Web Hosting Talk


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : Domain Whois ID Theft
Reply

Domain Names Discussion of issues related to domain names such as domain registration, DNS transferring, domain reselling, etc. Find domain resellers and registrars. Post domains for sale at Domain Names Advertising.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:30 PM
jackel jackel is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Question Domain Whois ID Theft

Need serious help people, someone stole my whois info and registered a domain, This I found out when I accedently looked up the whois for that domain and the guy is using my email also.

What to do with this people experts, need serious advice.

Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:41 PM
nameslave nameslave is offline
View Beta Profile
Alleged Cybersquatter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,550
So it is a .info domain?

__________________
Nameslave - Knows a thing or two about domain names

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:43 PM
bear bear is offline
View Beta Profile
Community Leader
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: E-Den
Posts: 11,363
Used your email? Wouldn't that mean you have control?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:46 PM
jackel jackel is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Yes its an info domain, does it mean anything? nameslave

Yes bear I was thinking of that too any more suggestions people please.

I do not want to stole it but thinking of reporting it!

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2004, 07:58 PM
bear bear is offline
View Beta Profile
Community Leader
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: E-Den
Posts: 11,363
Contact the registrar, and explain the issue. It could be a mistake on thier part.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:00 PM
nameslave nameslave is offline
View Beta Profile
Alleged Cybersquatter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,550
and you have a .com of the same name with eNom?

__________________
Nameslave - Knows a thing or two about domain names

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:01 PM
jackel jackel is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Whois info leads me to:

Sponsoring Registrar: R280-LRMS

which leads to :

www.sipence.com

Any suggestions?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:06 PM
nameslave nameslave is offline
View Beta Profile
Alleged Cybersquatter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,550
Yes, they have been registering "free" .info for registrants who have the .com of the same name at eNom but without their permission.

__________________
Nameslave - Knows a thing or two about domain names

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:13 PM
jackel jackel is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
thanks nameslave but what do you think is the appropriate action?

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:15 PM
nameslave nameslave is offline
View Beta Profile
Alleged Cybersquatter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 3,550
I would suggest complaining to ICANN. They are clearly violating individual registrants' rights, and more seriously, open the latter to potential liability issues.

__________________
Nameslave - Knows a thing or two about domain names

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:25 PM
jackel jackel is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
I think ID protecting is crucial nowadays.
I would rather call them (domain spammers!)

I'll rather fax ICANN about this issue.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:48 PM
Bashar Bashar is offline
View Beta Profile
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 10,544
this is eNom's doing it i think vi athis sipence.com

around 200+ domains i've noticed myself for me and my customers


wierd

__________________
Bashar Al-Abdulhadi - KuwaitNET Internet Services Serving customers since 1997
Kuwait's First Webhosting and Domain Registration provider - an ICANN Accredited Registrar

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-01-2004, 05:30 PM
ajaspers ajaspers is offline
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 209
Same happened to me, but the domains haven't showed up in my account?

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-02-2004, 01:52 PM
dmaven dmaven is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,400
Quote:
Originally posted by Bashar
this is eNom's doing it i think vi athis sipence.com

around 200+ domains i've noticed myself for me and my customers


wierd
I noticed the same thing. Who gave enom the authority to do this? This seems a little sleezy to me

__________________
Domain Maven

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-2004, 02:04 PM
techylara techylara is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Re: Domain Whois ID Theft

Quote:
Originally posted by jackel
Need serious help people, someone stole my whois info and registered a domain, This I found out when I accedently looked up the whois for that domain and the guy is using my email also.

What to do with this people experts, need serious advice.

Thanks in advance!
Since they are using your details then you are the actual owner of that domain. Congrats!!. Request "forgot password" & change the dns entry of that domain.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement: