Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1

    Question Why does WHM setup DNS zones this way?

    My VPS provider installed cPanel/WHM for me. I'm quite comfortable with DNS, but am a little confused about WHM's approach to it.

    When I go into DNS functions, I see three zones created:

    • ns1.example.com
    • ns2.example.com
    • host.example.com


    ...where "example.com" is my domain and "host" is the hostname I chose.

    The ns1 zone has these records:

    Code:
    ns1.example.com. IN A...
    localhost.ns1.example.com. IN A 127.0.0.1
    ns1.example.com. IN MX 0 ns1.example.com.
    mail IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
    www IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
    ftp IN CNAME ns1.example.com.
    ns2 is the same with s/ns2/ns1/.

    host.example.com is

    Code:
    host.example.com. IN A ...
    localhost.host.example.com. IN A 127.0.0.1
    host.example.com. IN MX 0 host.example.com.
    mail IN CNAME host.example.com.
    www IN CNAME host.example.com.
    ftp IN CNAME host.example.com.
    What I don't understand is...
    • why not create a single example.com zone?
    • why the localhost records?
    • why define mail, www, ftp, etc. aliases in each zone?
    My advice and reviews of VPS providers based on my personal experience: VPSadvice.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seminole, OK
    Posts
    1,564
    Quote Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post
    • why not create a single example.com zone?
    When I installed Cpanel I added my primary domain then deleted those ns records and put them into my primary domain. It added it like that because I assume you clicked add A records when you put the name servers into the server configuration page.

    Quote Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post

    • why the localhost records?
    Not really sure why they added a localhost record.
    Quote Originally Posted by raindog308 View Post

    • why define mail, www, ftp, etc. aliases in each zone?
    It allows you to access your domain like
    mail.domain.com
    ftp.domain.com
    www is normaly a cname but an A records can sub in.
    Last edited by jcarney1987; 04-17-2012 at 08:59 AM.
    Inode Hosting - Reliable Web Hosting for the right price.
    Shared & Reseller hosting featuring the industry leading cpanel
    99.9% Uptime Guarantee ,30 Day Money Back Guarantee ,24/7 Support
    Established since 2011

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by jcarney1987 View Post
    When I installed Cpanel I added my primary domain then deleted those ns records and put them into my primary domain. It added it like that because I assume you clicked add A records when you put the name servers into the server configuration page.
    Thanks for your reply. Yes, I've always done a single zone per domain (or one per subdomain if there was subdomain.example.com).

    Still find the localhost record odd - it's defined in /etc/hosts, and is probably hardwired into every DNS or client library since it's in the RFC. 0

    I get the mail/ftp/www/etc. CNAMEs, but not the idea of putting them in three different zones
    My advice and reviews of VPS providers based on my personal experience: VPSadvice.com

  4. Newsletters

    Subscribe Now & Get The WHT Quick Start Guide!

Similar Threads

  1. DNS Zones in WHM
    By skoobi2 in forum VPS Hosting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-21-2010, 11:03 AM
  2. DNS Zones in WHM
    By r557 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 03:11 PM
  3. Editing DNS Zones in WHM
    By r557 in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2009, 06:34 AM
  4. WHM and DNS zones
    By Ramil in forum Hosting Security and Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 02:42 PM
  5. WHM and DNS zones
    By nachopo in forum Reseller Hosting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2002, 10:37 AM

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •