hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Software and Control Panels : Why does WHM setup DNS zones this way?
Reply

Forum Jump

Why does WHM setup DNS zones this way?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Software and Control Panels Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2012, 11:36 PM
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 773
Question

Why does WHM setup DNS zones this way?


My VPS provider installed cPanel/WHM for me. I'm quite comfortable with DNS, but am a little confused about WHM's approach to it.

When I go into DNS functions, I see three zones created:
  • ns1.example.com
  • ns2.example.com
  • host.example.com

...where "example.com" is my domain and "host" is the hostname I chose.

The ns1 zone has these records:

Code:
ns1.example.com. IN A...
localhost.ns1.example.com. IN A 127.0.0.1
ns1.example.com. IN MX 0 ns1.example.com.
mail IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
www IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
ftp IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
ns2 is the same with s/ns2/ns1/.

host.example.com is

Code:
host.example.com. IN A ...
localhost.host.example.com. IN A 127.0.0.1
host.example.com. IN MX 0 host.example.com.
mail IN CNAME host.example.com.
www IN CNAME host.example.com.
ftp IN CNAME host.example.com.
What I don't understand is...
  • why not create a single example.com zone?
  • why the localhost records?
  • why define mail, www, ftp, etc. aliases in each zone?

__________________
My advice and reviews of VPS providers based on my personal experience: VPSadvice.com



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:55 AM
jcarney1987 jcarney1987 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seminole, OK
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post
  • why not create a single example.com zone?
When I installed Cpanel I added my primary domain then deleted those ns records and put them into my primary domain. It added it like that because I assume you clicked add A records when you put the name servers into the server configuration page.

Quote:
Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post
  • why the localhost records?
Not really sure why they added a localhost record.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post
  • why define mail, www, ftp, etc. aliases in each zone?
It allows you to access your domain like
mail.domain.com
ftp.domain.com
www is normaly a cname but an A records can sub in.

__________________
Inode Hosting - Reliable Web Hosting for the right price.
Shared & Reseller hosting featuring the industry leading cpanel
99.9% Uptime Guarantee ,30 Day Money Back Guarantee ,24/7 Support
Established since 2011



Last edited by jcarney1987; 04-17-2012 at 08:59 AM.
  #3  
Old 04-17-2012, 11:11 AM
raindog308 raindog308 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcarney1987 View Post
When I installed Cpanel I added my primary domain then deleted those ns records and put them into my primary domain. It added it like that because I assume you clicked add A records when you put the name servers into the server configuration page.
Thanks for your reply. Yes, I've always done a single zone per domain (or one per subdomain if there was subdomain.example.com).

Still find the localhost record odd - it's defined in /etc/hosts, and is probably hardwired into every DNS or client library since it's in the RFC. 0

I get the mail/ftp/www/etc. CNAMEs, but not the idea of putting them in three different zones

__________________
My advice and reviews of VPS providers based on my personal experience: VPSadvice.com

Sponsored Links
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DNS Zones in WHM skoobi2 VPS Hosting 0 07-21-2010 11:03 AM
DNS Zones in WHM r557 Hosting Security and Technology 4 07-17-2009 03:11 PM
Editing DNS Zones in WHM r557 Hosting Security and Technology 2 07-16-2009 06:34 AM
WHM and DNS zones Ramil Hosting Security and Technology 1 01-06-2004 02:42 PM
WHM and DNS zones nachopo Reseller Hosting 1 09-17-2002 10:37 AM

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Iron.IO Releases Upgraded Version of Cloud Message Queuing Service Web Hosting News 2014-07-03 09:27:50
Interoute Gives Startups Free Virtual Data Center for One Year Web Hosting News 2013-10-23 16:34:31
CentriLogic Adds Availability Zones to Public Cloud Web Hosting News 2013-04-16 12:16:23
Appcore Opens New High Availability Cloud Location in Hong Kong Web Hosting News 2013-03-19 15:46:48
Google Apps Setup Gets Easier with New Domain Registrar API Web Hosting News 2012-12-10 14:49:03


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?