Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Detroitnetworks.com


gotwind
11-25-2002, 06:46 AM
Just want to let everyone know about this company. I just got my server from them a few days ago. They have great pricing, very good network (200 mbps Verio and 100mbps Level3) and very nice support. Their price starts at

Celeron 1.7 (400 Mhz core)
512 Megs of PC133
60 Gig 7200 RPM Drive
300 Gigs of Verio B/w (Level3 backup)
5 IP Addresses
$99 per month (promotional code whtnov20cel)
and
$135 per month with CPANEL

Support is very helpful and responsive. I'm very satisfy with service, network and support so far. I will keep everyone updated on this company service.

Oh, before I forget. The company URL is www.detroitnetworks.com

silversurfer
11-25-2002, 08:57 AM
how about posting some send/gets speeds :D

Darth
11-25-2002, 09:19 AM
Did they raise there prices?

gotwind
11-25-2002, 02:18 PM
wget http://www.vnncom.com/Mandrake90-cd1-inst.i586.iso
--17:15:40-- http://www.vnncom.com/Mandrake90-cd1-inst.i586.iso
=> `Mandrake90-cd1-inst.i586.iso.1'
Resolving www.vnncom.com... done.
Connecting to www.vnncom.com... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 728,334,336 [text/plain]

100%[========================================================================================>] 728,334,336 1.53M/s ETA 00:00

17:23:14 (1.53 MB/s) - `Mandrake90-cd1-inst.i586.iso.1' saved [728334336/728334336]

gotwind
11-25-2002, 02:20 PM
you need to use the promotional code I posted earlier or email sales@detroitnetworks.com. They sure will give you great pricing. Good luck:)

x86brandon
11-25-2002, 03:35 PM
Actually sales@detroitnetworks.com ;)

silversurfer
11-25-2002, 03:38 PM
/me quickly buys detroitnetwork.com and hijack sales.. :D
j/k

Angel78
11-25-2002, 04:51 PM
anyone having strange issues with their https:// ?

Tazzman
11-25-2002, 05:26 PM
I'm sure the gotwind has the best of intentions here, but am I the only one that feels this is coming over as a sales pitch? Maybe there should be some rule about posting pricing, promotional codes and sales email addresses in a non-advertising forum...

gotwind
11-25-2002, 08:07 PM
hello,

I posted the price and the promotional code because the price on their website was slightly different (higher). Just want everyone to get a good deal from them.

WebmastTroy
11-26-2002, 07:05 AM
Originally posted by Tazzman
I'm sure the gotwind has the best of intentions here, but am I the only one that feels this is coming over as a sales pitch? Maybe there should be some rule about posting pricing, promotional codes and sales email addresses in a non-advertising forum...

I guess he's been here long enough to realize what questions and things people are going to point out (ie higher prices on their website than what was given in the testimonial). :rolleyes:

I must agree with his saying that this company is very good. I've got a collection of servers with them and look to add a lot more very soon. :agree:

McRox
11-26-2002, 03:44 PM
Originally posted by gotwind
hello,

I posted the price and the promotional code because the price on their website was slightly different (higher). Just want everyone to get a good deal from them.

Thanks :) Do you have any information about the speed? :)

gotwind
11-26-2002, 10:34 PM
I posted a sample of speed in the previous posts. Check them out.

Their network is Verio (200 mbps) with a Level3 backup line (100 mbps)

In my opinion, their speed rocks. Even faster than my server at RackShack. I got a max of 1.3 MB/s at RS, here I got max up to 2.1 MB/s

silversurfer
11-26-2002, 11:13 PM
theoretically, with a 100mbit uncapped port, you should be able to hit about 12MB/s .. ;) but I guess that's not going to happen anywhere. :D

Evan001
11-27-2002, 12:23 PM
Two Thumbs up for Detroit Networks.

We have referred a number of customers to them and they have been exceptional.

Thanks,

Evan

BiGWill
11-27-2002, 12:48 PM
nice to hear :)