Web Hosting Talk


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : meh... im being screwed over...?
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:34 PM
IdleServ IdleServ is offline
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
meh... im being screwed over...?

This guy comes to me in AIM.... he says he is a manager at ev1 servers (his brother owns it) something along those lines.

Today he gives me a link to his new "in development" hosting site...
http://www.icthost.net/devel/

Compare that to mine... http://www.idleserv.net

He says he can ignore my © at the bottom of my site because the shopping cart i use isnt mine.
I may have paid for the shopping cart... but the site design is all done by me.
Look at the images use of colours... this guy lacks the ability of coming up with something of his own.
He also told me that ALOT of hosting sites have this type of layout like mine. I asked for examples... couldn't give them to me.

Im not sure what I can gain out of posting this... jus not happy

__________________
Chris - Managing Director
IdleServ Ltd
IdleServ Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting & Domain Names
PriceProbe UK Price Comparison, Special Offers & Voucher Codes


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:37 PM
IHSL IHSL is offline
View Beta Profile
Floating on a cloud
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 4,114
That looks like a complete rip of your site.

Also, on a side note, i very much doubt that the guy is related to Robert Marsh

__________________
EIRCA: Home of The Genius Network
Personal site:
www.simonorourke.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:42 PM
Charlottezweb Charlottezweb is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 527
Let me get this straight...the guy actually messages you to tell you he is ripping your site?? Save your AIm logs and talk to your lawyer.

Jason

__________________
http://www.charlottezweb.com
HOSTING your livelihood

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:46 PM
essexguy essexguy is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: England, Essex
Posts: 1,503
AIM logs would not stand up in a court of law.

but even still just by looking at the sites you can tell its a complete rip.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:48 PM
Charlottezweb Charlottezweb is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 527
I was referring to sending the logs to your lawyer to get them on the same page as you...obviously you can forge something like that, but it would help your lawyer understand what's going on...

Jason

__________________
http://www.charlottezweb.com
HOSTING your livelihood

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2003, 12:52 PM
IdleServ IdleServ is offline
View Beta Profile
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 65
I was going to save the log from earlier today... but I completely forgot and closed the window.
Next time hes back online... Im going to ask him what his brothers name is 1st.

Should his 'Final' version of his site look like mine... i will take action.

Also to note... hes stolen my green tick images. If you look on his site he has them saved as .bmp obvious hes gone into IE and saved the images from there.

__________________
Chris - Managing Director
IdleServ Ltd
IdleServ Web Hosting, Reseller Hosting & Domain Names
PriceProbe UK Price Comparison, Special Offers & Voucher Codes


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:16 PM
ALGORYTHM ALGORYTHM is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,220
what a n00b obviously never heard of padding.

__________________
<erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:34 PM
Lippy Lippy is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 736
Even the image of the case in the top left corner is a rip from I think the company name is Thermaltake, its a custom case you can order and I doubt he got permission to use it.

__________________
LipWeb.Net
"Less Lip More Service"
Providing Quality Hosting at Fair Prices
AIM: LipWebNet MSN: daniel[at]lipweb.net [color=red]

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:35 PM
carolinahosting carolinahosting is offline
View Beta Profile
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 426
Contact there upstream for copyright issues. That will either 1. get them to stop using it or 2. shut them down

__________________
Blurstorm
http://www.blurstorm.com
Hosting .:. Resellers .:. Security .:. PHP Programming

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:42 PM
mercyhosting mercyhosting is offline
View Beta Profile
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 8
Either somthing has changed with one of the sites,, or maybe I'm missing somthing

I just looked at both the links provided, and they look somewhat similar, in the text avenue, but as far as graphics, there is only slight resemblances..

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-10-2003, 01:43 PM
Douglas Douglas is online now
View Beta Profile
Community Liaison
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, Jawja
Posts: 2,581
http://www.whois.sc/icthost.net

Looks like a reseller of a reseller. :/

__________________
Douglas Hazard :: Solar VPS LLC
Tel: (302) 351-2101 | Toll Free: (800) 799-1713 | www.solarvps.com : sales@solarvps.com
US & UK Windows & Linux Virtual Services : Hosted Exchange, Hosted Sharepoint and so much more!
(No, I don't own Solar VPS; I'm just a happy guy working with a fantastic team. )

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-2003, 03:27 PM
Charlottezweb Charlottezweb is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally posted by mercyhosting
Either somthing has changed with one of the sites,, or maybe I'm missing somthing

I just looked at both the links provided, and they look somewhat similar, in the text avenue, but as far as graphics, there is only slight resemblances..
Are you serious? That's one of the more blatant rips I've seen...

Jason

__________________
http://www.charlottezweb.com
HOSTING your livelihood

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-11-2003, 07:58 AM
ALGORYTHM ALGORYTHM is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
http://www.whois.sc/icthost.net

Looks like a reseller of a reseller. :/
oh the shame of it they're english!

i think they are brothers, the one who ripped your design is icthost.net/com, ICT is what we call computing at GCSE level (10 & 11th grade) and his brother (or dad) who already runs a hosting reseller account -link- registered it for him. maybe he's branching out on his own :p

this is truly shameful, ok he ripped your design and now he confronts you about it, why?! i'm seriously tempted to call the mobile numbers and ask some questions.

IdleServ: dont back down over this and don't forget we got your back

__________________
<erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2003, 09:31 PM
kayla kayla is offline
View Beta Profile
Disabled
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 23
Yes, he took your site. It is obvious even in the HTML code.

To be honest, his graphics are better on the right, of the hosting plans. Maybe you should take those.

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2003, 09:56 PM
Charlottezweb Charlottezweb is offline
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 527
I'm sorry but that's funny

Jason

__________________
http://www.charlottezweb.com
HOSTING your livelihood

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement: