Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Need Help Finding host


StarfoxZL
03-26-2000, 11:31 PM
Hey all
Just wondering, can any of you help me with hosting packages? This is what I need (UNIX prefereably)

More than 250 megs of space
Multiple FTP, POP3, Mailing Lists, Forwarders etc..
CGI, SSI support
Site statistics

This is what I prefer:
Subdomains for little or no extra charge
Web Control Panel
Decent tech support
Cuztomisable 404
Password protected directories

I'd like something around the $20 a month ...or around $250 annually

anyone got any suggestions? I'm thinking of getting an account with communitech through a reseller...r they any good? And any comments about www.iwpp.com (http://www.iwpp.com) ? Anyone heard of www.pcisd.com (http://www.pcisd.com) ? The latter offer a 30 day trial BEFORE payment...



------------------
http://zeldalegends.********

PCISD
03-27-2000, 04:54 AM
http://www.pcisd.com/cgi-bin/Ultraboard/UltraBoard.pl

Allot of information about our company can be found here. If you need any help just ask.

LA
03-27-2000, 05:06 AM
PCISD over charged my credit card for an account that I cancelled and now ignores my e-mails. This has happened to other people too, they are just not paying the overcharged money they owe.

Read my previous posts for more on them.

StarfoxZL
03-27-2000, 09:29 AM
Well, are there servers fast and reliable? I'm gonna be paying by check,,,so it doesn't matter to me about credit cards

LA
03-28-2000, 12:38 AM
The reason I left was because of downtime, sluggish responses and they do not backup anything. When the server crashes, you are left in the dark.

PCISD
03-28-2000, 03:00 AM
You can go here http://www.pcisd.com/cgi-bin/Ultraboard/UltraBoard.pl to see our downtime (less than 1% I think)Some of it being server crashes.

You can also go here to read up on our backup system for major issues (problems)

Not sure what sluggish means but our response time is above average.

VeoWeb
03-30-2000, 10:04 PM
Hi,

Please check us out: http://www.veoweb.net

Thanks!

Satisfied Client
03-31-2000, 12:53 AM
Try Virtual-Cities.net (http://www.Virtual-Cities.net) I am hosted with them and their service is great, I am also planning to get hosted at LinuxWebHost.com (http://www.linuxwebhost.com) but they don't provide much tech support as I have heard I don't need much support anyway.

bobbydigital
04-01-2000, 03:31 AM
Hey visit http://www.canaca.com. I am sure you will not regret it. They are only 22.95/mth with no setup fees and they offer all the features you want. 350mb space, unlimited data, etc. etc.

:) let me know what you think

Guest
04-02-2000, 01:29 AM
Careful of canaca.com for a couple of reasons:
They are resellers for communitech.net (check their IP address--it's owned by communitech.net). They also offer plans that are identical to the communitech.net reseller plans. This could be a major problem because if you buy from them and then they allow you to resell under their resellers agreement, and then they either leave communitech.net or do something that gets them kicked off, you lose not only your account but all accounts you have resold (because canaca had resold them to you and they have to keep their account open in order for your account to remain open). They also post numerous questions in communitech's support forums (including one complaining about communitech's name being in the header of an email that went to their clients):
QUOTE:
Any E-mail that was sent to me at canaca.com came with this information with it, at the end of the page.
From sandrolina@sympatico.ca Mon May 31 01:22:10 1999
Return-Path: <sandrolina@sympatico.ca>
Received: from smtp11.bellglobal.com ([204.101.251.53]) by mars.communitech.net ; Mon, 31 May 1999 01:22:10 -600
Received: from sandro.bellglobal.com (HSE-TOR-ppp35061.sympatico.ca [209.226.131.160])
by smtp11.bellglobal.com (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id CAA13945
for <canaca@canaca.com>; Mon, 31 May 1999 02:24:51 -0400 (EDT)
Message-Id: <4.1.19990531022337.0093a1e0>
X-Sender: b1pjfo06@pop1.sympatico.ca
X-Mailer: QUALCOMM Windows Eudora Pro Version 4.1
Date: Mon, 31 May 1999 02:23:49 -0700
To: canaca@canaca.com
From: sandrolina <sandrolina@sympatico.ca>
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

I also would think that our clients got the same thing.


[This message has been edited by canaca (edited May 31, 1999).]
END QUOTE

What troubles me most about canaca.com is that they also operate under the domain name nortel.to. Nortel is a large communications corporation that will probably not take kindly to some reseller of web hosting using their good name and reputation to resell hosting while pretending that they are the actual owners of the servers. When the real Nortel come down on canaca.com's nortel.to shell, well...I'd hate to be depending on them to be reselling services to me so that I kind resell them to some poor slob who doesn't know enough to thoroughly check out their host...
Just my 2 cents.