Web Hosting Talk

Web Hosting Talk (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/index.php)
-   Hosting Security and Technology (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1128083)


discxpress 02-19-2012 01:33 PM

Incorrect URLs/paths in error logs
 
Hello,

I just moved my site to a new server. i used the same files and db backup from the old server. They both are Apache. As a result, my product pages and categories aren't being found and I get 404 errors.

Here's an example of the errors from the error log:
HTML Code:

[Sun Feb 19 09:53:07 2012] [error] [client 66.249.71.44] File does not exist: /var/www/html/panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090.html
[Sun Feb 19 09:54:37 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/christmas-bonus-pack-p-4135.html
[Sun Feb 19 09:55:13 2012] [error] [client 66.249.66.149] File does not exist: /var/www/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html

What should I check on the server?

T-Junk 02-19-2012 02:30 PM

Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.

discxpress 02-19-2012 02:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T-Junk (Post 7964438)
Do you have those pages on your site? Are they in a sub folder named "html", and are they working? If your renamed the folder, possibly even to upper case "HTML", then it could cause that error. Also, if you moved those pages, same result.

Thanks for your reply.

Yes those pages are on my site which is built with PHP. They are located in the "html" folder with all lower case. Since I used the db backup from the previous server, I didn't move the pages.

discxpress 02-19-2012 04:45 PM

What would cause the php files to be downloaded instead of displaying in the browser?

T-Junk 02-19-2012 04:55 PM

Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??

discxpress 02-19-2012 05:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by T-Junk (Post 7964572)
Did you recently change your domain name?? It's a possibility that if you did, peolple are clicking those links (old bookmarks and search engine finds, or such). If you're running this site in a virtual directory on your webserver, those links could be defaulting to var/www.

So, are you running a virtual directory for this site, or are your files all located in var/www ??

All files are in /var/www/html. Also, I didn't change the domain name. The only difference is the hosting company. Do you think that the 2 different servers are configured to handle php files differently? I'm running apache server in linux/centos. Php5 The previous server was an apache also.

Thanks

T-Junk 02-19-2012 05:22 PM

Are you sure PHP is installed? When I've seen browsers ask to download a PHP page instead of display it, that has been the cause.

You can write this code in notepad (or related) and save it as checking.php:

PHP Code:

<?php
phpinfo
():
?>

Put that in your root directory and navigate a browser to http://yourdomain/checking.php and it should bring up a PHP information page.

So, you're SURE those files exsist? You can go to http://yourdomain/html/mission-combat-force-p-4158.html and it will display that certain page??

Edit: In the php.ini file (I do believe), you can define what pages the server will look for PHP on, such as .html and .htm files. That might be some of your problem.

T-Junk 02-19-2012 06:29 PM

Sorry!! I typoed that code:
PHP Code:

<?php
phpinfo
();
?>

Also, are you using a CMS (Wordpress, Joomla!, etc.)?

discxpress 02-19-2012 08:59 PM

I was wondering why the page was blank. I'll try the new code later.

discxpress 02-19-2012 09:18 PM

I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.

T-Junk 02-20-2012 02:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by discxpress (Post 7964820)
I do have wordpress but I must upgrade php to 5.2.6. My website is powered by oscommerce.

Are you using a WP plugin that changes your page names, because that could be an issue if not set up right or disabled in the change over. Also, I do believe that Wordpress pages do not end with ".html", but rather a number such as "?page_id=86", or even just words and a slash like "panda-antivirus-2012-p-5090/" (although I could be wrong). There might be other issues here.

discxpress 02-20-2012 04:18 AM

On my php coded site, I use mod that changes the extensions from .php to .html. On wp I have no such plugin.

Thanks

discxpress 02-20-2012 04:45 AM

I corrected the checking.php file and loaded it in my browser. if you want to view the results go here: http://www.discxpress.com/checking.php

discxpress 02-20-2012 09:38 AM

I found the solution! zlib wasn't enabled. I need to upgrade php. Any easy way to do that?

Thanks

T-Junk 02-20-2012 10:06 AM

Good work man!! Glad you got that sorted out. You should remove that checking.php file (or rename it).

As for upgrading PHP, I'm not as familiar with Centos as other linux distros, and never used a control panel, but it shouldn't be anything a yum install can't fix.

Try this link here.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
© WebHostingTalk, 1998 - 2014. All Rights Reserved.