Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : SPEWS Spam Sympathizers


allan
12-22-2002, 07:31 AM
So, SPEWS has this hate-hate relationship with Interland. SPEWS even blocked all of Interland's netblocks at one point.

Now, we all know that Interland announced the purchase of Hostcentric on December 19th (3 days ago).

Look what I see:


Tracing route to www.spews.org [216.65.63.103]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 <10 ms <10 ms <10 ms xx.xx.xx.xx
3 15 ms <10 ms <10 ms 500.Serial1-9.GW7.DCA8.ALTER.NET [65.207.88.11

4 <10 ms <10 ms 16 ms 0.so-2-3-0.XL2.DCA8.ALTER.NET [152.63.36.34]
5 <10 ms 16 ms <10 ms 288.at-1-0-0.CL2.IAD5.ALTER.NET [152.63.35.102

6 <10 ms 15 ms <10 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XR2.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.38.141]
7 <10 ms 15 ms <10 ms POS7-0.GW4.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.41.33]
8 203 ms 156 ms 188 ms wcgGigE-gw2.customer.alter.net [157.130.30.246

9 188 ms 172 ms 172 ms hrndva1wcx3-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.95.117]
10 235 ms 234 ms 234 ms hrndva1wcx2-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.95.77]
11 234 ms 235 ms 250 ms anhmca1wcx3-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.240.29]
12 234 ms 235 ms 234 ms snfcca1wcx2-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.240.2]
13 235 ms 219 ms 234 ms snfcca1wcx3-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.199.78]
14 250 ms 234 ms 250 ms sntcca2lce1-oc48.wcg.net [64.200.210.178]
15 266 ms 250 ms 219 ms sntcca2lce1-hostcentric-gige.wcg.net [64.200.1
.34]
16 250 ms 250 ms 234 ms GE6-0.FMT-2.hostcentric.com [66.40.24.109]
17 344 ms 328 ms 282 ms VLAN3.FMT6509-1.hostcentric.com [66.40.24.106]
18 235 ms * 78 ms hosting.wewak.net [216.65.63.103]


So, SPEWS is hosting with a known spammer? They have had three days to move their site, which is more than they give most of their victims. So, I guess the only conclusion we can come to is that SPEWS supports spammers.

Its a shame, when a good organization gets corrupted like this....


(I'm tempted to post this to news.admin.net-abuse.email but I don't feel like being flamed :D).

Chachi
12-22-2002, 12:05 PM
I thought Spews said they were hosted somewhere in a far away location in Russia? At least think that was on their site... can't seem to find that there now :confused:

ScottD
12-22-2002, 12:09 PM
Allan, you out did yourself here. This is great, and one for the history books!

I think you should post this to news.admin.net-abuse.email, we all don't mind you getting flamed. :D

allan
12-22-2002, 12:27 PM
Well, in 3-6 hours it will be listed:

http://groups.google.com/groups?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&group=news.admin.net-abuse.email

I imagine I will be flamed mercilessly and all of Fluid Hosting's IP Addresses will be blacklisted (sorry Dave and Jim).

However, I am serious about this, if you are going to be a radical, then you should expect to be held to a higher standard than those you choose to rail against.

I wonder if I can get someone at CNET to run this story :).

Chachi
12-22-2002, 12:33 PM
well email them lol!! email slashdot! email everyone... it's your one chance to be famous!!

allan
12-22-2002, 12:34 PM
Originally posted by Fazel3
well email them lol!! email slashdot! email everyone... it's your one chance to be famous!!

I don't know if I want that kind of fame :D.

Acroplex
12-22-2002, 02:37 PM
Yeah, that'd be "n-n-n-notorious"! :D

SoftWareRevue
12-22-2002, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by uuallan
. . . . . . . .

Its a shame, when a good organization gets corrupted like this... . . . . That's a matter of opinion and many debates.

Acroplex
12-22-2002, 02:42 PM
And as we all know, a lot of debates can lead to diabetes :D

allan
12-22-2002, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
That's a matter of opinion and many debates.

For the record I was in sarcasm mode when I wrote that :D.

JTY
12-22-2002, 03:16 PM
Hmm... give 'em a dose of their own medicine...

The Prohacker
12-22-2002, 03:20 PM
So... Is SPEWS gonna block their own IP since they are hosted on by a spamhaus?? :D

allan
12-23-2002, 08:26 AM
I got an interesting private response from my posting to the newsgroup -- though the person also read the post here. I am assuming the address is forged, so I will respond to a point I found particularly salient:

I said:

They have had three days to move their site, which is more than they give most of the people they add to their list. So, I guess the only conclusion we can come to is that SPEWS supports spammers.


The response:

Really? And your idiot, outdated post, means that your support all idiots?


First, I believe you mean idiotic not idiot, and your should be you. If you are going to flame, at least get the grammar correct. But to answer your question, of course I support idiots, why would I not support idiots, I don't necessarily like idiots or intentionally associate with them, but I certainly support their right to exist. I also suport outdated things as well, in case you were wondering.

More to the point, SPEWS penalizes people for supporting ISPS that host spammers, even if those people, or the ISP, do not themselves spam. So, my point is still valid: by hosting at Interland, or even giving the impression that they are hosting at Interland they are lending their tacit support to Interland, and therefore supporting a known spamhaus.

I would also like to respond to following comment:

ps., speaking of trolling, mind if I troll John Tesh Productions re:
NEWMOMMY.COM ?


(for those that don't read my personal website, the above is from an entry on www.allan.org)

Feel free, the domain has already expired, so they have as good a chance of getting it back as I do. But I am willing to bet that I have more experience in this realm than they do :D.