a datacenter, to do it properly the investment is huge. As suggested above you may want to look at colocation, unless you have a lot of servers this is most cost effective - or maybe even dedicated if you only have a few.

tsflora Guest
    Thanks for that advise, i have available funds of around £100,000
    can i atleast make a start with this much funds and secondly i have people already employeed who look after all the IT and networking.
    Please if possible i am new in the field can i know what else could i do with the data centre to generate income.
    I dnt have to carter for the costs for building as i have my own premises around 3000sq feet.

you need to multiply your available funds by at least 100 times...

Gijsen Guest
    With this funds you can buy 42u rack, few servers and colotate it somewhere... it would be good start.

Thanks for that advise, i have available funds of around £100,000
    I'm not sure where you're based (UK I assume?), but in the UK it will cost you towards £100,000 (more in a lot of places) just to get your local electrical distribution operator to upgrade your building's power feed to anything useful for even a medium-low sized site.

krusty Guest
    I have seen individual companies build mediocre server rooms for around that price - should buy you a small UPS, basic HVAC, anti-static floor for a couple of racks at most plus the networking gear you need.