Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Paysystems Spam


coight
11-21-2002, 11:53 AM
Hello.
Are you interested in providing secure transactions online to your clients?. PaySystems is an e-commerce leader in transaction processing. With over 10 000 merchants and 650 million in annual processing. PaySystems can offer you...

Accept All Major Credit Cards
Accept Online Checks
Secure Payment Server
Complete Web Store
Advanced Catalog System
Unlimited Products/Catalogs
Unlimited Monthly Volume
Shopping Cart System
Inventory Management
Real-time Shipping
Plug'n'Play Design
24/7 Support
No Monthly Fee
Interested? Please use this link and fill in your free online application, TODAY!

https://secure.paysystems.com/apply/iba/psbilling_application.asp?agentid=10078

Please feel free to contact me at the number below, We would be happy to hear from you.

Leonard Lang
Business Development
T 866-699-9022 EXT:895
F 514-448-5848
llang@paysystems.com


Return-path: <llang@paysystems.com>
Envelope-to: sales@solidinternet.com
Delivery-date: Thu, 21 Nov 2002 15:51:51 +0000
Received: from h216-18-127-200.gtconnect.net ([216.18.127.200] helo=moulin.paysystems.com)
by server1.solidinternet.com with esmtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 18EtcM-0006X3-00
for sales@solidinternet.com; Thu, 21 Nov 2002 15:51:50 +0000
Received: from SLSW503 ([192.168.1.106])
by moulin.paysystems.com (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id gALFpbJ31454;
Thu, 21 Nov 2002 10:51:37 -0500
From: "Leonard Lang" <llang@paysystems.com>
To: <llang@paysystems.com>
Subject: Merchant Accounts, Recurring billing, 2checkout problems?
Date: Thu, 21 Nov 2002 10:52:28 -0500
Message-ID: <000001c29176$047dffd0$6a01a8c0@internal.paysystems.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/related;
boundary="----=_NextPart_000_0001_01C2914C.1BA7F7D0"
X-Priority: 1 (Highest)
X-MSMail-Priority: High
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook, Build 10.0.2627
Importance: High
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000

AceWeb
11-21-2002, 11:54 AM
:confused: That is strange. I never would be thinking they would spam. Did you contact them about it ?

coight
11-21-2002, 11:56 AM
I only just received it, no doubt it was harvested from here because the title was "Merchant Accounts, Recurring Billing, 2checkout.com Problems?"

Aussie Bob
11-21-2002, 11:57 AM
Wierd because it's coming from an affiliate link. :confused:

AceWeb
11-21-2002, 11:58 AM
That is what I am thinking, maybe one of the affiliate's spamed you.

coight
11-21-2002, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by AceWeb
That is what I am thinking, maybe one of the affiliate's spamed you.

If you take a look at the headers, I highly doubt it.

Aussie Bob
11-21-2002, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by Myacen
I only just received it, no doubt it was harvested from here because the title was "Merchant Accounts, Recurring Billing, 2checkout.com Problems?"
Yeah and like Paysystems can talk about no problems (http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=85923) with recurring payments. :blush: :emlaugh:

TowerHost
11-21-2002, 12:19 PM
hehe nice Bob :D
Did you ever get that resolved?

2Grumpy
11-21-2002, 12:34 PM
I GOT ONE TOO!

I was just about to make a search for this so I didn't start a new thread and lo and behold, it was the top post in here :)

Funny thing is I just put in an app a couple days ago at Paysystems for their IMA and then they go and spam me "Leonard Lang" is the name on the return address for me.

LinuXpert
11-21-2002, 12:57 PM
Me too. And it's clear from the header that those messages were sent from Paysytems' server (moulin.paysystems.com)

alchiba
11-21-2002, 01:33 PM
I got the mail too even though I still have an account with them, but PS and I parted company long ago. They must have harvested addies from here or through some other treachery.

diederik
11-22-2002, 03:49 PM
I contacted the guy who spammed me aswell and he's saying it isn't spam.. Well, it is according to me :angry:

diederik
11-22-2002, 05:46 PM
Here's the complete e-mail conversation... that Leonard Lang guy is extremely rude .. ( at least , that how I think about this, if you don't think it is , please tell me ).

note: converstation start @ the bottom

Van: "Leonard Lang" <llang@paysystems.com>
Aan: "'Freestyle Hosting Support'" <support@freestylehosting.com>
Onderwerp: RE:
Datum: vrijdag 22 november 2002 22:41

I will tell others to avoid yours as well.

-----Original Message-----
From: Freestyle Hosting Support [mailto:support@freestylehosting.com]
Sent: Friday, November 22, 2002 2:44 PM
To: Leonard Lang
Cc: sales@paysystems.com
Subject: Re:

Please direct me to the post where I said I wanted to receive offers
from other companies.
I did NOT ask that. So this is spam. Period.
Glad you mailed me, I now know I should avoid your company.

----- Original Message -----
From: Leonard Lang <mailto:llang@paysystems.com>
To: support@freestylehosting.com
Sent: Friday, November 22, 2002 8:39 PM

Diederik,

First of all this was not a spam email, it was one specifically sent to
you with regards to a post I saw.

ATST
11-22-2002, 06:38 PM
Well now he can't say he didn't send it.

It sounds just like one of those B to B models this other "non-spammer" wrote about here:
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=90573

diederik
11-22-2002, 07:14 PM
Yeah.. I hate when people 'defend' spam like that :angry:

Aussie Bob
11-22-2002, 08:55 PM
Originally posted by TowerHost
hehe nice Bob :D
Did you ever get that resolved?
Recurrings are going through now. Although they used to happen at a given time each day. Now they seem to come in batches throughout the day. Oh well, better than not coming in at all. :D

Aussie Bob
11-22-2002, 08:58 PM
It's obvious that the staff member of Paysystems, harvested email addresses of folks having issues with 2Checkout from this forum. The thing is PS are usually dead slow in their sales replies.

This chap must be doing this off his own back and pocketing the referral fee. Hence using his affiliate url as the link etc. This would not be a PaySystems sanctioned activity. :rolleyes:

If you want to take the matter further, contact their legal department and explain exactly what happened etc.

diederik
11-23-2002, 04:17 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
If you want to take the matter further, contact their legal department and explain exactly what happened etc.

Thanks... do you know which e-mail i should use ?