Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Tacidhost?


Hercules
04-23-2001, 06:07 PM
www.tacidhost.com

What's the verdict on these guys? Host Investigator has mixed reviews..

Martie
04-23-2001, 06:21 PM
You might try using that search function here in the forum...upper right...type in company name and it should bring up past postings.
I think they also have mixed reviews at hostsearch.com

cbaker17
04-23-2001, 07:50 PM
THeir a terrible company, they are resellers and were offering unlimited bandwidth when their account only came with 50gb and they got shut down...

BRossMac
04-23-2001, 11:17 PM
Well, I'm currently using Tacid (which I've been using for almost a month). It's been a zoo there recently. They lost their UNIX hosting and a lot of customers in the deal. I'm on the WIN2000 servers, so I've been okay (though I have not been able to get FrontPage extensions to work...).

The most fundamental problem over the past several weeks has been poor communication between Tacid and customers. During my first couple days, things were great--lots of e-mail and chat to take care of questions and bugs (this was what I expected based on the original reviews I saw on HostSearch). Then the ca-ca hit the fan.

After that, forget ever getting a response to e-mail. Just never happened. I could get help occasionally through AIM but even that stopped. The message boards there were a mass of flames with the occasional offer of help from other customers. The word from Tacid changed every 13 hours--new servers coming, new hosting plans (with discounts for current members), unlimited this and that, or not, or something else. I requested to be moved to the UNIX servers before they went down, but I didn't get switched. Now that they're up I don't know if I will and I haven't got any responses to my e-mail (and the board has been down for two days).

My 30-day money back period is about to end and I think I may go somewhere else (you may have seen my posts inquiring on other options).

Tacid may eventually come back okay. I don't know. I was only there for a week or so before things went haywire. And all the reviews up to that point were great. You may want to wait and see how the reviews look in a few months. I really hope that they get it together, but I'm not too sure....

Brad

Hercules
04-23-2001, 11:34 PM
Finding out they were resellers is all I wanted to know :)

Though I wonder why they advertise having a datacenter and such :)

BRossMac
04-24-2001, 12:20 AM
I did a search (at HostSearch) to find a replacement for Tacid. I found someplace called HostingTicket (http://www.hostingticket.com). A WHOIS search gave me this:

Domain Name: HOSTINGTICKET.COM

Administrative Contact:
Shang, Josuee shang2k@msn.com

...who is none other than TACID....

I don't know what this means, but it smells fishy.

B

BRossMac
04-24-2001, 12:39 AM
The TacidBoard is up. Go there to see what may be happening.

http://www.tacidhost.net


Brad

Edi
05-20-2001, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by BRossMac
The TacidBoard is up. Go there to see what may be happening.

http://www.*********.net


Brad

Yeah, the board is up... And if you are posting critical questions they delete the whole thread.

The stories about Shang in this messageboard helped me a lot to understand what's going on behind the scenes.

Edi

Dogma
05-20-2001, 07:29 PM
NO!! DON'T GO WITH TACID!! :angry: :angry:

Jin
05-20-2001, 07:59 PM
I'm still with Tacid, only because I cant get a refund. The FTP is very slow, support is hard to find, etc. I wouldn't reccomend this host to anyone. Also the fact that they take layouts and graphics from other websites shows how unprofessional they are.

SnoBoy
05-21-2001, 01:58 AM
Stay Away!!!!:uzi: from tacidblue ********* or whatever they prefer to call themselves.

They also stole Cavendo.com's server pics, those pics at tacid's Network page is stolen from Cavendo.com's old site.

He was telling ppl. at his board that he was setting up 2,163 sites :eek: i dunno how true is that......

http://*********.com/board/showthread.php?threadid=32

He claimed that he was setting up all 2,163 accounts in less than 25minutes BUT it took him over an hour to set up the remaining 252 sites..:D

check this out--cut and paste from tacidblue's site.
Registered: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 52

We had 2,163 new orders in these 3 days, we have processed half of them till now. We will tell everyone when we will be done.



Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

05-20-2001 07:32 PM



Shang
Administrator

Registered: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 52

Ok we have finished about 3/4 of them



Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

05-20-2001 07:57 PM



Shang
Administrator

Registered: May 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 52

I got 252 more left, one hour till I am done.



Report this post to a moderator | IP: Logged

05-20-2001 08:20 PM


--------------cut and paste--------------


What a Joke :D

skysenshi
05-23-2001, 10:14 AM
Originally posted by Hercules
Finding out they were resellers is all I wanted to know :)


Actually almost 90% of the hosting biz are resellers. Most of them work really hard to give their clients the extras that the mother company don't have time to give (like install scripts and the like), which would make the clients' lives easier.

Unfortunately, some resellers give reselling a bad name.


Though I wonder why they advertise having a datacenter and such :)


That's the kind of reseller I was talking about (when I mentioned giving reselling a bad name).

Good day.

determinist
05-24-2001, 03:23 PM
"TACID" this name is more *well known* then most companies that had spend thousands on advertising..

Edi
05-25-2001, 06:02 AM
Curious as I am I tried today once more the URL http://www.tacidhost.com and got the message: "This account has been disabled. To have the account restored, contact Customer Service."

Edi

determinist
05-25-2001, 06:14 AM
That was fast, it was still ok a couple of hours ago.. i wonder what had got onto him this time.

XTStrike
05-25-2001, 06:51 AM
from the : www.tacidhost.com web site

This account has been disabled..
To have the account restored, contact Customer Service

Edi
05-25-2001, 06:52 AM
It seams that Tacidhost has changed the provider. The whois entry was updated May 24, 2001 as follows:

Domain Name: TACIDHOST.COM
Registrar: GO DADDY SOFTWARE, INC.
Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
Name Server: NS.APOLLOHOSTING.COM
Name Server: NS2.APOLLOHOSTING.COM
Updated Date: 24-may-2001

Edi

Akash
05-25-2001, 08:28 AM
see my post in "it has to be done"......apollohosting has been hosting them for a while, the updated date is just when the registry was updated

kchosting
05-26-2001, 01:52 PM
I wonder if I added "Tacid" to my meta tags it would help in positioning on the Major Search Engines? LOL

sorry ! just a little bit of humor intended!

MPD
05-31-2001, 01:29 AM
what do you expect for a 14 year old, I found a web host that is offering a discount to TacidHost customers for their problems and to help them get off <<EDIT>>

<<MOD NOTE:>>
Please do NOT post this URL in the main forums.
<</MOD NOTE>>

Colin
05-31-2001, 05:06 PM
Interesting that Chicken deleted off that URL...

Those of you who did get to see the un-edited post should check out their support forum. You'll find that they have an admin/moderator who calls himself Brian Baldwin.

Hey wait...Tacid has a forum admin who goes by the user name bbaldwin...coincidence?

I also checked out the rest of their site. They are a donhost reseller, but something I found strange is that they offer 20gb bandwidth a month and yet they only charge $40 for a full year. Donhost resellers get 50gb bandwidth a month don't they?

I smell fish :eek:

Martie
05-31-2001, 05:50 PM
humm Ive seen that name around the webhostdir boards too?

Not sure if anyone has noticed the really recent reviews on this company at hostsearch?:confused:
Again----Its pretty obvious, I say!