
|
View Full Version : @WebHost Hijacked!!!!
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 10:49 PM I visit atwebhost.net and find this strange new site. They just launched last month. They claim to be a part of Awebhosting Inc. It isn't like this could even be a typo as the "t" is nowhere near a or w on the keyboard. I think they are theying to use the @webhost name to get biz...
Personally I think they'll probably be out of biz in 30 days...Feel sorry for them when the atwebhost legal team gets to them...
What do you guys think...?
Andrew 12-06-2002, 10:51 PM Did they send out a press release or something? There are like 4 posts at the same time about this.
skelley1 12-06-2002, 10:56 PM well, awebhosting is apparently the same people, and it looks like that name has been used since 1999, so I don't imagine that they were targeting @webhost
There are only so many ways to use 'host' in a domain name, so I would imagine there will be many similarities.
Unless, of course, there is more to the story.
Andrew 12-06-2002, 10:58 PM if webhosting.net and webhosting.com and dominet.com and dominet.net can coexist peacefully, I think that Serveroutsource and Atwebhost can get along.
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 11:00 PM Why if they are Awebhosting would they register ATwebhost.net?:confused:
Andrew 12-06-2002, 11:02 PM Why not? I own all kinds of domain names.
SoftWareRevue 12-06-2002, 11:02 PM Originally posted by skelley1
well, awebhosting is apparently the same people . . . . They certainly don't look like the same people to me. :confused:
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 11:03 PM Guess I should go registed my .org/.net/.biz right now then huh...?
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 11:03 PM If they are awebhosting they don't need to use the atwebhost name...
skelley1 12-06-2002, 11:04 PM Originally posted by LiNuX
Guess I should go registed my .org/.net/.biz right now then huh...?
You should ALWAYS do that, and register your name, if you want to try to keep things like this at a minimum.
Worst thing that could happen is that someone like this could get a bad rep and then it starts reflecting on @webhost
skelley1 12-06-2002, 11:06 PM Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
They certainly don't look like the same people to me. :confused:
sorry, i meant that the group they were claiming affiliation to is the same, not @webhost.
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 11:06 PM What about trademarks...
Synthetic 12-06-2002, 11:25 PM The @Webhost company name, domain name, and logo do not appear to be trademarked.
SoftWareRevue 12-06-2002, 11:39 PM Traffic.
Steven.C 12-06-2002, 11:42 PM What do you mean "Traffic."?
SoftWareRevue 12-07-2002, 12:06 AM It was a response to a previously edited post that asked what they were stealing.
But then, if atwebhost had no intentions of registering the .net, it's not actually "stealing." But, IMO, this is the same intent.
Andrew 12-07-2002, 12:06 AM mmm...Catherine Zeta Jones *drool*
(best thing about the movie Traffic)
Originally posted by lightnin
mmm...Catherine Zeta Jones *drool*
(best thing about the movie Traffic)
:D :D
Aussie Bob 12-07-2002, 03:13 AM Pretty much if anyone chases the .net for another site, then they're just looking for some spillage from the .com. However, .net traffic usually spills up to the .com anyways. No use trying to brand a .net if someone else has the .com. It makes it harder, IMO. :)
Chicken 12-07-2002, 12:41 PM see: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=94466
|