Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Design Rip by this1host.com


MattS
02-16-2010, 10:41 PM
Infringing site: this1host.com
Original design: hostmist.com (was designed by Payton Designs)

3 DMCA notices and the site returns back up within a day each time. It seems this host is a famous warez hosting company over on WJunction (according to a google search).

Ok so here's what I'm dealing with:

The owner lives in the UK and yes I have his WHOIS information in the DMCA notices prior to him turning his private WHOIS information on.

I also realize that Worldstream.nl is in the Netherlands so that may complicate things.

I live in the US so what sort of steps must I pursue for they have violated the DMCA?

semoweb
02-16-2010, 10:46 PM
Ah not other one!!!!!!!!!!

How did you find out? Was he/she hot linking? LOL

This has become more and more famous site ripper's *nods head*

Or did they leave the live chat source? LOL!

MattS
02-16-2010, 10:58 PM
This one was actually a very good rip. Somebody tipped me off that they ripped my design and I thank that person for telling me.

This has to be one of the most difficult cases I will ever deal with.

semoweb
02-16-2010, 11:05 PM
This one was actually a very good rip. Somebody tipped me off that they ripped my design and I thank that person for telling me.

This has to be one of the most difficult cases I will ever deal with.

Well keep us updated on what happend's.

UnderHost
02-17-2010, 12:35 AM
Contact BREIN (http://www.anti-piracy.nl/english/english.asp) it may help you in this case.

MattS
02-17-2010, 01:28 AM
Contact BREIN (http://www.anti-piracy.nl/english/english.asp) it may help you in this case.

Thanks for that, although I'm a bit horrible with google's translate, but the data provider would that be the ISP or the guy who ripped my site's design?

Disrelation
02-17-2010, 01:51 AM
It seems they love to rip off clients of Payton Designs. Haha.
Maybe try contacting the datacenter?

Payton Designs
02-17-2010, 01:59 AM
It seems they love to rip off clients of Payton Designs. Haha.
Maybe try contacting the datacenter?

Maybe I should start creating ugly looking designs... :stickout:

MattS
02-17-2010, 02:06 AM
It seems they love to rip off clients of Payton Designs. Haha.
Maybe try contacting the datacenter?

4 times I've contacted Worldstream.nl and each time it gets removed and just goes back up the next day after it's removed.

UnderHost
02-17-2010, 02:07 AM
Thanks for that, although I'm a bit horrible with google's translate, but the data provider would that be the ISP or the guy who ripped my site's design?

WorldStream will agree to shutdown the site with Brein notice, You can also only contact WS and let them know your desing are still hosted under server IP: 217.23.8.** and they need to be sure this won't happen again next week.

Disrelation
02-17-2010, 02:08 AM
Maybe I should start creating ugly looking designs... :stickout:

Hahahahah, I'm afraid so. xD

4 times I've contacted Worldstream.nl and each time it gets removed and just goes back up the next day after it's removed.

Bring this up to the providers attention and just continue to send them DMCA notices.

MattS
02-17-2010, 02:11 AM
Hahahahah, I'm afraid so. xD



Bring this up to the providers attention and just continue to send them DMCA notices.

Yeah sent them yet another DMCA notice. They're usually quick about it surprisingly, maybe this time they'll take it down server and all.

Edit: and I did a WHOIS on his other domain this1style.com, and get this different name:

Registrant:
reece charrts
39 victoria st
gillingham, kent me71ew
United Kingdom

Administrative Contact:
reece charrts
39 victoria st
gillingham, kent me71ew
United Kingdom
http://source.domaintools.com/email.pgif?md5=3acda1c7f1fbbe0bbaad29aa6839cab7&face=arial&size=9&color=000000&bgcolor=FFFFFF&face=arial&size=9&color=0000FF&bgcolor=FFFFFF&format[]=underline&format[]=transparent&format[]=transparent (http://www.domaintools.com/registrant-search/?email=3acda1c7f1fbbe0bbaad29aa6839cab7)
+016 3477658

vs:

Registrant:
Riley E. Wong
74 Middlewich Road
Gillingham, kent me7 1cw
United Kingdom

Administrative Contact:
Riley E. Wong
74 Middlewich Road
Gillingham, kent me7 1cw
United Kingdom

+079 3055 8073

hmm do I sense a false Whois information?

PPOwens
02-17-2010, 03:18 AM
You can 100% see there the same, why even try?

Tweevo
02-17-2010, 10:56 AM
It's sad to see that supposed "companies" do this sort of thing. How on earth can a company ever be reputable if they can't even manage not ripping the brand image.

Very frustrating from a design PoV

FrankLaszlo
02-17-2010, 12:02 PM
Sad to see this happen. Thats a great design by the way! (bookmarking the designers site)