
10-29-2003, 10:37 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 978
|
|
|
GoDaddy outrage!
We're in the process of transferring domains over to RackNine's new registrar service from an old reseller setup through GoDaddy. Performing a WHOIS today on RackNine.com reveals:
Quote:
Registrant:
RackNine Inc.
10732 - 79 Ave.
Edmonton, Alberta T6E1S4
Canada
Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: RACKNINE.COM
Created on: 20-Aug-01
Expires on: 20-Aug-04
Last Updated on: 31-Aug-03
Secure the registration to this domain or any
other the instant it becomes available.
DomainAlert(TM) Pro services protect, inform and
keep you in the action, 24/7.
Visit http://www.godaddy.com for details.
Administrative Contact:
Inc., RackNine domains@racknine.com
10732 - 79 Ave.
Edmonton, Alberta T6E1S4
Canada
(780) 720-8143 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Nameservers, RackNine domains@racknine.com
RackNine Inc.
10732 - 79 Avenue
Edmonton, Alberta T631S3
Canada
1-866-467-2259 Fax --
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.RACKNINE.COM
NS2.RACKNINE.COM
|
Note the GIANT ad for grabbing my domain embedded into the WHOIS. What kind of BS is this? All other GoDaddy registered domains I've seen have this message? Since when was WHOIS information supposed to sell services?
I'll be contacting them shortly and recommend anyone using them do the same.
Sincerely,
-Matt
|

10-29-2003, 10:39 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Grangeville, Idaho
Posts: 841
|
|
um yeah Matt... I would be complaining about that.. they are basically selling your domain name before it expires. 
|

10-29-2003, 10:53 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 978
|
|
That's just it, it's appearing on EVERY GoDaddy-registered domain! This is complete sitefinder-ish BS.
To be fair I was quite happy with GoDaddy up until we started registering through our own setup. I certainly hope this can and will be shortly resolved.
-Matt
|

10-29-2003, 10:56 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,361
|
|
While I do not agree with them putting the ad there, they are not selling the domain before it expires. As long as you keep the registration current and do not allow it to lapse, you will not have an issue. There are many other services that work on the same principal of trying to grab the name if it drops.
That being said, I cannot even fathom why they would place an ad like that in the whois. That's one way to drive customers away really quick.
Now I'm off to see if they are doing the same with mine. If so...so long GoDaddy!
|

10-29-2003, 10:58 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,361
|
|
Well, as you said it looks to be all of them, mine have it as well.
At least I stopped using them to purchase new domains months ago.
|

10-29-2003, 11:27 PM
|
|
|
Yep same here... I started moving my domains to GoDaddy a few months ago.. and now it looks like I have to find a new registrar already. They are basically encouraging others to backorder my domains.
|

10-29-2003, 11:32 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Port Arthur, Texas
Posts: 1,650
|
|
http://www.bulkregister.com
No real easy way to automate registration, but at least they don't blatantly advertise themselves in your WHOIS entries.
I don't care if they're not *selling* it ... that's just disrespectful to their customers.
__________________
Become an ISP; a great value-added service for any web host.
http://www.vispprovider.com
|

10-29-2003, 11:56 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,361
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by webworkz
http://www.bulkregister.com
No real easy way to automate registration, but at least they don't blatantly advertise themselves in your WHOIS entries.
I don't care if they're not *selling* it ... that's just disrespectful to their customers.
|
GoDaddy didn't advertise until now either...hopefully it is not a trend. And like I said, I don't agree with what they are doing, but it is also important to realize that what they are advertising does not allow someone to steal your domain.
I wanted to make that clarification to those who may interpret the service as doing just that.
Is it morally wrong? In my opinion, yes. The whois is a tool for gathering information, not to sell stuff. The fact that we paid for the domain, only to have them sell their own product from it makes is worse.
|

10-29-2003, 11:59 PM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Aspiring Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 365
|
|
Did anyone actually contact them about it?
|

10-30-2003, 01:45 AM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 978
|
|
I did, and I strongly suggest anyone who cares about the content displayed in their own WHOIS information to do the same:
Email Bob Parsons, president of GoDaddy:
president@godaddy.com
Here's what I said if you're so angry you're at a loss for words:
Quote:
Mr. Parsons,
I'm a long time user of GoDaddy and until recently have been very happy with your services. My company has many hundred domains registered through your services with hundreds more through your child company Wild West Domains.
While searching WHOIS today I noticed a piece of junk advertising in between the registrant and Administrative contact areas of the result. It appears as follows:
WHOIS of RACKNINE.COM
----------
Secure the registration to this domain or any
other the instant it becomes available.
DomainAlert(TM) Pro services protect, inform and
keep you in the action, 24/7.
Visit http://www.godaddy.com for details
----------
This is very disappointing. Aside from sitefinder-ish abuse of the WHOIS registry I'm concerned as to what else will show up. Please let me know if something can and will be done to remove this advertising from my domains.
|
|

10-30-2003, 01:46 AM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 978
|
|
Fortunately WWD and GoDaddy aren't our only domain sources and plenty of clients own their own (not our registrar). This is akin to lawyers leaving a half-page ad in your will, I mean come on now.
-Matt
|

10-30-2003, 01:47 AM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,274
|
|
Holy... thanks for telling. I will be voicing my opinion as well to GoDaddy. I know they'll listen.
EDIT: Actually, not only WhoIs could be considered private information, they actually get their ad in there. Not cool, people, not cool.
|

10-30-2003, 01:55 AM
|
|
|
it's really bad idea to put add in whois data.
very bad practice!
|

10-30-2003, 02:32 AM
|
|
View Beta Profile
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,274
|
|
I sent in a message to the President:
Quote:
Dear Mr Parsons,
Today I noticed a very disturbing and, yes, abusive advertising when I used a WhoIs service to look for my domain's information. This is the piece I'm talking about:
------------------------------------------------------
Secure the registration to this domain or any
other the instant it becomes available.
DomainAlert(TM) Pro services protect, inform and
keep you in the action, 24/7.
Visit http://www.godaddy.com for details.
------------------------------------------------------
Not only it is incredibly inappropriate, you made me, your loyal customer, feel like you don't need me anymore. Trying and offer anyone the opportunity to grab domain names that are crucial to me and my media businesses, is in my opinion, despicable practice.
In times when GoDaddy does so much good for the Internet community - fights spam and sues unethical companies like VeriSign, then you go out and do something like this... Leaving me in shock.
I know domain-grabbing business is a good one, and competitive one, but its not the way to bring more value to your stock or above-average returns to your investors. Please think of something else, but don't threaten the safety of my businesses this way. GoDaddy's reputation for exceptional client services and best domain registration evironment is what drives this company forward. You are a smart man. I know you'll listen.
All the best and good luck in business.
|
|

10-30-2003, 03:45 AM
|
|
|
I have registered 50+ domains at godaddy, but i don't see the ads. (i check it within godaddy.com)
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|