Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Spam from HostComplex.com


ljprevo
11-27-2002, 08:15 PM
Well I got spam from hostcomplex.com

Usually when I get a new spam from a host I take a quick look that the host's site and move on, but this time I was curious about something.

But this time I go to their site and see a big BBBOnline Reliability Seal.

So I click it. It looks legit, but I click my F11 key to expand the browser and see that the credentials are hosted on their own site.

http://www.hostcomplex.com/bbb/cks.asp-id=10201041215120979.htm

Most credentials are hosted on the BBB site itself, like take Dialtone for example.

http://www.bbbonline.org/cks.asp?id=100103113394412822

I then headed to the BBB site to search for "Host Complex" guess what NO LISTING.

http://www.bbbonline.org/consumer/

I tried both hostcomplex and host complex.

You know, I am not against competition, but I am against unethical competition, esp. when the customer is lied to.

I started hosting about 3 years ago when that whole PageCreators.net scam started and ever since then I always get burned about host that outright lie and cheat unsuspecting customers to get their business.

Only reason this host drew me to them is because they spammed me.

Should I let the BBB know what I found? I know they don't take it lightly to sites that use their seal illegally.

To every other host that do things legit, my hats off to you keep up the good work.

I am the type of person who really could care less what host a customer goes with as long as that host does not lie and cheat to get their business.

Sorry if mods feel this should be deleted, please do so, just reporting what I see.

Chicken
11-27-2002, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by ljprevo
Should I let the BBB know what I found? I know they don't take it lightly to sites that use their seal illegally.
Yes. The number they list is:

http://www.hostcomplex.com/bbb/cks.asp-id=10201041215120979.htm
which is:
http://www.bbbonline.org/cks.asp?id=10201041215120979
They even put up: http://www.hostcomplex.com/bbb/cks.asp-id=10201041215120979.htm

Subtly changed and left out a few parts.
http://www.hostcomplex.com/bbb/reliability/requirement_small.asp-ID=10201041215120979.htm#note
http://www.bbbonline.org/reliability/requirement_small.asp?ID=10201041215120979

This is just flat out fraudulent, and the BBB should be notified of the practice. This tells you a great deal about the company though, doesn't it?

ljprevo
11-27-2002, 09:10 PM
Thanks Chicken, already filed a complaint.

ljprevo
11-27-2002, 09:32 PM
Wow Chicken just seen your edit there. Looks like you found more evidence.

This is just to sad. They are hosted at Rackshack BTW, sent a email off to their abuse department as well.

Chicken
11-27-2002, 09:59 PM
Yeah, notice how they 'accidentally' left off the following off the bottom of the real bbb page:

This BBBOnLine Reliability seal, and the commitments that this seal signifies, pertain only to UrbanPier/MyBizWeb. The seal does not pertain to any organizations that may be listed, featured or advertised on this website.

To confirm legitimate participation in BBBOnLine's Reliability Program check the location box. If http://www.bbbonline.org does not appear in the location box, click on the location box and scroll to the left.

ljprevo
12-10-2002, 12:11 PM
Just wanted to follow up that the BBB contacted this host and made them take the BBB logo off.

flitcher
12-10-2002, 12:31 PM
I still see the logo. :confused:

ljprevo
12-10-2002, 12:42 PM
I see that, on the internal pages, but the logo is gone on the main page at http://hostcomplex.com

RDX1
12-10-2002, 01:05 PM
I just saw this thread and was looking for the logo but i dont see anything..

Then i read down, i made my vote before i read anything :)