Thread: Port Speed

Port Speed

Hi everyone I was wondering about the significance of port speed?

I'm looking at LimeStone networks and there pricing for Uplink Port Speed goes like so:

10mbps (included)
    100mbps (monthly +5.00)
    1000mbps (monthly +50.00)

What difference will it make to me going from from 100mbps to 1000mbps? Will the site show up faster or is it for the ability to upload via ftp faster? What is it? Please keep it simpel as I'm new at this. Thanks!

Upgrading the uplink port speed would help visitors to access files hosted in the server much faster, a 100Mbps link will be able to send out data at ten times the rate of a 10Mbps link. If you are serving a lot of large files say, more than 1 megabyte of data per second, then its good if you upgrade the port speed.
    Senior Server Administrator

Quote Originally Posted by WebDivx View Post
    Hi everyone I was wondering about the significance of port speed?

I'm looking at LimeStone networks and there pricing for Uplink Port Speed goes like so:

10mbps (included)
    100mbps (monthly +5.00)
    1000mbps (monthly +50.00)

What difference will it make to me going from from 100mbps to 1000mbps? Will the site show up faster or is it for the ability to upload via ftp faster? What is it? Please keep it simpel as I'm new at this. Thanks!
    As per my understanding

Port speed is in reference to the maximum amount of data that can pass through the port at a given second on the switches that connect your server to the Internet. The unit of measurement is in megabits per second (Mbps) or gigabits per second (Gbps). You can upgrade your port speed on the backup network of your dedicated server to 100 Mbs Public + 1000 Mbs Private for $10/mo.
    Thanks,
    Noman
    noman@linuxonsupport.com
    O Canada, we stand on guard for thee

Go for a 100Mbps port, rarely do people use gigabit uplinks.
    Jacob Wall

Quote Originally Posted by linuxcares View Post