Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : siteautobackup details?


techjr
04-16-2010, 08:01 PM
I have looked at http://www.siteautobackup.com/ to backup a couple gigs of files and at the top it says a hostgator company. According to hostgator they are no affiliated with them. Does anyone know if they use hostgators dedicated servers or is it just a marketing tactic?

They did not have a live chat button so thought I would post here. My email is getting hammered with spam since my hosts spam protection as suddenly stopped working.

Atlas Global
04-16-2010, 08:12 PM
Do whois and a trace route and you'll see that they are hosted at Hostgator.

Registrant:
SiteAutoBackup.Com
Tanzil, Jimmy
11251 Northwest Freeway
Houston, TX 77092
US

siteautobackup@hostgator.com

traced to the planet which is where gator is..
dc.a1.374a.static.theplanet.com

techjr
04-16-2010, 08:18 PM
Do whois and a trace route and you'll see that they are hosted at Hostgator.

Registrant:
SiteAutoBackup.Com
Tanzil, Jimmy
11251 Northwest Freeway
Houston, TX 77092
US

siteautobackup@hostgator.com

traced to the planet which is where gator is..
dc.a1.374a.static.theplanet.com
Ok thanks, Does this actually make them a hostgator company or just a play on words?


Still looking around for reviews but since they seem to be new I will most likely not find any. Guess I will have to sign up and post my experiences later. It will only cost a couple dollars so there is not much to lose.

Atlas Global
04-16-2010, 08:39 PM
I think they are more of a hostgator customer... but i could be wrong.

techjr
04-16-2010, 08:42 PM
I think they are more of a hostgator customer... but i could be wrong.

Thanks... If all goes well I will try to get a review up when I can.

Cape Dave
04-16-2010, 10:33 PM
I have signed up for this but cannot connect to my server. They say it may be a firewall issue I have not had time to check yet.

I called Hostgator and they said some sort f gobbledygook but the general idea was they are a real company. But I am still not sure they are an OFFICIAL Hostgator company. And if not, that would kind of pi^^ me off.

techjr
04-16-2010, 10:35 PM
I have signed up for this but cannot connect to my server. They say it may be a firewall issue I have not had time to check yet.

I called Hostgator and they said some sort f gobbledygook but the general idea was they are a real company. But I am still not sure they are an OFFICIAL Hostgator company. And if not, that would kind of pi^^ me off.

I contacted hostgator already and they said they where not a part of hostgators company.. but they do use there servers. Still trying to sign up its worth a try.

energizedit
04-16-2010, 10:53 PM
Interesting then they shouldn't have this in their footer " Present SiteAutoBackup.Com, a service of HostGator.Com LLC & Ichthys Media LLC." It is a little misleading.

Cape Dave
04-16-2010, 11:01 PM
I guess my company is a Rackspace company by those standards :)

Pretty sleazy if you ask me. Hosted at Hostgator would be more, um, truthful.

techjr
04-16-2010, 11:06 PM
Interesting then they shouldn't have this in their footer " Present SiteAutoBackup.Com, a service of HostGator.Com LLC & Ichthys Media LLC." It is a little misleading.

Isn't that illegal if hostgator wanted to do something about it?

agustan
04-17-2010, 11:42 AM
Isn't that illegal if hostgator wanted to do something about it?

I think you can see the clarification statement for that on this another thread:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=935255&highlight=siteautobackup&page=2

It was stated by the hostgator.com owner :)
Note: cPanelautobackup.com changed its name to SiteAutoBackup.com

techjr
04-17-2010, 11:49 AM
I think you can see the clarification statement for that on this another thread:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=935255&highlight=siteautobackup&page=2

It was stated by the hostgator.com owner :)
Note: cPanelautobackup.com changed its name to SiteAutoBackup.com

Oh ok thanks, The staff told me that they where not apart of your site in anyway but according to host gators post they have yet to tell there staff :)

Good to know and I will still be signing up. Maybe a moderator could delete this thread or delete the negatives in it now that this is cleared up?

HostXNow
04-17-2010, 12:34 PM
99$ for 100GB ?

Wouldn't it be cheaper to just use BQBackup.com or RsyncPalace.com ?

techjr
04-17-2010, 01:30 PM
99$ for 100GB ?

Wouldn't it be cheaper to just use BQBackup.com or RsyncPalace.com ?

If they provide fast support and great service I would be willing to pay a premium for it, Untill hostgators staff gets aware of the company which is odd that they have not yet then who knows if the pricing will be the same. I myself do not use 100gb of space on a single website so I would not even be paying 99 dollars.