Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : www.hoststock.com - Sounds like cyberwings...


Cogs
11-25-2002, 04:03 PM
I was searching for a host one day and found this: www.hoststock.com.

Cheaper than godaddy domains and dirt cheap hosting, I wouldn't want to pass this up but sounds kinda suspicious...

BisonSt
11-25-2002, 04:33 PM
Looking at those prices I would run away from this company QUICKLY.

Gordo
11-25-2002, 04:37 PM
Thanks Cogs for the link. I'm going to put it at the top of my cheapest webhost list. I don't actually use them, but if I ever end up with excess domain names, I might just for fun.

I had found a $1.80/yr plan, but it was only 5M with 100M bw.
Cyberwings had one for a $1 as I recall, but that was only about 3 days before the end.

jon8457102
11-25-2002, 04:45 PM
This HOSTSTOCK.COM company, looks like it has good price plans.

I am not in a able enough position to say whether i think it is a con or not mainly because i haven't ever subscribed with them.

Although their prices look too damn cheap to be true, you can never be sure, for all you guys know it may be a subsidary or a large company or the other extreme, a massive con.

Not sure really what else to say on this matter.

RSVP

jon8457102
11-25-2002, 04:49 PM
By the way, the prices for domains to be cheaper than GODADDY are possible, just they wuold probably be making somewhere near $0 Profit after domain fee's etc.

Also after clsoely looking (i may still be wrong) the plans which are very cheap per year, don't actuallysay anywhere that the bandwidth allocated is per month, so basically if it says 1000MB Bandwidth, that could be your limit for the entire year.

RSVP

Cogs
11-25-2002, 08:16 PM
Has any one been hosted with these guys before?

PixelOptik
11-25-2002, 08:19 PM
unlimited package: offers unlimited web space/bandwith?

surrrreee:D

adam
11-25-2002, 09:09 PM
LOL, I havent even looked at the prices yet, but seeming as how long there site is taking to load, I wouldnt use them..

adam
11-25-2002, 09:10 PM
Unlimited bandwidth?

I think this face says it all.. :sickface:

Carboran
11-25-2002, 09:14 PM
Well, I don't know whether it is Opera, but their site is full of errors and they handle their support via a form. The only e-mail I copuld find is Sales@ Pretty pathetic if you ask me

Gordo
11-25-2002, 10:00 PM
Originally posted by PixelOptik
unlimited package: offers unlimited web space/bandwith?

surrrreee:D

Yes, but that's only on their high priced plan, $29.95/yr.

adam
11-25-2002, 10:04 PM
Thats high priced? lol..

clockwork
11-25-2002, 10:24 PM
From their AUP:

software including freeware, shareware and trial software is forbidden. Audio and video downloads may only be hosted if you are the creator and copyright owner of the work.

Anyone have some home videos and have $30 to waste? ;)

clockwork
11-25-2002, 10:28 PM
Looks like their provider offers unmetered servers...

http://www.netmar.com/servers/dedicated.shtml

PixelOptik
11-25-2002, 10:39 PM
lol @ high priced plan, I can think of other ways to waste $30! :D

Netbridge
11-26-2002, 12:25 AM
That is thier ANNUAL PRICES !!!

Price USD annually 2GB per month for $1.99 a year

Here today.........:scatter:


But then again nothing beats this one.

http://svr15.edns1.com/~abkdj15/

Carboran
11-26-2002, 04:25 AM
But then again nothing beats this one.

http://svr15.edns1.com/~abkdj15/ [/B]

Hmm, I see nothing ridiculous about this plan: 100megs of web space, NO ADs, 2 Gigs of Data Transfer, 10 Email Accounts, FTP and Web Based(Cpanel5) file manger, SpamAssasin Software and Front Page Extensions.* All this for only $5.99 a month.

It is true that their site is the worst I have seen in a long time and that they have the dumbest domain ever, it is also true that the only support they offer is via e-mail, but otherwise nothing weird about the plan. DON'T GO WITH THEM, THOUGH :stickout:

NoahH
11-26-2002, 09:05 AM
They use an Elated template (www.elated.com). They heavily modified it. Elated does good work.

Gordo
11-26-2002, 01:16 PM
That Host Reliable site has a feature called "huge bandwidth".

Few people will need unlimited bw, but huge, there's a market for that!

dsotmoon
11-26-2002, 08:38 PM
Originally posted by Cogs
I was searching for a host one day and found this: www.hoststock.com.

I wouldn't want to pass this up but sounds kinda suspicious...

I have always been a little leary of hosts that have a guestbook, a forum yes, a guestbook just seems so geocities :D not knocking guestbooks, their great for personal sites

dsotmoon
11-26-2002, 08:41 PM
Originally posted by Netbridge
But then again nothing beats this one.

http://svr15.edns1.com/~abkdj15/

That looks like the server address for ehostpros.com which is probably racked at dv2 so the actual hosting probably is pretty reliable

Jeffreyw
11-27-2002, 10:30 AM
The owner probably had an idea of offering free hosting, then finally decided to make money from his hosting business.

sqposter
11-27-2002, 04:47 PM
I smell a cyberw i n g s or another type stuff. well, you end up shafted one way or another

clocker1996
11-27-2002, 04:57 PM
hoststock.com will make a great example for my paper on web hosting and its overly saturated market :)

refcom
11-27-2002, 05:46 PM
clocker count me in on that paper - I've been putting off and putting off a review of the market in its entirety on my own as well... Any good examples I find never last - maybe its flawed logic on my part :)

Anyway:

hoststock.com and idealhost.org resolve to the same IP address, owned by NETMAR. NETMAR has its own ASN and I can't seen anymore than three class C blocks of IPs (so about ~ 750 total.) The email addresses in the whois for these domains is cheapmemory@hotmail.com... heh... so the cheap memory plot didn't work - maybe cheap hosting will? I'm a cynic, I've spent too much time in the industry, so forgive me if by some fluke the website is even still there in three months.

Neo3Net
12-29-2002, 01:53 AM
Idealhost.org seems to be this company's anonymous NameServers (Web-Xperts.com). They don't offer Cpanel reseller accounts, but if you look into the KBase they do mention having cpanel resellers so maybe its on request. But look at the Plesk Plans.....150GB and 150GB Thats insane. Looks like someone is overselling...:):):D:rolleyes:

wd5gnr
12-29-2002, 12:37 PM
At least Cyberwings had real contact info in their domain registration. And they were still either a scam or run into the ground. These guys have some bogus NY address in their registration record.