Industry Experts Needed

Hi,

I am hoping some of you may be able to help, as I am no expert to the industry. I have been tasked to put together a presentation on the colocation market: market drivers, top initiatives, financials (i.e. why so many companies are operating in the red), etc.

Any insight into this industry would be appreciated. Thank you all for your time, and forth coming replies.

Just curious, but who's operating in the red? And moreover, what's their problem? From where I'm sitting everything has a bit of a green haze..

Now selling BigVPS's!
    Jacksonville Colocation and dedicated servers by colo4jax
    We are *not* a reseller. We own our servers, switches, routers and racks.

If you're not an expert, why are you being tasked to present that information? Are you getting paid for this job?

--Tina

Hi again,

No I am not an expert but at the same time I am not trying to put together an expert presentation. I guess my subject was a bit misleading, so I apologize.

I am really just looking for an overview of the industry and market in general. I have done a lot of research on theWHIR, Tier 1 Research, Data Center Knowledge, etc. and I thought hearing from people that are in the industry would also be beneficial.

To answer your question tical, there are quite a few companies I have looked at that operate in the red, such as Equinix and Level 3 Communications. I was just curious if this was typical in the industry...

Thanks again for both of your input.

Level3 is a telecom company, not so much a co-location provider.
    rootbsd.net :: BSD based hosting for smart people
    FreeBSD VPS :: FreeBSD and OpenBSD Hosting Powered By Xen
    IRC: #rootbsd on freenode
    twitter: @rootbsd

When you say operating in the red do you mean consistently in the red? It's normal for companies to operate at a loss during phases of growth and expansion as they make payments on debts used to finance construction and large asset purchases.