starting webhosting need help

i have been designing webpages for the last 3 years and i always pay that £5 a month and i thought why not host it my self i have a pc with windows 2003 installed and i was wondering what i need to do from there

thanks in advance guys

well your going to need a fast broadband connection with atleast 1MB Upload speed. You will also need 1-2 static IP's, you can either use IIS6 to manage your sites (Advanced) or you can buy Plesk (www.swsoft.com) or Helm (www.webhostautomation.com) (Begginers Option, although it does take some time to setup)

There is lots more to consider but im not feeling to bright and cant think :-)

First suggestion - Do not host from your own PC/house.

Second suggestion - Find a quality host within a quality datacenter. You can find one within the 'find a host' section above and the advertising forums below.

You will run into many problems trying to host your own website, all of them simply not worth the trouble.

If you have multiple sites, you may want to look into getting a reseller plan.
    FrogJumper.com, Superb Cpanel Web Hosting.
    Excellent, High Paying Affiliate Program.

Yes I agree, I only replied to his question and didnt elaborate.

Your definatley going to need a server at a DataCentre or a hosting provider. (If you give me a PM I could help out there)

Or why not start with a Reseller package if it is only a few sites you will be hosting and then think about a Dedicated Server when you need it.

Quote Originally Posted by jamietweak
    Yes I agree, I only replied to his question and didnt elaborate.

Your definatley going to need a server at a DataCentre or a hosting provider. (If you give me a PM I could help out there)

Or why not start with a Reseller package if it is only a few sites you will be hosting and then think about a Dedicated Server when you need it.