curious
04-24-2000, 08:08 PM
Has anyone had any experience with Maxin Web? They seem too good to be true and with all that true hosting stuff going on I would really like some feedback before I decide. It says right on their site that they recently changed names...
fthosting
04-25-2000, 09:55 AM
Advise run don't take a second look at there site. any host that can offer this for the price they are aint planning on making much money -
5 MB
Unlimited POP3 Email
Unlimited Transfer
And More...
Price: $5.95/Month
Extra bandwidth costs more than that. I personally think it's another scam. If i can could offer that id be doing it but it just aint possible to offer unlimted bandwidth at that price in fact at any price.
Edward Dalladay
Technical Director & Webmaster http://www.fthosting.co.uk
webmaster@fthosting.co.uk
A new revolution in Webhosts.
bfruchter
04-25-2000, 01:28 PM
I am also attracted to the price/features of maxin. I don't recall if they support web-based email which I want. Maxin's published 800 # is a voice mail it seems, but that seems typical among low cost providers (if they even offer a phone # at all). I still haven't decided on a host myself -- see my other post on looking for low cost host.
Fthosting is quick on assessing and somewhat biased since he provides hosting services (UK-based) and is looking for customers. You might want to check him out; he probably does a fine job -- personal attention (at least in these forums). I would discount his opinion though.
fthosting
04-25-2000, 01:43 PM
Well i was only trying to help with your question. ask anyone it's impossible to offer unlimited bandwidth. Also if i was trying to promote my service id do something like - Come to fthosting blah blah blah but im not doing that im giving my opinion as a normal person not a webhost.
If i was promoting my service why would i point people to other hosts ?. I want to help if people do not wish for my help ignore my posts all i wanna do is help people find the right host for them i know its hard to belive coming from a webhost but it's true.
brother albert
04-29-2000, 03:13 PM
no offense fthosting but you -are- promoting your service...
otherwise you wouldn't have picked "fthosting" as your username and put your URL in your sig.
my $0.99
-brother albert
Gordon
04-29-2000, 05:31 PM
Hello Curious,
If you are looking for a affordable web host and have no idea where to start looking at, you may want to try your search at webhostdir.com or hostinvestigator.com Or if you are looking for someone to talk to regarding your choices, you are free to contact me at gordon@virtual-cities.net
I will guide you as much as i can.