Intelligent Routing : RouteScience Path Control, SockEye and netVMG

If anything uses any of the above, please could you let me know how it is setup in conjunction with your network?

In particular I would like to know:
    Is traffic actually analysed and then passed down to the next piece of equipment e.g. switch OR does it only analysis data and make BGP4 changes and not affect actual network traffic flow ??

My main concern is redundancy, does it act as a point of failure or not i.e. if it is down does traffic still flow through the network fine or does it have to go through this piece of equipment.

Thanks in advance.
    -Shazzy

I'm not a super expert on this but I've done research on "Intelligent routing" vendors and have been explained how their products work.

These "intelligent routing" devices are only useful on multi-homed networks

Executive Summary:
    It's all crap and you don't need it on your network unless you need to waste money to secure next years budget because they are all EXPENSIVE

Vendors:
    1. NetVMG
    2. Proficient Networks
    3. InterNAP Flow Control Platform
    etc..

Setup:
    Your router will send traffic samples to the intelligent routing device. The device learns about the various destinations your traffic is sent to.
    How your router sends this data to the device is accomplished by various methods depending on the router platform you use.

Live traffic is not impacted, simply "sniffed" for analysis. You configure the device to adjust BGP metrics on your routers based on "round trip packet latency", "packet loss", "packet jitter", "provider cost", "provider capacity", etc...

In the end, BGP metrics are the only things that change. The device changes the BGP metrics dynamically. The device will "inject" modified BGP metrics into your network in order to meet the configuration parameters you specified on the device.

Thus your network traffic flow is customized.