Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    73

    Assigning IP to Domains on CPanel

    I'm having some trouble assigning IP's to domains on CPanel's WHM. When the IP has been changed it keeps redirecting the domain to the Default CPanel Web Page (Placeholder). It doesn't seem to be the DNS Propagation since it's been awhile since the IP change and the problem is still occuring. When I change it back to it's default IP (shared IP from the dedicated), the sites begin to work again. Is there a way to get the dedicated IP to work properly.

  2. #2
    Your hostname could not be resolved to an IP
    address. This means that /etc/hosts is not set up correctly, and/or
    may be there is no dns entry for your Domain. Please be sure that
    the contents of /etc/hosts are configured correctly, and also that
    there is a correct 'A' entry for the domain in the zone file.

    Some or all of these problems can be caused by /etc/resolv.conf
    being setup incorrectly. Please check that file if you believe
    everything else is correct.

    You may be able to automatically correct this problem by using the
    'Add an A entry for your hostname' option under 'Dns Functions' in
    your Web Host Manager.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    73
    Would I need to enable the NameServer for Cpanel since mediatemple (the vps host) has their own dns nameserver? I'm not sure if this could be the problem. The Cpanel right now isn't managing the nameserver.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,554
    Change up the IP address in cPanel again: Visit intodns.com about a minute later to check and see that it's showing the appropriate DNS records are resolving from your server. Then, ping the domain from your computer. If intodns.com shows the appropriate IP addresses and your computer doesn't and you're seeing the placeholder page, it's just a DNS issue

    Keep in mind that not only does your computer hold a DNS cache, but so does your browser. A lot of times you need to clear your computers cache in addition to the cache within your browser itself.
    Matthew Rosenblatt, and I do lots of things.
    MCSE, cPanel Certified, Asterisk Specialist.
    My company, BurstAV, specializes in A/V Systems Design as well as VOIP Hardware Sales.
    Simply put: Server admin, programmer, concert lighting dude.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    73
    Thanks for all the help! I got it to work now. It seemed to be a problem with the DNS since my VPS provider is managing the DNS externally from the server so I needed to change the A value from their end and then update CPanel WHM to change the IP.

Similar Threads

  1. cpanel assigning wrong ip
    By kprojects in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-01-2010, 11:00 AM
  2. Assigning numbers
    By vision3 in forum Programming Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2005, 03:13 PM
  3. Assigning an IP
    By Alex in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-28-2005, 02:00 AM
  4. Assigning an IP to IP-less account in CPANEL
    By RaviSharma in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-28-2004, 07:04 PM
  5. [WHM/cPanel] Assigning multiple IPs to a client?
    By keyDet79 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-06-2003, 03:07 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •