Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Who's this spammer?


Expirednic
12-12-2002, 11:29 AM
I got a spam for this URL: http://find.markethosting.com/host

but I don't think this site is actually the real spammer's address,. its just a coverup, theres alot of good detectives on this board...can you guys find out the real company behind the spam?


there spam:


Hi,
All great websites needs a reliable web hosting provider, we are here to provide you with superb hosting for an affordable price and exceptional support.

Here is our special offer to you:

Signup here: http://find.markethosting.com/host

For $9.99
You will recieve:


* 5000 MB of bandwidth
* 1 Gig of Diskspace (Nobody beats this feature!)
* CGI access for your scripts
* FULL SSH/telnet access for full control of your website
* Online Email manager
* FREE Website Statistics (So you can see full details of your visitors!)
* FREE 1 MySQL Database ($50 value)

* And Best of all 30 day money back guarantee. We stand behind our service and know you will love it!

You can signup by going here:

http://find.markethosting.com/host
Daniel Spring


UnSubScribe from our list here: http://find.markethosting.com/cgi-bin/removeemail.cgi

AussieHosts
12-12-2002, 12:03 PM
These might help:

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=20020930165743.K25825%40spin.it

http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=20020929174203.E12903%40spin.it

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=79632&highlight=colohosts

Gary

TheGAME1264
12-12-2002, 02:44 PM
I don't think you'll ever find the spammer's real address and/or contact information unless you contact the people involved with the nameservers for the spammer mentioned above and the ones that Editor has quite correctly associated as the same.

The information for the nameserver is as follows:

Whois info for, dns-protect.com:
Registrant:
DNS-Protect
2294 Sunset Terrace
Petaluma, CA 94952
US

Domain Name: DNS-PROTECT.COM

Administrative Contact:
administrator, domain admin@dns-protect.com
2294 Sunset Terrace
Petaluma, CA 94952
US
707-781-3362
Fax: 707-781-3362

Technical Contact:
administrator, domain admin@dns-protect.com
2294 Sunset Terrace
Petaluma, CA 94952
US
707-781-3362
Fax: 707-781-3362



Registration Service Provider:
DeltaNet Communications
800 416 2362
This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords, DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.

Out of all that, I'd say your best shot is contacting the DeltaNet communications people and seeing if they'd block any of the DNS-Protect stuff by not assigning any IP addresses to it. You won't be able to find anything out, but at least you'd stop the problem at source.

Another thing you may want to do is edit this post so as not to reveal the website once you've gotten all the information you want. This way, when any of the search engine crawler bots visit this site, they won't take your mentioning of the website as an endorsement of the site and thereby increase its rank.