Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    9,576
    I need some advice.

    Using a PHP script how do I set it to recognize the MYSql database? The initiate file wants to know where my database is, so any help would be wonderful. I looked at my control panel (Alabanza), and it says I have one named akashik_net. What would be the exact path I should add to the script for it to point at the file? Also from what I gather of the readme it will write it's own tables so I don't have to add these. Would that be correct?

    Just learnt to install cgi and am jumping right into installing PHP so I don't mind the long answer *lol*

    Thanks

    Greg Moore
    http://www.akashik.net
    Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

  2. #2
    Start Long Answere -->

    Well usually the path to the mysql database can be set to localhost.

    Every program requires a different name or different properties for the tables it uses. Usually the program you are installing would create the tables.


    <-- End Long Answere

    Hope this helps
    The Php Support Desk
    http://www.phpsupportdesk.com
    Custom programming - kunal @ e-phoria.com
    http://www.pingzine.com - Ping!Zine. the FREE, FRESH and EXCITING Web Hosting Magazine...

  3. #3

    php mysql

    I suggest heading over to devshed.com or webmonkey.com and going through their tutorials on php and MySQL. They are very good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,167
    I don't know what your script looks like, but there are usually five pieces of information needed to set up access to MySQL in a PHP script. This is usually stored in variables at the top of the script, but the basic info is:

    Server Type ="mysql"
    Server Name ="localhost" (literally, "localhost"
    DB Username ="yourusername" (Alabanza domain username)
    DB Password ="yourpassword" (Alabanza domain password)
    Database Name ="akashik_net" (The database Alabanza created)

    With an Alabanza MySQL setup, your DB Username and DB Password are the same as your CP login credentials.

    You could post or email a code snippet of this part of your script and I can provide better details for you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    9,576
    thanks all I'll have a poke around and see what happens *grin*

    Greg Moore
    http://www.akashik.net
    Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    2,288
    You wouldnt set an absolute path to connect, use localhost as stated above or you can try using the server host name if its available to you.
    Greg Landis | Director of Growth Jaguarpc - Unlock Superior Hosting with JaguarPC
    Managed Servers - Virtual Private Servers | AMD EPYC Dedicated servers
    Follow us @ Facebook.com/Jaguarpc | (888)-338-5261 | greg @ jaguarpc.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    9,576
    Thanks all. I nailed it finally. Seems all was correct, just had to set the permissions on a folder. Got all excited about not having to do the cgi-shuffle with changing every file and overlooked a rather obvious section of the instructions. Remember when being a webdesigner was just about design?

    Greg Moore
    http://www.akashik.net
    Former Webhost... now, just a guy.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,167
    LOL. I've always been a coder, so I know the Devil's in the details! :-)

  9. #9
    Sorry to bring this old thread back into the spotlight but how did you solve this problem? What folders did you set the permissions on?

    My script asked for a 'Full Path To mysqldump' and 'Full Path To mysql'. I did a 'locate' in telnet but the script says it can't find it there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •