AQHost
12-02-2002, 07:17 PM
I would like to preface this post by saying that I very much regret having to write it. Those who know me are aware that I am not prone to complaining, and particularly not in a public forum. However in the interests of saving other people from going through the same thing as me, here goes:
On 21st November 2002 I signed up for the then newly launched NerdGrab service which at the time was at nerdgrab.nerdname.com The service promised to attempt to grab dropping names on your behalf and was launched by a fellow WHT member.
I was initially a little disturbed to find that the site used a shared SSL certificate, however as a newly launched service I was prepared to give the benefit of the doubt. The order went through ok, but I was horrified to find that the emailed order confirmation contained my name, address, credit card number and expiry date in full!! I went back to check the order form and realised that it actually POSTed to a plain http URL. More fool me for not checking, but still - that doesn't excuse emailing credit card details.
One of the welcome emails that I received claimed a success rate of 99.8% for this service. They failed to grab the name that I ordered, however I was pretty much expecting that as it was a very competitive drop (pyd.com). I am also aware of another high profile name that they failed to grab (ad.net) so for them to claim 99.8% success they must have grabbed at least 998 names successfully. Despite several challenges on the DNForum site the owners have never once posted a name that they've actually grabbed successfully.
Today the story got even better though. I was doing my accounts this morning and realised that there was a $60 discrepancy between the running balance in my books and the balance showing in my bank account. I called my bank to check and there were a number of authorizations outstanding for $12.00 with the merchant showing as "DOMAIN REGISTRATION, VANCOUVER WA". I did some searching and found out that Dotster's billing appears this way on customers' cards. And guess who's a Dotster reseller? Uh huh. NameNerd/NerdGrab.
I made contact with Erik and Tony at NerdGrab who naturally denied all knowledge of these transactions. I checked with Dotster to see what was going on, and 3 domains had all been registered using my credit card but with the registrant appearing as Erik Stafford. This included, believe it or not, the registration for the name NerdGrab.com on the same day that I placed my order!! Can you believe the nerve of these people? Using a customer's credit card details to register their own business domain????
I'll mention in passing that the TOS displayed on the NerdGrab.com website are ripped directly from the SnapNames.com website with a few bits cut out and a search/replace done with the company name. I guess given everything outlined above that this is no big surprise. I've let SnapNames know anyway though and I believe their legal dept are looking into it.
Because of this affair I have had to cancel my credit card, and will therefore have to go through the attendant frustrations including notifying suppliers, amending details for recurring payments etc etc. Dotster have been very good and are reversing all the charges, and I'm in the process of filing a report with the Sacramento, CA police dept. Is it even worth mentioning that the address contained in the registrant records for NerdGrab.com and NameNerd.com doesn't exist according to MapQuest and Yahoo Maps? Probably not.
Anyway, I hope that anyone considering doing business with these people will take everything I've written into account before doing so. Although it looks like you won't get chance anyway, their sites are mysteriously down ;)
I would also strongly urge anyone who has done business with NameNerd or NerdGrab to get a copy of their credit card statement ASAP and verify every transaction. If they did it to me, they probably did it to others too.
[EDIT: Final paragraph removed as I let my temper get the better of me in a rather undesirable manner]
Simon.
On 21st November 2002 I signed up for the then newly launched NerdGrab service which at the time was at nerdgrab.nerdname.com The service promised to attempt to grab dropping names on your behalf and was launched by a fellow WHT member.
I was initially a little disturbed to find that the site used a shared SSL certificate, however as a newly launched service I was prepared to give the benefit of the doubt. The order went through ok, but I was horrified to find that the emailed order confirmation contained my name, address, credit card number and expiry date in full!! I went back to check the order form and realised that it actually POSTed to a plain http URL. More fool me for not checking, but still - that doesn't excuse emailing credit card details.
One of the welcome emails that I received claimed a success rate of 99.8% for this service. They failed to grab the name that I ordered, however I was pretty much expecting that as it was a very competitive drop (pyd.com). I am also aware of another high profile name that they failed to grab (ad.net) so for them to claim 99.8% success they must have grabbed at least 998 names successfully. Despite several challenges on the DNForum site the owners have never once posted a name that they've actually grabbed successfully.
Today the story got even better though. I was doing my accounts this morning and realised that there was a $60 discrepancy between the running balance in my books and the balance showing in my bank account. I called my bank to check and there were a number of authorizations outstanding for $12.00 with the merchant showing as "DOMAIN REGISTRATION, VANCOUVER WA". I did some searching and found out that Dotster's billing appears this way on customers' cards. And guess who's a Dotster reseller? Uh huh. NameNerd/NerdGrab.
I made contact with Erik and Tony at NerdGrab who naturally denied all knowledge of these transactions. I checked with Dotster to see what was going on, and 3 domains had all been registered using my credit card but with the registrant appearing as Erik Stafford. This included, believe it or not, the registration for the name NerdGrab.com on the same day that I placed my order!! Can you believe the nerve of these people? Using a customer's credit card details to register their own business domain????
I'll mention in passing that the TOS displayed on the NerdGrab.com website are ripped directly from the SnapNames.com website with a few bits cut out and a search/replace done with the company name. I guess given everything outlined above that this is no big surprise. I've let SnapNames know anyway though and I believe their legal dept are looking into it.
Because of this affair I have had to cancel my credit card, and will therefore have to go through the attendant frustrations including notifying suppliers, amending details for recurring payments etc etc. Dotster have been very good and are reversing all the charges, and I'm in the process of filing a report with the Sacramento, CA police dept. Is it even worth mentioning that the address contained in the registrant records for NerdGrab.com and NameNerd.com doesn't exist according to MapQuest and Yahoo Maps? Probably not.
Anyway, I hope that anyone considering doing business with these people will take everything I've written into account before doing so. Although it looks like you won't get chance anyway, their sites are mysteriously down ;)
I would also strongly urge anyone who has done business with NameNerd or NerdGrab to get a copy of their credit card statement ASAP and verify every transaction. If they did it to me, they probably did it to others too.
[EDIT: Final paragraph removed as I let my temper get the better of me in a rather undesirable manner]
Simon.
