Lana Galileo
02-10-2010, 03:35 PM
Be careful when you register domains because if you register trademark, like microsoft, windows, google... you can get in trouble and loose your domain.
I just write about [URL removed] latest lost domains and nowadays Geo domains are not safe too. Hayward.com is a name of city in California and domain was lost to Hayward Industries.
If you have any questions ask me i will gladly answer.
P.S. i own trademark domain, do you own any?
Techno
02-10-2010, 05:39 PM
WIPO decision:
http://www.wipo.int/amc/en/domains/decisions/html/2009/d2009-1493.html
Hayward Industries has a trademark on "Hayward" for pools and pool accessories. While Hayward is also the name of a town - the respondent was using the site and generating revenues on pool and pool accessory pay-per-clicks.
I found this interesting:
Finally, the Panel finds it informative – though not decisive – that, according to documents in the record, Respondent purchased the domain name <hayward.com> for USD$20,000 and was attempting to sell it for at least USD$100,000. These figures would seem to indicate that Respondent saw some value in this domain name for reasons other than its existence as the name of the city of Hayward, California – with a population of only about 150,000 people – and for purposes other than as a PPC parking page (which, in the normal course, would not be expected to earn a return to justify such a rich investment).
Dave Zan
02-10-2010, 09:08 PM
More comments on this:
http://domainnamewire.com/2010/02/09/wipo-hands-city-geo-domain-name-to-pool-company/
Especially from three lawyers.
Lana Galileo
02-11-2010, 10:04 AM
Sorry for linking to news report about latest WIPO take downs.... didnt know is illegal.
Anyway, this story is really weird, because town wanted 100 000$ and now they got nothing...
How can some company take someones name and use it as a trademark.
I bet town name was there before that company.
mgratton
02-12-2010, 01:13 AM
Seems like a pretty standard and correct decision under trademark law.
From archive.org, the site had numerous links to pool equipment supplies, so that shows they were trying to capitalize on the pool trademark. Then, the offer to sell the domain name didn't help.
Had they never placed the pool links on the site, then this case would have probably gone differently.