Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1

    change file system /dev/simfs to /dev/vzfs

    hello all

    we want to change the configuration file system on our vps
    of the file system /dev/simfs to file system /dev/vzfs

    centos 6 openvz

    vps get the output

    Code:
    root@server1 [~]# df -h
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs      250G  4.0G  247G   2% /
    none            2.0G  4.0K  2.0G   1% /dev
    
    
    root@server [~]# cat /etc/fstab
    none    /dev/pts        devpts  rw,gid=5,mode=620       0       0
    none    /dev/shm        tmpfs   defaults                0       0
    
    
    root@server [~]# cat /proc/mounts
    /dev/simfs / simfs rw,relatime 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0

    node get the output

    Code:
    [root@server ~]# df -h
    Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5       899G  141G  713G  17% /
    tmpfs           7.8G     0  7.8G   0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1       504M   72M  408M  15% /boot
    /dev/sda2       9.9G  151M  9.2G   2% /tmp

    How can I setup the file system /dev/vzfs
    Please Help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    VZFS is specific to Parallels Virtuozzo containers I believe ... are you wanting to migrate OpenVZ containers to Virtuozzo or PCS? That's a little out of my realm TBH. You may ultimately have better luck converting your existing containers from simfs to the Ploop configuration. http://openvz.org/Ploop/Why

    Understand that Ploop has tremendous advantages to simfs, but this is not a conversion that can be done by clicking your way through a control panel. There are many avenues to consider prior to, during, and after such a conversion and with future containers going forward. For quite some time, every VZ kernel I would patch had Ploop bug fixes, so I held off on it for a while. It wasn't until a few months ago that I began testing migrations and provisions under Ploop. It seems like it's going to be a blessing. I'm testing cPanel and Interworx at present but those were built with Ploop rather than a converted simfs, and haven't been able to test a migration for this yet. Perhaps @openvz can shed some light on this. Will ping them over at Twitter. They've been pretty quick to respond lately.

    -JE

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by jetfirenetworks View Post
    VZFS is specific to Parallels Virtuozzo containers I believe ... are you wanting to migrate OpenVZ containers to Virtuozzo or PCS? That's a little out of my realm TBH. You may ultimately have better luck converting your existing containers from simfs to the Ploop configuration. http://openvz.org/Ploop/Why

    Understand that Ploop has tremendous advantages to simfs, but this is not a conversion that can be done by clicking your way through a control panel. There are many avenues to consider prior to, during, and after such a conversion and with future containers going forward. For quite some time, every VZ kernel I would patch had Ploop bug fixes, so I held off on it for a while. It wasn't until a few months ago that I began testing migrations and provisions under Ploop. It seems like it's going to be a blessing. I'm testing cPanel and Interworx at present but those were built with Ploop rather than a converted simfs, and haven't been able to test a migration for this yet. Perhaps @openvz can shed some light on this. Will ping them over at Twitter. They've been pretty quick to respond lately.

    -JE

    hello Jetfire networks

    how do I do that converting your existing containers from simfs to the Ploop configuration

    Can you let know

    Thanks

  4. #4
    If you have a recent enough kernel (RHEL6-based, i.e. 042stabXXX) and userspace (vzctl 4.x and ploop packages), just run vzctl convert $CTID [--diskspace xxxG].

    Please make sure to read http://openvz.org/Ploop first. Some more info is at http://openvz.org/Ploop/Getting_started

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by openvz View Post
    If you have a recent enough kernel (RHEL6-based, i.e. 042stabXXX) and userspace (vzctl 4.x and ploop packages), just run vzctl convert $CTID [--diskspace xxxG].

    Please make sure to read http://openvz.org/Ploop first. Some more info is at http://openvz.org/Ploop/Getting_started

    we use a kernel 2.6.32-042stab084.17
    Can you explain me step by step its

    thanks

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by cheapbesthost View Post
    we use a kernel 2.6.32-042stab084.17
    Good enough

    Quote Originally Posted by cheapbesthost View Post
    Can you explain me step by step
    I guess I can't explain it any better than it's already explained in the above mentioned article. If you have any specific questions, please ask.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by openvz View Post
    Good enough



    I guess I can't explain it any better than it's already explained in the above mentioned article. If you have any specific questions, please ask.

    I look at this section
    Code:
    Requirements
    
        OpenVZ kernel 042stab052.8 or later
        vzctl 3.1 or later
        ploop-lib 1.1 or later

    how do I make sure the version vzctl
    and how do I make sure Ploop-lib already installed or not on my node
    if you do not like where I install Ploop-lib

    thanks

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by cheapbesthost View Post
    how do I make sure the version vzctl
    and how do I make sure Ploop-lib already installed or not on my node
    if you do not like where I install Ploop-lib
    rpm -q vzctl ploop

    yum install ploop

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by openvz View Post
    rpm -q vzctl ploop

    yum install ploop
    how to make sure it has successfully installed on vps

    thanks

  10. #10
    if this show has managed to

    Code:
    root@server [~]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/simfs / reiserfs rw,usrquota,grpquota 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
    none /var/tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0
    
    
    root@server [~]# cat /proc/mounts
    /dev/ploop11017p1 / ext4 rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered,balloon_ino=12 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
    none /var/tmp tmpfs rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by cheapbesthost View Post
    how to make sure it has successfully installed on vps
    It doesn't have to be installed on VPS (if you mean vzctl and ploop packages).

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by cheapbesthost View Post
    if this show has managed to

    Code:
    root@server [~]# cat /proc/mounts
    /dev/ploop11017p1 / ext4 rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered,balloon_ino=12 0 0
    This means your container now runs under ploop, i.e. conversion succeeded. Although I guess vzctl convert already reported that.

  13. #13
    after I did that this time the disk space usage of our SolusVM not Showing

    Please Help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Showing disk space usage.jpg   Showing disk space usage2.jpg  

  14. #14
    I think that this last question is to be addressed to SolusVM guys. They should have used vzlist -o diskspace,diskspace.h to get current usage and limit for both ploop-based and simfs-based CTs. If you can communicate this information to them I guess they can fix it pretty quick.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    It would have to brought to Phill Bandelow directly either in an email/ticket or on their forums. That happened with my Ploop containers inside SolusVM too. I have a couple of nodes with Softaculous Virtualizor and those are displaying correct disk information for Ploop, so it's definitely specific to the control panel.

    Thanks to @openvz for aiding with this!

    JE

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    Just an FYI -- there seems to be a problem converting ...Fedora containers

    The other error reported in check_mount_restrictions is "A Hole in image file detected (0)." That one I couldn't find in the wiki, but I'm poking around trying to figure out what's up.

    vzctl/vzctl-core 4.6.1-1
    042stab084.12
    ploop 1.10-1

    [root@divinity ~]# echo; vzctl convert 421

    Creating image: /vz/private/421.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd size=10485760K
    Creating delta /vz/private/421.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd bs=2048 size=20971520 sectors v2
    Storing /vz/private/421.ploop/root.hdd/DiskDescriptor.xml
    Error in check_mount_restrictions (ploop.c:1358): The ploop image can not be used on ext3 or ext4 file system without extents
    Failed to create image: Error in check_mount_restrictions (ploop.c:1358): The ploop image can not be used on ext3 or ext4 file system without extents [21]

    'vzctl convert' also appears to hang as it does with 'vzctl destroy' which I believe is addressed currently on your Bugzilla.


    [root@divinity ~]# ps ax | grep convert | grep -v grep
    2353 ? Ss 0:08 /usr/sbin/vzctl convert 421
    341327 ? Ss 0:00 vzctl convert 421
    341935 ? Ss 0:00 vzctl convert 421
    344916 ? Ss 0:00 vzctl convert 421
    347751 ? Ss 0:00 vzctl convert 421

    [root@divinity ~]# echo; cat /usr/lib/tmpfiles.d/ploop.conf; echo;

    d /run/lock/ploop 0755 root root -


    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/pfmt_ploop1.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/pfmt_raw.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/pio_direct.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/pio_kaio.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/pio_nfs.ko
    /lib/modules/2.6.32-042stab084.12/kernel/drivers/block/ploop/ploop.ko


    Other conversions on this and other HWN's/OS templates seem to be converting fine. I'm not horribly worried about this as it seems to be only Fedora containers this is happening with. If you happen to have any docs on this that I'm not seeing I would love a copy.

    Code:
     vzctl convert 308
    Stopping container ...
    Container was stopped
    Container is unmounted
    
    CT configuration saved to /etc/vz/conf/308.conf
    
    Creating image: /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd size=26214400K
    Creating delta /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd bs=2048 size=52428800 sectors v2
    Storing /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/DiskDescriptor.xml
    Opening delta /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd
    Adding delta dev=/dev/ploop42178 img=/vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd (rw)
    mke2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
    Discarding device blocks: done
    Filesystem label=
    OS type: Linux
    Block size=4096 (log=2)
    Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
    Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
    1638400 inodes, 6553083 blocks
    327654 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
    First data block=0
    Maximum filesystem blocks=4294967296
    200 block groups
    32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
    8192 inodes per group
    Superblock backups stored on blocks:
            32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632, 2654208,
            4096000
    
    Writing inode tables: done
    Creating journal (32768 blocks): done
    Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
    
    This filesystem will be automatically checked every 30 mounts or
    180 days, whichever comes first.  Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
    tune2fs 1.41.12 (17-May-2010)
    Setting maximal mount count to -1
    Setting interval between checks to 0 seconds
    Creating balloon file .balloon-c3a5ae3d-ce7f-43c4-a1ea-c61e2b4504e8
    Mounting /dev/ploop42178p1 at /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd.mnt fstype=ext4 data=''
    Unmounting device /dev/ploop42178
    Opening delta /vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd
    Adding delta dev=/dev/ploop42178 img=/vz/private/308.ploop/root.hdd/root.hdd (rw)
    Mounting /dev/ploop42178p1 at /vz/root/308 fstype=ext4 data='balloon_ino=12,'
    Copying content to ploop...
    Unmounting file system at /vz/root/308
    Unmounting device /dev/ploop42178
    Container was successfully converted to the ploop layout
    
    
    [root@angelica ~]# vzctl start 308
    Starting container...
    Opening delta /vz/private/308/root.hdd/root.hdd
    Adding delta dev=/dev/ploop42178 img=/vz/private/308/root.hdd/root.hdd (rw)
    /dev/ploop42178p1: clean, 120665/1638400 files, 1539179/6553083 blocks
    Mounting /dev/ploop42178p1 at /vz/root/308 fstype=ext4 data='balloon_ino=12,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vfsv0,'
    Container is mounted

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    Actually appears to be happening with other OSes too. I found the problem though. After the conversion the container's /etc/mtab loses the symlink to /proc/mounts which causes the df output to show the old simfs. Once reestablished the symbolic link everything was golden.


    Code:
    [root@simfs ~]# df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/simfs            5.0G  719M  4.0G  16% /
    none                  128M  4.0K  128M   1% /dev
    
    
    [root@simfs ~]# mount
    /dev/simfs on / type reiserfs (rw,usrquota,grpquota)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
    none on /dev type tmpfs (rw,relatime,mode=755)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,relatime)
    
    
    [root@simfs ~]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/simfs / reiserfs rw,usrquota,grpquota 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0
    
    
    [root@simfs ~]# ls -l /etc/mtab
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 276 Feb  4 14:24 /etc/mtab
    
    [root@simfs ~]# rm -rf /etc/mtab
    [root@simfs ~]# ln -sf /proc/mounts /etc/mtab
    [root@simfs ~]# ls -l /etc/mtab
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Feb  4 14:32 /etc/mtab -> /proc/mounts
    
    
    [root@simfs ~]# df -h
    Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/ploop61018p1     5.0G  719M  4.0G  16% /
    none                  128M  4.0K  128M   1% /dev
    ---------------

    Am still getting the error about check_ploop_restrictions and a missing extents.h (only on one of the nodes though) but I should be able to fix that as I'm probably using an incorrect flag in my convert command.

    [root@divinity]/usr/src/kernels/2.6.32-042stab084.12/fs/ext4# ls -al
    total 112
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Dec 18 17:23 .
    drwxr-xr-x 71 root root 4096 Dec 18 17:23 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 10109 Nov 26 16:15 ext4_extents.h
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 77980 Nov 26 16:15 ext4.h
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2560 Nov 26 16:32 Kconfig
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 473 Nov 26 16:32 Makefile
    Last edited by Johnny Cache; 02-04-2014 at 03:51 PM.

  18. #18
    hello openvz and jetfirenetworks

    I am very grateful you have been willing to help me

    I have to say this is to support SolusVM

    hopefully they can quickly resolve this

  19. #19
    This has nothing to do with templates or symlinks, the error message clearly tells you what is wrong:

    The ploop image can not be used on ext3 or ext4 file system without extents
    So you need to convert your /vz to ext4, please see https://openvz.org/028_to_042_kernel..._.2Fvz_to_ext4 for some hints.

    Have no idea why vzctl convert hangs, perhaps you can run strace on it to see what's going on.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    the error message clearly tells you what is wrong.
    Yep. I jumped the gun on that particular part of my post. I do that here every now and then.

    One of the other situations still exists, though, on an ext4 /vz. Attachment #3 displays the meat & potatoes of the issue I'm running into with containers which are still reporting simfs after a successful ploop convert, and how reestablishing the original symbolic link between /etc/mtab and /proc/mounts seems to correct the problem on the containers in question.

    If I'm doing something wrong, or missing a step, feel free to call me on it. If it's more a problem/setting with the HWN, I'll fix it. Mainly I wanted to find out if *VZ had encountered this situation in the past, and if not, where I might be able to research a solution to it. As I mentioned, I'm only a few months into interspersed testing in QA, and need to make sure I'm handling conversions with 100% accuracy before starting on a production environment.

    Thanks so much for taking a look and for the continued assistance to the community!

    -John
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 1.jpg   2.jpg   3.jpg  

  21. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by jetfirenetworks View Post
    Attachment #3 displays the meat & potatoes of the issue I'm running into with containers which are still reporting simfs after a successful ploop convert, and how reestablishing the original symbolic link between /etc/mtab and /proc/mounts seems to correct the problem on the containers in question.
    I have seen reported to users@ openvz mailing list before; it looks like it's CPanel who recreates this link, for some reason.

    http://lists.openvz.org/pipermail/us...ry/005419.html
    http://lists.openvz.org/pipermail/us...er/005411.html

  22. #22
    thank you so much for my friends here and SolusVM support team.
    The current mine has worked well.

    Code:
    Hi,
    
    The reason the disk usage was not showing is because Ploop was not enabled under the node settings in SolusVM. I have now enabled it and the disk space shows correctly.
    
    --
    Kind Regards,
    Phill Bandelow - SolusLabs Support

  23. #23
    This was the result of one of my vps with Creating a new CT of SolusVM panel

    Code:
    root@server [~]# df -h
    /dev/ploop60484p1  247G  4.2G  230G   2% /
    none               2.0G  4.0K  2.0G   1% /dev
    none               2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev/shm
    Code:
    root@server [~]# mount
    /dev/ploop60484p1 on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered,balloon_ino=12,jqfmt=vfsv0,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
    none on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,relatime,mode=755)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
    none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,relatime)
    none on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,relatime)
    Code:
    root@server [~]# cat /etc/mtab
    /dev/ploop60484p1 / ext4 rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered,balloon_ino=12,jqfmt=vfsv0,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0
    Code:
    root@server [~]# cat /proc/mounts
    /dev/ploop60484p1 / ext4 rw,relatime,barrier=1,data=ordered,balloon_ino=12,jqfmt=vfsv0,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /dev devtmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    none /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc binfmt_misc rw,relatime 0 0

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Posts
    2,992
    Thanks for the URLs. The captures in my previous response were on a freshly-spooled container with no control panels and the newest CentOS6 x86_64 template.

    # vzlist -o layout 310
    LAYOUT
    ploop

    I'll keep digging for the cause as time permits and keep an eye on on the mailing list & bugzilla. Thanks again.


    JE

Similar Threads

  1. The file system /dev/vzfs is 100% full
    By four4 in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2013, 10:23 AM
  2. Question about Disk /dev/vzfs
    By Colleen78 in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2009, 05:52 PM
  3. how in dev/vzfs
    By ante in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-25-2008, 07:35 AM
  4. /dev/vzfs problem
    By Sc0uT in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-22-2006, 01:05 PM
  5. /dev/hda /dev/hdb /dev/hdc /dev/hdd
    By pmak0 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-16-2004, 04:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •