Hybrid View

Ok, finally I go to Dedicated!! ^o^

Well, after a long long consider and research, I've just picked a dedicated server and have it ordered...

I am really a newbie with dedicated server. I've had many experiences with shared hosts, and I'm really tired with the limited and little available resources on a shared hosting package. I know, it's totally different between shared and dedicated, but I just see that if I don't give myself a chance to touch it I'll never know how it works, and of course that what I'm interested in.

I had no experience with Linux, and I ordered a cheap one, it's 100% self-managed, just with simplest and default setups. Well I know I have to do backups by myself, and I have to take care of securities of hackers. To have less cost I have chosen to have no control panel. May be I will have to install a free WebMin, but I don't know if it's good or not.

Anyway, I'm nervous right away after I submitted the order, and I just can't find where to start.. I know my question is too stupid but are there anywhere that I can find basic tutorials for the new configurations?

BTW, I've selected CentOS as the OS, and of course, I had never touch it before...

Any advise and guiding words would be appreciated!! Thank youuuu!!

TT
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer
    Portfolio: SUJ.CO

You should've installed it on a test enivornment near you to learn it. My suggestion is hire a company to secure your server for you and keep it updated until you can get used to it.

Originally posted by Printf Daniel
    You should've installed it on a test enivornment near you to learn it. My suggestion is hire a company to secure your server for you and keep it updated until you can get used to it.
    Hi, are there any such companies for doing securities? How much will it cost to me? Thank you.
    Su-Jie Wang
    UI & UX Designer