Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    102

    Looking for opinions on a server/hypervisor

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DELL-FS12-NV...item19d3c28a5e


    It has 12 low frequency physical cores (2 x AMD OPTERON 6 CORE 2419EE 1.8GHz), 32GB of RAM, and 12 1TB WD-RE3 hard drives. I could easily make three 2TB luns, or two 2TB luns and one 512GB SSD lun with four spare HDDs =D

    It seems to be marketed as a "storage server" but I was thinking of using it as a hypervisor. Any opinions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ashburn VA, San Diego CA
    Posts
    4,483
    Do you mean to use it as a standalone VM host with local storage? It could work but you wouldn't have any kind of HA, and no LUNs to set up.
    Fast Serv Networks, LLC | AS29889 | Fully Managed Cloud, Streaming, Dedicated Servers, Colo by-the-U
    Ashburn VA + San Diego CA Datacenters

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by FastServ View Post
    Do you mean to use it as a standalone VM host with local storage? It could work but you wouldn't have any kind of HA.
    I plan on putting about 2-6 of them in plus a cold spare. One thing I'm looking at is OnApp Storage which actually replicates DAS/Local Storage across other hypervisors.... So I would only use about 40-50% of the storage space per hypervisor.

    I was mostly concerned with the general specs of the system.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    North Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    2,548
    No idea on the raid card in the system but over seems fine... I would check for full support with ESXi 5.
    Remote Hands and Your Local Tech for the Los Angeles area.

    (310) 573-8050 - LinkedIn

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brussels Belgium
    Posts
    21
    The first thing you will run out on is RAM. So at least double it.

    If you want to use it in combination with onapp storage you will need ar least 4 nics.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,399
    that's quite a bit of storage per hypervisor. You know that you don't need raid etc on the OnApp storage, right?
    Did you try the beta?

    Agree with other guys here, I'd add some more ram and probably loose some of the storage.


    D
    Ditlev Bredahl. CEO,
    OnApp.com & SolusVM.com + Cloud.net & CDN.net

  7. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Is this server good enough for a hypervisor?
    By ChaosInMind in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-17-2012, 11:59 AM
  2. XenŽ hypervisor setup
    By hostu in forum Employment / Job Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2012, 11:13 AM
  3. ssd for hypervisor
    By compITent in forum Running a Web Hosting Business
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2011, 03:39 PM
  4. What is your Hypervisor(s) of Choice? and why?
    By viabandwidth in forum Cloud Hosting
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 10:05 AM
  5. Xen Hypervisor
    By Ernestas in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-17-2006, 11:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •