Web Hosting Talk

Web Hosting Talk (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/index.php)
-   Game Servers (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=155)
-   -   Planning on starting a game server. (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1118166)

Individuality 01-18-2012 04:01 PM

Planning on starting a game server.

Hi everyone

I'm new here and I assume that you come across threads like this very often but this is what this site and specifically this section is about, isn't it?

K I'm new to hosting, I've designed few websites in past and administrate the website of the Corporation where I work. I'm registered as on of the experts in experts exchange community. I'm experienced in technical field of computers both hard and soft.

I've been planning on starting a game server and intend to host Z8Games Crossfire etc games which is really going to help a lot of players as there are no servers of Z8Games in South-Southeast Asia.

The hardware I have is-
Core i5 2500K 3.3 Ghz 4 cores 6MB L3 Cache
16 GB DDR3 GSkill 1600MHz RAM (Dual Channel)
500 GB Seagate HDD

I don't have any idea on how much Bandwidth etc Z8Games require so I'll have to upgrade that after consulting with them.

I don't know which server OS and CPanel I should be using.

Any help and suggestions will be helpful.

Geovanie R 01-18-2012 04:07 PM

Typically I'd recommend Linux (CentOS) and cPanel Game Server, with Mumble for the chat service, but I'm not familiar with Z8Games, and cPGS doesn't supports it natively, so it's really a toss up. Have you tried approaching the main distributor and seeing their recommendation? Chances are they're willing to help you set a server, especially if the studio is fairly small. I'd imagine developing a relationship with them wouldn't be too difficult considering you're exposing their product to a new market.

Individuality 01-18-2012 04:15 PM