hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Colocation and Data Centers : Some Doubts that i have for Colocation
Reply

Forum Jump

Some Doubts that i have for Colocation

Reply Post New Thread In Colocation and Data Centers Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:05 PM
Backlayer Backlayer is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Question

Some Doubts that i have for Colocation


Hi to all the community.

at this time i'm migrating to colocation and i would like to clear some doubts that i have:
  1. IP-KVM can be used the one that comes with some MotherBoards?
  2. I will virtualize some servers and i would like to do RAID 10 to those servers, is this possible with RAID Software using VMWare ? if not wich other solution i have to virtualize and use RAID 10?

For graphic systems on my servers and offer the reboot, power on and power off to my possible next clients, what do you suggest to do this?

Thanks in Advance.

__________________
Cloud-Facil.net Cloud Servers - Dedicated Servers - Reliable Apache Web Hosting Service | 99.9% up-time | Shared Hosting Daily Backups
We offer hosting --> Apache Web Servers | cPanel | Softaculous | Affordable prices
Domains - Dedicated Servers - VPS Servers [US/EU/Linux/Windows]



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:16 PM
MrZillNet MrZillNet is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 323
1. yes, you can use the IPKVM, you need to budget another port on your Ethernet switch for each server.

2. Either:

A) use a hardware RAID card that is supported by VMWare, or,

B) have VMWare talk iSCSI to another machine such as a Linux, OpenFiler, or FreeNAS box which is doing software RAID.

Depends on what you want - VMWare itself does not do SW RAID. Some have tricked it out by installing a VM which has access to all the disks, then creating SW RAID in that VM, then mounting the storage from the VM to the VMWare host for its datastore. Somehow that seems too much of a kludge for me :-)

__________________
reliable colocation ... Dedicated Servers | Dedicated Server VMs | FAST links to Vitelity.com and Conexiant.net
patrick@zill.net Cell +1.717.201.3366

  #3  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:16 PM
AdmoNet AdmoNet is offline
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Posts: 461
Hello!

1. - Yes you can use the one that comes integrated with your mainboard. Most Supermicro boards come with a pretty nice KVM plus Virtual Media
2. - VMware cannot really use software RAID. You need to get a hardware RAID controller from the VMware HCL: http://www.vmware.com/go/hcl

I am not sure what your last question was?

__________________
=>Admo.net Managed Hosting
=> Managed Hosting • Dedicated Servers • SolusVM VPS • vmware ESX VM's
=> Dark Fiber Access to 1102 Grand, Multiple Public Providers
=> Over •Sixteen• Years of Service

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:28 PM
Backlayer Backlayer is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmoNet View Post
Hello!

1. - Yes you can use the one that comes integrated with your mainboard. Most Supermicro boards come with a pretty nice KVM plus Virtual Media
2. - VMware cannot really use software RAID. You need to get a hardware RAID controller from the VMware HCL: http://www.vmware.com/go/hcl

I am not sure what your last question was?
If you rent a server for example on XYZ Company, they offer you the Network Graphs + Reboot + other options to manage your server from the services management panel.

Thank you.

__________________
Cloud-Facil.net Cloud Servers - Dedicated Servers - Reliable Apache Web Hosting Service | 99.9% up-time | Shared Hosting Daily Backups
We offer hosting --> Apache Web Servers | cPanel | Softaculous | Affordable prices
Domains - Dedicated Servers - VPS Servers [US/EU/Linux/Windows]

  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:30 PM
Backlayer Backlayer is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZillNet View Post
1. yes, you can use the IPKVM, you need to budget another port on your Ethernet switch for each server.

2. Either:

A) use a hardware RAID card that is supported by VMWare, or,

B) have VMWare talk iSCSI to another machine such as a Linux, OpenFiler, or FreeNAS box which is doing software RAID.

Depends on what you want - VMWare itself does not do SW RAID. Some have tricked it out by installing a VM which has access to all the disks, then creating SW RAID in that VM, then mounting the storage from the VM to the VMWare host for its datastore. Somehow that seems too much of a kludge for me :-)
so the most recommended configuration is applying the Hardware RAID and not the RAID Software...

but this applies with all the Virtualization Solutions? for example Hyper-V?

Thank you!

__________________
Cloud-Facil.net Cloud Servers - Dedicated Servers - Reliable Apache Web Hosting Service | 99.9% up-time | Shared Hosting Daily Backups
We offer hosting --> Apache Web Servers | cPanel | Softaculous | Affordable prices
Domains - Dedicated Servers - VPS Servers [US/EU/Linux/Windows]

  #6  
Old 05-05-2012, 01:57 PM
spaethco spaethco is offline
Community Guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,644
If these are the questions you're asking regarding colocation services, you are not adequately positioned to be successful in this endeavor.

__________________
Eric Spaeth
Enterprise Network Engineer :: Hosting Hobbyist :: Master of Procrastination
"The really cool thing about facts is they remain true regardless of who states them." -SpaethCo

  #7  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:01 PM
MikeTrike MikeTrike is offline
Private Citizen
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,876
You can use cacti for graphing port or vlan stats. You can get something like an APC PDU for reboots.

  #8  
Old 05-05-2012, 05:39 PM
Brian_R Brian_R is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZillNet View Post
Depends on what you want - VMWare itself does not do SW RAID. Some have tricked it out by installing a VM which has access to all the disks, then creating SW RAID in that VM, then mounting the storage from the VM to the VMWare host for its datastore. Somehow that seems too much of a kludge for me :-)
Totally agree - it seems just far too much grief for the sake of saving a RAID card which will give you better performance anyway. And if performance doesn't matter why bother with RAID10 anyway.

For the IPKVM, either be sure to get it integrated to the montherboard (Supermicro) or get the right addon - iDRAC for Dell, ILO for HP.

__________________
Advania Thor Data Centre Iceland - www.thordc.com
High Spec Colocation and Dedicated Servers, powered by cheap, abundant and 100% renewable energy.
Enterprise grade hosting, ISO27001 accredited for security, and all at fantastic pricing.

brian.rae@thordc.com

  #9  
Old 05-06-2012, 12:18 PM
Backlayer Backlayer is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 42
Thanks a lot to all for your comments and answers. we have the PDU but my only doubt was for the graphs and the RAID the rest is ready to go!

__________________
Cloud-Facil.net Cloud Servers - Dedicated Servers - Reliable Apache Web Hosting Service | 99.9% up-time | Shared Hosting Daily Backups
We offer hosting --> Apache Web Servers | cPanel | Softaculous | Affordable prices
Domains - Dedicated Servers - VPS Servers [US/EU/Linux/Windows]

Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub-Domain Name Doubts .! sunzeal Web Hosting Lounge 2 03-15-2011 03:32 PM
newbie doubts..... maverick_me79 Domain Names 3 08-21-2005 02:50 PM
Doubts! the_returner Web Hosting 5 10-27-2004 01:25 AM
Doubts about Helm CP... distiLLer Dedicated Server 2 05-05-2004 08:47 PM
To anyone who still has some doubts about ServerMatrix Weppel Dedicated Server 10 01-07-2004 05:39 PM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
HostingCon 2013: The Coming Hybrid Wave - Colocation and the Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-06-21 17:12:32
Colocation America Launches Colocation Service for Mac Mini Users Web Hosting News 2013-02-27 16:42:41
Vodien Launches Full Rack Colocation Solution at Singapore Data Center Web Hosting News 2012-12-27 16:07:25
Capital Internet Launches Hybrid Colocation Service at Atlanta Data Center Web Hosting News 2012-12-20 14:20:51
Colocation America Expands Internationally with New Branding and Website Web Hosting News 2012-07-05 13:37:26


Tags
colocation, hyper-v, raid 10, virtualization, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?