Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : WWF.COM


flitcher
12-07-2002, 12:09 AM
Ok,
I know WWF changed to WWE because of trademark issues, but does anyone know how in the world the domain was allowed to expire? Someone snatched it on December 2 and it now shows a site called Women Without Families. Seems like they just threw that up to try and avoid TM issues. But it is still mind boggling to me!

markblair
12-07-2002, 01:00 AM
Not sure what you mean unless they took it offline. Here's the WHOIS --

Organization:
World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.
Kelly Stempien
1241 East Main Street
Stamford, CT 06902
US
Phone: 203-352-8600
Email: kellydns@wwe.com

Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com

Domain Name: WWF.COM

Created on..............: Fri, Nov 18, 1994
Expires on..............: Wed, Nov 17, 2010
Record last updated on..: Wed, Aug 07, 2002

Administrative Contact:
World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.
Kelly Stempien
1241 East Main Street
Stamford, CT 06902
US
Phone: 203-352-8600
Email: kellydns@wwe.com

Technical Contact:
World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.
Felipe Negron
1241 East Main Street
Stamford, CT 06902
US
Phone: 203-352-8600
Email: felipedns@wwe.com

Zone Contact:
World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.
Felipe Negron
1241 East Main Street
Stamford, CT 06902
US
Phone: 203-352-8600
Email: felipedns@wwe.com

Domain servers in listed order:

NS20.CUSTOMER.LEVEL3.NET 209.244.5.53
NS1.WWE.COM 63.208.148.144
NS2.WWE.COM 64.152.4.141

I'm sure even though they currently have it that the Word Wildlife Fund will take it over soon. That's who sued them for the naming rights before they gave up and just switched their name.

ljprevo
12-07-2002, 01:07 AM
Better get a better whois, here is what I have:

12/07/02 00:09:18 whois wwf.com
.com is a domain of USA & International Commercial
Searches for .com can be run at http://www.crsnic.net/

whois -h whois.crsnic.net wwf.com ...
Redirecting to DOTSTER, INC.

whois -h whois.dotster.com wwf.com ...


The data contained in the WHOIS database, while
believed by the company to be reliable, is provided "as is",
with no guarantee or warranties regarding its accuracy. This
information is provided for the sole purpose of assisting you
in obtaining information about domain name registration records.
Any use of this data for any other purpose, including, but not
limited to, allowing or making possible dissemination or
collection of this data in part or in its entirety for any
purpose, such as the transmission of unsolicited advertising and
solicitations, is expressly forbidden without the prior written
permission of this company. By submitting an inquiry, you agree
to these terms of usage and limitations of warranty.
Please limit your queries to 10 per minute and one connection.

Registrant:
NuBrand
Noeltingstr.48
Hamburg, DE 22765
DE

Registrar: DOTSTER
Domain Name: WWF.COM
Created on: 01-DEC-02
Expires on: 01-DEC-03
Last Updated on: 05-DEC-02

Administrative Contact:
Baach, Frank king@nyc.com
NuBrand
Noeltingstr.48
Hamburg, DE 22765
DE
01776147633

Technical Contact:
Baach, Frank king@nyc.com
NuBrand
Noeltingstr.48
Hamburg, DE 22765
DE
01776147633


Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.99KR.COM
NS2.99KR.COM

Register a domain name at www.dotster.com

End of Whois Information

ZiCmaN
12-07-2002, 01:21 AM
Actually registered on 12/01/02 and now it just appears to be a blank page.

Kinda Crazy though to just let it expire. It will more than likely be up for sale or used as a redirect in the near future;)

HostThru.com
12-07-2002, 01:26 AM
My buddy got that domain lol.

flitcher
12-07-2002, 01:34 AM
He seems to get some pretty good domains there - nyc.com. I've been out of the registering of dropping domains for quite some time now, is he new to the game? Not new as in inexperienced, but new as in public wise. I'm quite familiar with the big players names and have never seen his before. Either way, he seems to be on track for getting some good domains. :)

nonstop
12-07-2002, 08:13 AM
http://www.dnforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13399
http://www.dnforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13584
http://www.dnforum.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13639

Michael M
12-07-2002, 08:47 AM
flitcher, he doesn't own NYC.com
He uses their free email service.

In any case he picked WWF.com up for $8.95 using NameWinner. Hardly an indication of him being a "big player". Got some nice domains nonetheless but nothing amazing. Anyway, I'm glad beatz got it. Better him then UltSearch (or any other hot shot domain grabbers for that matter)!

Acroplex
12-07-2002, 12:23 PM
And the fun of getting cease and desist letters from WWF.org now begins :)

dsotmoon
12-07-2002, 12:28 PM
Originally posted by timechange
And the fun of getting cease and desist letters from WWF.org now begins :)

no kidding, I am sure that will be in his future, if they can take it away from the largest sports entertainment company in the US with billions of dollars, I almost bet they can stop the guy that got it off NameWinner from using it :)

markblair
12-08-2002, 08:55 PM
It's no longer a property of World Wrestling Entertainment (Federation). The letters WWF are copyrighted and owned by the World Wildlife Fund. I presume it won't be long before they own that domain.

flitcher
12-08-2002, 09:31 PM
Now goes to a blank page... Looks like someone is getting scared.