hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Software and Control Panels : centOS without cpanel?!
Reply

Forum Jump

centOS without cpanel?!

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Software and Control Panels Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12

centOS without cpanel?!


Can someone please clear this up for me: a host I'm looking at offers centOS but charges separately for cPanel. I'm kind of not understanding why, since I thought centOS was the operating system that runs cPanel (or is this just one of those things where you're forced to buy cPanel, but they want their advertised price to remain looking low??)



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
:]
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by markn26 View Post
Can someone please clear this up for me: a host I'm looking at offers centOS but charges separately for cPanel. I'm kind of not understanding why, since I thought centOS was the operating system that runs cPanel (or is this just one of those things where you're forced to buy cPanel, but they want their advertised price to remain looking low??)

CentOS is an operating system, just like Windows, MAC, Ubuntu, Fedora, and all the other Linux OS's. On the Operating System, there is something called SSH. In SSH you can run commands that installs stuff inside the Operating System.

cPanel is a control panel that lets you manage your sites, DNS, etc. easily. It is installed on top of CentOS.



  #3  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks for the quick reply! In this case, it looks like I'll have to pay extra for cPanel.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
:]
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by markn26 View Post
Thanks for the quick reply! In this case, it looks like I'll have to pay extra for cPanel.

Is this for Shared Hosting, Reseller, VPS, or a Dedicated Server?

  #5  
Old
Danananana Danananana Batman!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,052
I'm assuming a VPS or Dedicated Server, I've never heard of a shared host that charges extra for cPanel.

__________________
Not sure what to put here :-P

  #6  
Old
:]
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooseweb View Post
I'm assuming a VPS or Dedicated Server, I've never heard of a shared host that charges extra for cPanel.
Yeah, that's why I asked.

  #7  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
You're right: it's for a VPS.

  #8  
Old
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MY, NL, Rest of The World
Posts: 438
If you are still looking, there are host that offers free cpanel with their plans

__________________



  #9  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 544
Quote:
Thanks for the quick reply! In this case, it looks like I'll have to pay extra for cPanel.
Not at all. You can install LAMP, and other necessary components without CPanel. Without CPanel you can run your server. In fact many experienced users are not using any control panels.

  #10  
Old
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElevatedServers View Post
If you are still looking, there are host that offers free cpanel with their plans
Correct. But all they are doing is building the cost of cPanel into the price

If a VPS with cPanel include "free" is $30, it's still more expensive than a VPS at $15 with cPanel for an extra $10

__________________
Alasdair - SolidPHP, Inc.
SPBAS - Business Automation Software for web hosts, web-applications, PHP licensing and digital goods delivery.
Customer management, billing & invoicing, email marketing, integrated helpdesk, multiple brands support & more.
Now with Web Hosting and Domain Reg/Transfer/Renew Support!

  #11  
Old
Backup Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 4,499
If this is for a VPS or dedicated server, then it makes sense to charge separately for cPanel. Licenses for cPanel are not cheap, and many people don't need it, so it should be considered an extra.

__________________
Scott Burns, President
BQ Internet Corporation
Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
*** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Red Hat Takes Active Role in CentOS Project to Drive New Technology Adoption Web Hosting News 2014-01-08 12:00:22
cPanel & WHM Software 11.36 Reaches Stable Tier Status Web Hosting News 2013-04-09 11:44:33
Inerol Solutions Launches XEN VPS Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:46:53
cPanel Security Updates Address Perl Module Vulnerabilities Web Hosting News 2012-12-06 12:55:54
Hosting Control Panel cPanel & WHM 11.34 Release Hits Stable Tier Web Hosting News 2012-11-12 17:04:57


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?