Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Looking for Safe Domain Registrar


PharmaBoy
12-05-2009, 06:08 AM
Hi

I’m looking for a domain registrar outside the US which doesn’t suspend domains being used for selling medicine (not controlled substances). It is affiliate sites. They ship to the entire world and is located offshore. They don’t participate in any kind of spam activities.

I have experienced domains being suspended without any notice at Go Daddy/Wild West Domains and Resellerclub/Directi.

CanSpace
12-05-2009, 03:15 PM
Are you looking to register a .com/.net/.org... or a ccTLD (country code... ie .ca)?

f1f12
12-05-2009, 03:48 PM
Hi

I’m looking for a domain registrar outside the US which doesn’t suspend domains being used for selling medicine (not controlled substances). It is affiliate sites. They ship to the entire world and is located offshore. They don’t participate in any kind of spam activities.

I have experienced domains being suspended without any notice at Go Daddy/Wild West Domains and Resellerclub/Directi.

You can find a complete list of TLD registrars at icann.org

petteyg359
12-05-2009, 04:17 PM
DomainDiscout24.com might fit your needs, though they cost quite a bit more than GoDaddy.

woods01
12-05-2009, 10:08 PM
Im not sure what rules apply to domains other then the companys are suppose to suspend domains involved in spam.

You've only really tried 2 companies since DirectI/RC GD/WWD are the same.

Perhaps contact Enom? I know you said outside the us but that should probably be a consideration. I know Enom ignores abuse emails.

PharmaBoy
12-06-2009, 11:12 AM
Are you looking to register a .com/.net/.org... or a ccTLD (country code... ie .ca)?

Mainly .com/.net/.org but ccTLD's might be interesting

JFSG
12-06-2009, 11:22 AM
You've only really tried 2 companies since DirectI/RC GD/WWD are the same.They aren't the same. GoDaddy/WildWestDomains and DirectI/ResellerClub are 2 different entities.

mr-news
12-06-2009, 02:31 PM
They aren't the same. GoDaddy/WildWestDomains and DirectI/ResellerClub are 2 different entities.

You are right, GoDaddy/WWD & DirectI/ResellerClub are American & Indian companies respectively :homer:

ramnet
12-06-2009, 04:01 PM
Hi
I’m looking for a domain registrar outside the US which doesn’t suspend domains being used for selling medicine (not controlled substances). It is affiliate sites. They ship to the entire world and is located offshore. They don’t participate in any kind of spam activities.

I have experienced domains being suspended without any notice at Go Daddy/Wild West Domains and Resellerclub/Directi.

We use http://www.active-domains.com - part of http://www.activeregistrar.com/ (for .com, .net, .org) - I highly suggest as a great alternative to the "usual" registrars that get mentioned on here (and they're cheap too ;).

They're also based out of Singapore (yet clearly market to the western world - english with prices in USD) ;)

Zaffer
12-06-2009, 04:28 PM
Feel something is missing here.

Are you referring to Domain Registrations or Web Hosting accounts?

Did you check with those companies for the reasons of closing you out?

If its domain registration, most other Registrars would treat your account in similar fashion.

Just check with the new providers about the reasons you get from the earlier companies, before you go ahead.

woods01
12-06-2009, 06:29 PM
They aren't the same. GoDaddy/WildWestDomains and DirectI/ResellerClub are 2 different entities.

What I meant was godaddy/WWD are the same & RC/DI are the same.

PharmaBoy
12-07-2009, 02:13 AM
Are you referring to Domain Registrations or Web Hosting accounts?

Did you check with those companies for the reasons of closing you out?


It is domain registrars - I have never had any problems with hosting companies.

And yes I have checked with them why the domains get suspended. It is apparently because the pharmacy sites don’t require a prescription (In the American way) to order from them. The pharmacies are located outside the US and ships worldwide.

Zaffer
12-07-2009, 05:01 AM
RC/DI is from India and not US as someone already mentioned earlier. So if they are disabling/suspending your domains as well, your activities on those domains might be offending TOS/AUP of ICANN/Registry, rather than GD/WWD or US laws.

If that is the case, you may find it difficult to register or run your domain names, with any other registrar.

CheapHostingPlans
12-07-2009, 03:17 PM
Stay with a registrar that is reputable and has good reviews and has been around for as long as possible. This will help avoid tragedies down the road.

Zaffer
12-07-2009, 03:40 PM
Stay with a registrar that is reputable and has good reviews and has been around for as long as possible. This will help avoid tragedies down the road.
Guess you missed reading the underlying point of this thread. Please do re-read

ranjitkgupta
12-08-2009, 03:20 AM
You can get a list of all registrars accredited by ICANN here (http://www.icann.org/en/registrars/accredited-list.html).

All the best.

petteyg359
12-08-2009, 11:17 AM
Stay with a registrar that is reputable and has good reviews and has been around for as long as possible. This will help avoid tragedies down the road.

You can get a list of all registrars accredited by ICANN here (http://www.icann.org/en/registrars/accredited-list.html).

All the best.

Seriously, read the thread. "How do I find a registrar?" was never asked. The OP asked for recommendations for reliable registrars. This implies a requirement of personal experience in order to respond.

Doc65
12-08-2009, 01:27 PM
Maybe fabulous.com. Not sure on Australian law but read their TOS and see what it says. As a registrar they are very good.

Zaffer
12-08-2009, 01:33 PM
Ok let me simplify
Hi

I’m looking for a domain registrar outside the US which doesn’t suspend domains being used for selling medicine (not controlled substances).

-snip-

I have experienced domains being suspended without any notice at Go Daddy/Wild West Domains and Resellerclub/Directi.

1. OP's attention has been drawn in previous comments to the fact that Resellerclub/Directi is not in US, which confirms that domains were not suspended because the Registrar was in the US.

2. If two major registrars suspended their domains without notice, there might be something offensive about their domain names or activities conducted through those domain names.

IMO instances of Domain Registrations being suspended are rarer than hosting accounts and the norms quite easy to follow. So if the domains are being suspended for a particular reason that makes it offensive in the eyes of ICANN, there is no way for them to be able to register/run those domains through any Registrar.

ramnet
12-08-2009, 01:42 PM
Ok let me simplify


1. OP's attention has been drawn in previous comments to the fact that Resellerclub/Directi is not in US, which confirms that domains were not suspended because the Registrar was in the US.

2. If two major registrars suspended their domains without notice, there might be something offensive about their domain names or activities conducted through those domain names.

IMO instances of Domain Registrations being suspended are rarer than hosting accounts and the norms quite easy to follow. So if the domains are being suspended for a particular reason that makes it offensive in the eyes of ICANN, there is no way for them to be able to register/run those domains through any Registrar.

:agree::agree:

Unless of course it violates the terms of the TLD holder (eg: Verisign for .com/.net) - in which case the OP might have better luck with a different TLD.

AFIAK ICANN/IANA don't limit what is done with domains and addresses - otherwise those underground criminal cyber-terrorism spamming piracy groups would have a very hard time getting and staying online (and places like Ukrane and Russia wouldn't be "safe havens").

The TLD operators, and the individual registrars, however, most certainly do.

Doc65
12-08-2009, 01:46 PM
After just a quick look into where a few are registered Gandi SAS gandi.net seems like it may be a good choice. They are French and are the registrar for a pharma aff program that has been around since 2003.

station4ever
12-14-2009, 06:28 AM
i think most medicine site refer to phishing and spam ..

that's why godady and wwd deleted your website

vincesil
12-16-2009, 06:40 PM
1 and 1 are good registrar