Nightflames
05-03-2000, 01:07 PM
First the good news.. they have probably the best features for the price unix host set up around. The bad news is.. try sending email from your server even using the set up intructions they provide. If you think that suxs use the autoresponding "fast 24 hours a day support ticketing system" set an important question to highest priority and watch the DAYS role by. If you dont want support, dont use email and god knows what else is screwed that I have yet to discover..you have a great host.
yeah I really do have servers with them so its real opinion not conjecture.
Howdy Nightflames,
You might be interested to check out Below10Host at http://www.below10host.com and compare them to Linuxwebhost.
I originally considered Linuxwebhost as well before I settled on Below10host because of their support. Although only 9-5, they have never failed to respond to me within 24 hours.
They're resellers for Alabanza servers (same as Linuxwebhost) but are cheaper and get more bang. So anyone looking for a decent Unix/Linux host has my recommendation for Below10host.
One caveat : be sure to observe bandwidth guidelines for below10host - there have been reports of overcharging for excessive bandwidth.
Lurker
05-03-2000, 07:27 PM
You also may want to look into superior-host.com. I am currently trying their service and find them very good. They also use Alabanza servers. I think the tech support is good.
Esper
05-04-2000, 08:35 AM
Nightflames,
When you're saying that you have trouble sending mail, are you referring to their unix 'sendmail' command or just your standard POP3?
I'm asking because I just recently started hosting with them and I have their unix sendmail working fine with several PERL scripts.
Anyway, could you be a little more specific? I agree with you that the tech support is virtually non-existent, but so far I haven't needed to deal with them on anything important.
Thanx ahead of time for any further info.
-Esper.
MikeA
05-04-2000, 09:07 AM
Just thought you'd like to know. below10host either resells or is owned by sitehost4u.com.
If you click on the online manual, it sends you to http://www.manual.4ua.com/ which is a domain for sitehost4u. I know this because I used to resell for them (sitehost4u) but have since gotten my own servers from Alabanza.
On a side note, the guy (James Rogers) who runs linuxwebhost.com is the same guy who created and sold sitehost4u.
------------------
Mike Astin
WebAuthorities
sales@webauthorities.com
Originally posted by MikeA:
Just thought you'd like to know. below10host either resells or is owned by sitehost4u.com.
If you click on the online manual, it sends you to http://www.manual.4ua.com/ which is a domain for sitehost4u. I know this because I used to resell for them (sitehost4u) but have since gotten my own servers from Alabanza.
On a side note, the guy (James Rogers) who runs linuxwebhost.com is the same guy who created and sold sitehost4u.
Interesting! I thought their company would have been set up like that, considering the vague similarities between Sitehost4u and Linuxwebhost's designs.
However, 4ua is technically part of Sitehost4u, and if you do reverse DNS lookups via Samspade or any other utility, 4ua points back to Alabanza.
Their IP ranges are all Alabanza owned ;-)
For example, my own site on Below10host is http://www.bum.cx
If you check IP blocks around my site, they all point to Alabanza :)