Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1

    Apache page open to internet.

    Hello,

    I'm having issues making an apache page accessible over the internet.

    Server: Ubuntu Server 11.10, Apache 2.2

    I have registered a domain with dyn.com and have ddclient setup and seems to be working... (Externally i do a nslookup and shows my routers IP, ping does not work I thought it did once but unsure…)

    Port forwarding is enabled on router pointing to server for port: 80..

    No firewall enabled ATM.

    I know the domain is linked to my server since I installed “Webmin” and can access “Webmin” fine externally via the domain name and the port.
    Have a virtual host enabled on Apache listening on port 80, the apache site is accessible via the intranet so without updating my host file on another PC the domain will work and open the index file.
    What do I need to do to make the site available on the internet…..????

    Please let me know what information you require for trouble shooting…

    Happy Regards,
    Ryan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,875
    It's possible your ISP is filtering port 80. One way to find out is to telnet on port 80 and observe the TCP protocol response (ex: RST) in Wireshark or a similar tool. Or you could just call them to find out.

    Best
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

  3. #3

    Thumbs up Nice

    Thanks... great advice im pretty sure this will be it since im with optus....

    Didnt exspect this since other ISP's are more chilled...

  4. #4
    I called Optus and they advised the only port blocked is port 25..... soooo guess not that.... any other suggesting???

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    613
    Quote Originally Posted by lazyminion View Post
    I called Optus and they advised the only port blocked is port 25..... soooo guess not that.... any other suggesting???

    Your router itself run's a server on port 80 (try another port 8080 is a common one!)

    try accesing your router's internal ip in a web browser (you'll be prompted to login!)

    try accessing that externally (using your routers external ip) you'll get nothing (it's a security feature in routers that aren't older than old)

    but my point is port 80 is already being used so.... if you can change the port the routers web server sits on or... change your port forward to 80 > 8080

    so your map would be

    ubuntu ip: 80
    external ip: 8080

    then that should work fine

    joe
    www.JGwebhosting.co.uk - CPanel Control panel, domain registration, Reseller packages And 24X7 Technical support! - Now Taking in Hosting Refugee's

    www.JGpcrepair.co.uk - Computer repair, New Systems, Software, Hardware

  6. #6
    My router was already using port 8080 for remote access, also remote access was disabled... I enabled just to test if i could access the router with "mydomain".com:8080 and it worked fine...

    Im pretty confused and frustrated....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    2,875
    UNIXy - Fully Managed Servers and Clusters - Established in 2006
    [ cPanel Varnish Nginx Plugin ] - Enhance LiteSpeed and Apache Performance
    www.unixy.net - Los Angeles | Houston | Atlanta | Rotterdam
    Love to help pro bono (time permitting). joe > unixy.net

  8. #8
    Annoying.... i guess ill have to call again to confirm and hope for a better person since the dude i got wasn't clear with much....

    Or swap for business plan.......

    Thanks guys

  9. #9
    are you using XAMPP?
    By default, the access from internet is disabled in xampp configuration. Check it out!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ten1/0/2
    Posts
    2,504
    Seriously it is more hassle than it is worth, pay less than a coffee and get onto a shared host, this will be far less than the cost of keeping a "server" running 24X7X365 in power alone. Even a modest 100W "server" is going to cost you about $0.70 a day to have turned on, so add it up, $20/mth or pay ~$5/mth for hosting.
    CPanel Shared and Reseller Hosting, OpenVZ VPS Hosting. West Coast (LA) Servers and Nodes
    Running Linux since 1.0.8 Kernel!
    Providing Internet Services since 1995 and Hosting Since 2004

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    10,474
    Optus is useless when it comes to technical support, I have called them in the past and they did not even understand what ports were
    l Clever Emu (Twitter) Shared Reseller Cloud VPS Since 2003
    l Leading UK and Ireland Hosting Provider Multiple locations - around the globe!
    l cPanel/WHM R1Soft Backups 24/7/365 Support 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
    l www.yourcompanynamehere.com Customer Service Rep. Superior Service Guarantee

  12. #12
    No im using Apache.. i think it maybe my ISP blocking port 80 but the staff i end up with dont know..... I agree i dont think the staff i get know what ports are....

    Well im currently keen on doing Unix server administration and learn to configure apache.... so im keen on setting up my own server as a learning bases... plus i want a web site to learn PHP and what not so i decided to link both the projects....

  13. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. Open Internet needs to be law!
    By M Bacon in forum Web Hosting Lounge
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 08:03 PM
  2. Installed Apache and PHP Only Seeing Default Apache Page
    By TweakAdmin in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2007, 08:08 PM
  3. my domain name first page is apache 2 test page
    By skyaus in forum Dedicated Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2006, 09:24 PM
  4. Apache feature /page => /page.html
    By GoranTornqvist in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-14-2005, 12:33 PM
  5. Remove frame and open page in the current page?
    By John D in forum Web Design and Content
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-25-2003, 10:00 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •