View Full Version : Our friend Sarah Williams
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 01:14 AM Hi
I visited WWW.RATEMYHOST.COM, and noticed that you're not listed on some search engines! I think we can offer you a service which can help you increase traffic and the number of visitors to your website.
I would like to introduce you to TrafficMagnet.com. We offer a unique technology that will submit your website to over 300,000 search engines and directories every month.
You'll be surprised by the low cost, and by how effective this website promotion method can be.
To find out more about TrafficMagnet and the cost for submitting your website to over 300,000 search engines and directories, visit www.TrafficMagnet.com.
I would love to hear from you.
Best Regards,
Sarah Williams
Sales and Marketing
E-mail: sarah_williams@trafficmagnet.com
http://www.TrafficMagnet.com
I'm sure everyone receives these, but I receive 1 EVERY day! I'm going crazy getting these emails- have replied a million times to them.
Is there any way to find any information about them? I've actually had emails back and forth saying I would do business if they supply their number, but no luck.
Is it possible to find who their host is? I don't know the first place to start.
Thanks,
Zak
iamdave 11-24-2002, 01:16 AM I get 'em all the time. Report to their host. I got net-submissions terminated by one of their hosts.
IGobyTerry 11-24-2002, 01:17 AM I blocked them by not only her name, email, but also by the text traffic magnet. Horde is actually a pretty nice web-mail client especially when it comes to blocking stuff.
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 01:18 AM Originally posted by iamdave
I get 'em all the time. Report to their host. I got net-submissions terminated by one of their hosts.
Who is their host though? Telstra?
These guys have been going at it for a long time.
http://www.google.com/search?num=100&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=%22sarah+williams%22+%2Btraffic
crazy.. Surely someone is always emailing their host.
IGobyTerry 11-24-2002, 01:30 AM The IP is registered to China Communications based out of Beijing China.
I'm not sure who their upstream provider is though. Goes from Genuity to Sprint to a bunch of IP's, which are all registered to China Communications.
14 330 ms 316 ms 329 ms sl-splkc-1-0.sprintlink.net [144.223.58.82]
15 316 ms 330 ms 329 ms 210.52.148.93
16 330 ms 315 ms 330 ms 210.52.148.50
17 357 ms 343 ms 343 ms 210.82.1.6
18 330 ms 343 ms 399 ms 210.82.1.49
19 329 ms 330 ms 330 ms 210.82.65.1
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 330 ms 329 ms 329 ms 211.157.101.43
serious latency issues too.
Mester 11-24-2002, 01:32 AM I have an address just for sites that i figure will get me spammed. Although I dont like Yahoo Mail anymore, they have great spam filter. With 23 messages in my inbox, only 7 are spams, Yahoo filtered out 108 straight to the spam box so I'm impressed :)
Andrew 11-24-2002, 01:51 AM Sarah Williams...and all the other names...there aren't any swear words strong enough for me to even express how I feel about those ************ especially, since someone associated with them signed up with a reseller of ours and spammed happily for a few hours before we canned them...S C U M
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 04:40 AM Is there anything that can be done even though servers are most-likely in China?
Zak
anon-e-mouse 11-24-2002, 09:28 AM www.spamcop.net :cool:
TechEGlobal 11-24-2002, 10:33 AM We are actually in the middle of a lawsuit with them because of their spamming. I'll keep everyone updated
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 04:58 PM Originally posted by TechEGlobal
We are actually in the middle of a lawsuit with them because of their spamming. I'll keep everyone updated
Hah- Great!
Let me know if there is anything I can do. I have gobs of emails from them.
Zak
markblair 11-24-2002, 05:06 PM I receive their messages too and actually have been receiving more lately. But on one site I have that received them all the time no longer does. That's because I added them to the spam blockers. Once the first site is moved onto the same servers, it will be added there as well.
Originally posted by TechEGlobal
We are actually in the middle of a lawsuit with them because of their spamming. I'll keep everyone updated
Yay, I hope you win! I get so many emails from them a week.
markblair 11-24-2002, 05:22 PM Originally posted by TechEGlobal
We are actually in the middle of a lawsuit with them because of their spamming. I'll keep everyone updated
Wouldn't that qualify as a class action lawsuit since so many people are affected by them? I'm not an expert in law in any way shape or form but they may have to reimburse all affected if found guilty.
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 05:24 PM Originally posted by markblair
Wouldn't that qualify as a class action lawsuit since so many people are affected by them? I'm not an expert in law in any way shape or form but they may have to reimburse all affected if found guilty.
Depends if he wants to make it a class-action.
Zak
This is one of those scumbag outfits that spiders your site for email addresses/links. Since I cross-link all my sites, I get her email at ALL my addresses.
And to make matters worse, I used to have an ex-fiancee named Sarah Williams. One day my wife was in my office and noticed 8 emails in a row from Sarah Williams. She never looked at them to see they were junk mail. So for a whole week she quietly thought I was rekindling an old romance...:rolleyes:
Yes, I'd like to see this Sarah Williams get what's coming to her...
Vito
TechEGlobal 11-24-2002, 06:44 PM Currently our company is the only one in the lawsuit.. But I will make available all information we get so you to can take action..
Sound like a commercial doesn't it..LoL
TechEGlobal 11-24-2002, 06:46 PM Little of what we know..
We hired an investigator do find out who these guys were.. I can tell you a little bit about what we know.
There is NO Sarah Williams
There are 2 males so far involved in this little spam operation..
They also use forwarders here in the U.S. They are not based here. But laws in their country is helping us nail their butts.
Chicken 11-24-2002, 07:42 PM Originally posted by TechEGlobal
Little of what we know..
There is NO Sarah Williams
Screams, "Soylent Green is PEOPLE!" Sorry, it just keeps coming to me, I can't help it. Next you'll tell us, "It's all about OIL!" ;) :D
Ok, I give you some credit. If you were part of a government task force on the situation, you would have spent 2 million dollars and 3 years to reach the same conclusion.
tagalaxy.net 11-24-2002, 10:31 PM I'm going crazy getting these emails- have replied a million times to them.
Theres you're problem.
Dont EVER reply to unsolicited spam. It only makes things worse.
Originally posted by Chicken
Screams, "Soylent Green is PEOPLE!" Sorry, it just keeps coming to me, I can't help it. Next you'll tell us, "It's all about OIL!" ;) :D
Ok, I give you some credit. If you were part of a government task force on the situation, you would have spent 2 million dollars and 3 years to reach the same conclusion.
:laugh: Yea, dern government
ZBoca 11-24-2002, 10:49 PM Originally posted by tagalaxy.net
Theres you're problem.
Dont EVER reply to unsolicited spam. It only makes things worse.
Nah- I have my email addresses on multiple sites. I reply and talk to them asking about their services, and that I'd feel better by talking on the phone to them.
iamdave 11-28-2002, 01:24 AM I got two of these today.
Rochen 11-28-2002, 01:36 AM Yeah, got these to info@, sales@ and abuse@ and also to any cross link sites. We only started getting them because some customer got it and had a link back to us and now we are landed with it.
Rochen 11-28-2002, 01:37 AM Originally posted by Chicken
If you were part of a government task force on the situation, you would have spent 2 million dollars and 3 years to reach the same conclusion.
They sure are cutting back on the spending these days :stickout: :D
opportu 11-28-2002, 04:55 AM Based in China?,
Sarah Williams, more like Xing Chin
|