Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : **********.com -- vBulletin?


Comm1Biz.net
11-24-2002, 01:39 AM
Apparently someone had recieved spam from a **********.com forums that run vBulletin 2.2.6.

Apparently the owner of **********.com went through the member list.

My question is at what date did those who have a username beginning with "A" on WHT recieved an email from **********.com forums?

My conclusion is that **********.com is not a real vBulletin board. :angry:

Akash
11-24-2002, 01:39 AM
you must be talking about **********?


it appears they randomly selected usernames from various webhosting forums

ChickenSteak
11-24-2002, 01:40 AM
Indeed he is talking about: ********** :D.

Andrew
11-24-2002, 01:41 AM
************???? oh, man...yeah, their ******* is *******

Comm1Biz.net
11-24-2002, 01:41 AM
I'm thinking that since vBulletin has only the latest version of vBulletin in the Members Area then ********** runs a fake vBulletin.

Akash
11-24-2002, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by Comm1Biz.net
I'm thinking that since vBulletin has only the latest version of vBulletin in the Members Area then ********** runs a fake vBulletin.

posting it here won't do any good

i think piracy@vbulletin.com is the address, or maybe it's piracy@jelsoft.com? If you go to vbulletin.com you'll find the address there somewhere, and you should let them know.

Andrew
11-24-2002, 01:46 AM
mail the nuke pirates guy :D

Comm1Biz.net
11-24-2002, 01:48 AM
Ok.. well thanks :)

Error
11-24-2002, 03:01 AM
Whos is **********.com ???? :rolleyes: :D

Akash
11-24-2002, 03:06 AM
walkie talkies minus walkie plus web :D

PM me you don't get it.

coight
11-24-2002, 03:10 AM
They are using an illegal copy? Great, finally after that thread I can do something.

Error
11-24-2002, 03:21 AM
Akash,

Thanks..... got it.;) :)

Akash
11-24-2002, 03:30 AM
Originally posted by Error
Akash,

Thanks..... got it.;) :)

np..I just realized that it's probably *'d in the PM i sent you also...

ryza
11-24-2002, 04:48 AM
*********what-the.com?

Chicken
11-24-2002, 02:19 PM
Originally posted by Comm1Biz.net
I'm thinking that since vBulletin has only the latest version of vBulletin in the Members Area then ********** runs a fake vBulletin.
COuld have owned it before, eh? Consider the possibilities.

Originally posted by Myacen
They are using an illegal copy? Great, finally after that thread I can do something.
No one said so. An old version number in itself doesn't prove anything. Contact vbull, let them worry about it.

Rochen
11-24-2002, 02:23 PM
Piracy address for vBulletin is piracy@vBulletin.com. You can either email them there or submit a support ticket via the members section, if you have a vB license yourself. They will then cross check it in their database for valid licenses. They won’t however tell you if the copy running is an illegal one or not. Let them deal with it, it's their job :)

Tazzman
11-24-2002, 04:36 PM
I reported a site that was offering hacked Vb for download a few months back. Got a nice thank you email from Vbulletin. It gave me a feeling I was appreciated for a change :)

Alex[nl]
11-25-2002, 07:08 AM
Just a question from me, do you guys also see reporting people to Microsoft / Adobe etc as your daily job? I totally agree running vB illegally is not good at all, but don't you think sending them e-mails is someone else's (nukepirates f.e.) job?

You just seem to do it to get that "**'d" forum out of the air, which will be given 10 days to pay Jelsoft, if they will they remain up (licenced) .. what's next? Calling their host to say they spam? I am totally aware recieving spam sucks, I dislike it as much as you guys do. However having Jelsoft investigate their licence because of that seems a few steps too far imho ..

Btw regardless of what you think I am NOT affiliated with them, nor a member or even visit them, didn't do business with them, etc etc .. (all the stuff people metnion to get posts offtopic) ... Just an opinion here.

Missingarrow
11-25-2002, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by Alex[nl]
I totally agree running vB illegally is not good at all, but don't you think sending them e-mails is someone else's (nukepirates f.e.) job? I pay money to use vB... Why should they get to run it for free???

Although I do agree it sounds like some have alternative reasons for causing trouble, oh well...

keep it real,
dan

coight
11-25-2002, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by Missingarrow
I pay money to use vB... Why should they get to run it for free???

Although I do agree it sounds like some have alternative reasons for causing trouble, oh well...

keep it real,
dan

That's exactly right.