Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : worldwidemart.com SCAM?


Nightflames
05-06-2000, 08:50 PM
In February while investigating some hosts we placed a "3 months free trial" order using this company's special form. After waiting for the account to be opened which didn't happen. We chased them and got this reply:-
From: Dave Jackson <dave@worldwidemart.com>
Dear Hostmaster,

Since your order was placed by check, it is processed manually. We will
get to it ASAP. Thanks!

Kind regards,
Dave Jackson
World Wide Mart, Inc.

We do business via credit card and ONLY selected "pay by check" as it was/is the only option they were accepting to let them manually over ride the billing system.
Having advised Dave that with the poor service our Domains wouldn't be transfered there, nothing more happened.
BUT
surprise surprise when the three month time frame has elapsed guess who now wants to bill us for a server that was never activated or provided.
BE WARNED check any invoices from absolute-hosting.net / www.worldwidemart.com (http://www.worldwidemart.com) very carefully.

Nightflames
05-06-2000, 08:57 PM
anyone recieving invoices or requests for payment from these addresses be careful
Absolute Hosting, Inc.
785 High Pines Drive
Naples, FL 34103-2800

Accounting Department
Absolute Hosting, Inc.
800-339-4685

naplesdave
09-19-2000, 07:25 PM
Hi Nightflames,

World Wide Mart, Inc., hosts Monsanto, Cgi-resources.com, Matt's Script Archive at http://www.worldwidemart.com/scripts/ and over 3000 customers. I hardly think manual processing is a scam. If you never let World Wide Mart, Inc., know that you were cancelling, and signed up for quarterly billing, their system would automatically send you an invoice once the free 90 days expired.

This is why no one responded to your posts.

Kind regards,
Dave Jackson
World Wide Mart, Inc.

Nightflames
09-23-2000, 05:51 AM
Nice try Dave but as I am sure you know it is hardly "accepted" industry practice to fail to deliver ANYTHING except an invoice for services never provided.
Did I miss your point? Do "Monsanto, Cgi-resources.com, Matt's Script Archive at http://www.worldwidemart.com/scripts/ and over 3000 customers" pay you for NOT providing anything whatsoever?
If your company has been successfully billing them for never setting anything up perhaps you could explain the secret of this new guaranteed get rich scheme to us all?