Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 31
  1. #1

    Should I buy LiteSpeed?

    I'm thinking about switching to Eleven2. They have a Cloud Server I'm interested in.

    For $200/month (self-managed) - it says

    8,192MB Memory
    480GB Hard Drive
    3,000 GB Bandwidth
    6.4GHz CPU Speed

    Right now I have a dedicated server for about $220/month with these specs:

    SuperMicro H8SMU AMD Opteron QuadCore SingleProc Sata [1Proc]
    AMD Opteron 1354 2.2GHz
    4GB RAM

    But, Eleven2 says I have to buy managed ($125 extra) to get Apache, otherwise it comes with a "Base OS".

    Should I switch to them and buy LiteSpeed? If so, which license for LiteSpeed should I get?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    462
    Hello-

    If you service static content Litespeed is pretty fast using their proprietary LASPI communications mechanism. I would start with the 1-CPU license as the licenses are per CPU for HTTP processing and not PHP processing. If you service hundreds of requests per second it may be necessary to upgrade to a 2-CPU license.

    Good luck! :-)
    =>Admo.net Managed Hosting
    => Managed Hosting • Dedicated Servers • Colocation
    => Dark Fiber Access to 1102 Grand, Multiple Public Providers
    => Over •Sixteen• Years of Service

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,050
    Wow they are trying to charge you for Apache? Well if that is the case then yeah get LiteSpeed.. (it will save you $) Otherwise I would not recommend getting LiteSpeed unless you are hosting a lot of clients/websites on the server..
    The web hosting market will never die. Virtual environments are forever the future and easily adapt to change. Welcome to the world wide web!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    462
    :: Ponders :: Maybe I should start charging for Apache! Sheesh! That is pretty strange....
    =>Admo.net Managed Hosting
    => Managed Hosting • Dedicated Servers • Colocation
    => Dark Fiber Access to 1102 Grand, Multiple Public Providers
    => Over •Sixteen• Years of Service

  5. #5
    Thanks for the responses.

    Right now we have 5 different Wordpress sites and a vBulletin forum. I'm pretty sure we need PHP processing but maybe I'm wrong?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    9,761
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyAnonymous View Post
    Otherwise I would not recommend getting LiteSpeed unless you are hosting a lot of clients/websites on the server..
    Why does everyone thinks its all to do with packing servers tight with clients?

    Have you ever took time to think that someone running Litespeed doesnt need as big servers compared to someone running Apache?

    I know for a fact that my 8GB servers which are utilizing only ~50% memory with Litespeed would ultize over 80% if I was to switch to Apache...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
    Why does everyone thinks its all to do with packing servers tight with clients?

    Have you ever took time to think that someone running Litespeed doesnt need as big servers compared to someone running Apache?

    I know for a fact that my 8GB servers which are utilizing only ~50% memory with Litespeed would ultize over 80% if I was to switch to Apache...
    Not to mention its just plain faster. At any rate go with Litespeed if you are performing any dynamic processing for sites like you mentioned (Wordpress etc) you can't go wrong!
    =>Admo.net Managed Hosting
    => Managed Hosting • Dedicated Servers • Colocation
    => Dark Fiber Access to 1102 Grand, Multiple Public Providers
    => Over •Sixteen• Years of Service

  8. #8
    Looks like I can't edit the thread now but as an update, I contacted them again after finding out how much Apache costs (or how much it doesn't cost, ahem) and this time he worded it differently:

    The difference between self managed and managed is on self managed you get a base OS install. You will be required to install everything with no support from us. Managed comes ready to go with Apache installed and Cpanel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    9,761
    Quote Originally Posted by SyntraClick View Post
    Looks like I can't edit the thread now but as an update, I contacted them again after finding out how much Apache costs (or how much it doesn't cost, ahem) and this time he worded it differently:
    They aint charging for Apache but rather the time taken to install it, configure it, etc

    If its just a server setup you require I would get a quote from a server management provider as it would be likely cheaper depending on the work done of course.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,050
    Quote Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
    Why does everyone thinks its all to do with packing servers tight with clients?

    Have you ever took time to think that someone running Litespeed doesnt need as big servers compared to someone running Apache?

    I know for a fact that my 8GB servers which are utilizing only ~50% memory with Litespeed would ultize over 80% if I was to switch to Apache...
    I simply recommend against LiteSpeed because you'll save money without it and will not notice a difference unless you have high traffic/lots of clients/websites, and even then it isn't that much more noticeable.
    Last edited by Spluut; 05-03-2012 at 07:52 PM.
    The web hosting market will never die. Virtual environments are forever the future and easily adapt to change. Welcome to the world wide web!

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyAnonymous View Post
    Wow they are trying to charge you for Apache?
    We do not charge for Apache. Self-managed is a default operating system where you can install whatever you need. Managed comes with cPanel installed (with Apache) and is ready to start hosting. It also includes 24/7 monitoring and support from us. Also note we can install Litespeed on your managed cloud server. You would just need to purchase a Litespeed license for your IP.
    Last edited by ScottJ; 05-03-2012 at 07:53 PM.
    Eleven2 Web Hosting - World-Wide Hosting, Done Right!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    /etc/my.cnf
    Posts
    9,761
    Quote Originally Posted by LuckyAnonymous View Post
    I simply recommend against LiteSpeed because you'll save money without it and will not notice a difference unless you have high traffic/lots of clients/websites, and even then it is't that much more noticeable.
    Really?

    Well am saving money on not having to upgrade the likes of memory I have a number of Litespeed servers running on 8GB with ~50% utilization.

    I guess you havent used it or else you would know that no you dont need lots of traffic or lots of clients to actually see and feel the benifits of having it.
    LeapHost High Performance Fully Managed App Solutions Powered By NitroStack™
    Fast Dedicated Servers | 15+ Global Locations | Server Management Specialists

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    1,050
    Quote Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
    Really?

    Well am saving money on not having to upgrade the likes of memory I have a number of Litespeed servers running on 8GB with ~50% utilization.

    I guess you havent used it or else you would now that no you dont need lots of traffic or lots of clients to actually see and feel the benifits of having it.
    If you have low traffic (even greater) you won't be using much memory in the first place to notice.

    And yes I do use it as I host clients/resellers.
    The web hosting market will never die. Virtual environments are forever the future and easily adapt to change. Welcome to the world wide web!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    9,311
    LiteSpeed loads php pages around 200ms faster then Apache. x200ms by x amount of sites on the server... enough said.
    HostXNow - http://www.hostxnow.com | Since 2009
    Fast, Secure and Reliable [UK/USA] Web Hosting - Reseller Hosting - VPS Hosting
    cPanel/WHM • CloudLinux (Multi PHP) • Offsite Backups • LiteSpeed • TrendyTools • Softaculous

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by cd/home View Post
    Really?

    Well am saving money on not having to upgrade the likes of memory I have a number of Litespeed servers running on 8GB with ~50% utilization.

    I guess you havent used it or else you would know that no you dont need lots of traffic or lots of clients to actually see and feel the benifits of having it.
    Little loose comment there. Ram is cheaper than Litespeed Just because it works for you doesn't mean it should be a yes/no standard - considering the "free" alternatives to apache as well.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 02:44 AM
  2. What license to buy for Litespeed web server ?
    By ckissi in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-11-2011, 12:14 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 06:02 AM
  4. litespeed where to buy?
    By sharmaine1111 in forum Hosting Software and Control Panels
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-17-2010, 01:29 AM
  5. Will buy LiteSpeed. Does Proxyshield (or BlackLotus) still needed to prevent DDoS?
    By gigawire in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 01:19 PM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •