Wordpress + PHP + MySQL + Apache VPS Configuration, 512MB RAM

I would love to see a resource here that combines the best basic configurations for the main components of a Wordpress install. There are some old guides out there but many are several years old or only cover a couple aspects of server performance...

I am new to running a VPS and dealing with some of the myriad issues that come with a completely fresh install without optimizations. I am willing to share what I have learned so far but I think there are some on this forum that will have a lot more expertise than I have!

i would suggest more ram 512mb seems a little on the low side you probably want around 1-2GB or ram at least

Quote Originally Posted by coderiser View Post
    i would suggest more ram 512mb seems a little on the low side you probably want around 1-2GB or ram at least
    Yeah...I found out from experience that running CPanel/WHM will take 250-300MB of server RAM at any given moment. I'm completely guessing here, but hardened PHP may consume further resources. I have a CentOS 5.5 i686 1GB RAM VPS running A.nnotate and soffice and my memory is typically at the 40% mark.

Wordpress + PHP + MySQL + Apache on a 512mb VPS is totally possible.

I asked this same question a few weeks back. Acquired a 512mb VPS and installed Wordpress. I've never deal't with Wordpress before so I was surprised to see Wordpress (basic install + no widgets) consume almost 90% of my VPS 512mb of RAM.

Did a quick Google search and inquired on WHT only to find, it was Apache consuming all my RAM. An un-tuned Apache install + Wordpress + 512MB RAM VPS = fail.

What I did was:
    * Updated Apache (# yum install httpd).
    * Searched for Fine Tuning Apache on Google: http://bit.ly/gjPh5J I used Mediatemple's guidline on tuning Apache. Can be found here: http://bit.ly/dMvni0
    * Restart Apache (# /etc/init.d/httpd restart)

After using those steps, my Wordpress install runs flawless on my 512mb RAM VPS.