
|
View Full Version : Sales Reps/Resellers Needed (5)
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 03:38 PM We are a relatively new hosting company that is looking for Sales reps and resellers to help grow our business and client base.
Our offer is as follows:
----------------------------
1) You will receive a 25% commission on all funds received from
your referral for a 1-year period.
eg: Client A signs up on a $10 / month plan. You make $2.50
for as long as Client A stays with us, up to one year.
eg: Client B signs up on a $10 / month plan. You make $2.50
for the first month. In month 2, Client B upgrades to a
$20 / month plan. You now make $5 / month for up to
11 months.
2) You are NOT required to purchase any plans/space/etc
3) You are NOT required to commit to us in any way for any period
of time
4) You will NOT be required to be frontline support, though you
may if you are looking to gain experience in support/etc
We have seen a large amount of interest in this brand new reseller/sales rep. opportunity. We will only be accepting the best 5 applicants, and the program will begin on Monday, November 25th, 2002.
Please contact me at ceo@nevidia.com or post a reply on this forum if you are interested in this excellent opportunity!
Regards,
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
flitcher 11-18-2002, 04:29 PM Hmm.. So what happens if God forbid you shutdown in less than a year, then what happens? Reason I ask is because your domain is almost identical to nVIDIA.
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 04:49 PM Firstly, I'm not really sure what is the relevence of the fact that our domain name happens to be similar to another domain name. I had not heard of nVIDIA.com before, but after looking at their website, they aren't even in the webhosting business. What's your point here?
Secondly, you will notice that we are advertising for a sales rep. We are paying a high comission, and you are not responsible for any support or for purchasing anything. That's different than a reseller. We are also offering a reseller opportunity where you can receive a discount on our packages and then each of the clients will be your own.
A quick question though for you; Is your purpose on this forum to go after every new company, in your hopes of discrediting them as much as possible? Why is it that you feel it is necessary for people to answer to you?
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
AdamTuttle 11-18-2002, 05:01 PM I dont think that he was discrediting your company, he was simply asking a question about how someone would get paid if you shutdown in less that a year. I think that you accusing him of doing something he didnt is what would discredit your company.
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 05:04 PM I would have agreed, without the comment about nvidia.com ... I'm not really sure how that has any relevance to anything.
vibesolutions 11-18-2002, 05:17 PM Nvidia is a major video card maker and like microsoft and other huge companies they will go after sites that even come close to their name.
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 05:29 PM I was not aware of that. All I can say is that I don't see how a video card manufacturer can come after a hosting company for having a similar domain name. I'm not saying you're wrong, I'm not sure what the situation is like in the US, but a company like that is going to have a hard time justifying that claim here in Canada. They've tried it before, and not too many have been successful.
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
vibesolutions 11-18-2002, 05:40 PM not too successful? Domain squatters are busted all the time for using similar domain names. Even if you use a domain name similar to theirs and you develop it then they could claim you're profiting off of a similar name. They can get you in canada because they also sell cards in Canada and have a precense there. They are a multi national company.
Sorenson 11-18-2002, 05:54 PM I advise you change the name, or you could get screwed over, 1 character difference is not much, and in that order, it sure as heck looks like a knockoff.
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 05:57 PM First, from my understanding, it is the standard practice on this forum to keep items on topic. If you are actually interested in discussing this further, perhaps we should move this to a new thread in a more appropriate location? (moderator?)
You are correct, domain squatters are "busted", though not nearly as regularly here in Canada as they are down in the US. There have been a number of cases like this in the past six months, all of which turned out negative for the large corporation. The corporation needs to make a solid claim that the company's sole purpose for owning that domain name is for malicious purposes and for the purpose of infringing on the rights of the larger national/multinational.
In this particular case, as I run a webhosting business, as well as a web development organization that has been around for some time now, they would have a very hard time arguing that they have some valid claim to the domain name. Cases that have been successful here are things such as someone registering www.tomhanks.com, where Tom Hanks would then come in and sue for the rights to the domain.
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
vibesolutions 11-18-2002, 06:41 PM ok we're just giving you advice. Don't come crying to us when NVidia catches up with ya. Just remember the term, "We told ya so."
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 06:48 PM I appreciate the offered advice, but I'm not exactly running on a whim here. I can't imagine running a business without passing most of the major decisions by a lawyer first, which we of course did prior to establishing our name.
Thanks for the input though.
vibesolutions 11-18-2002, 08:25 PM your lawyer isn't going to hold your hand and look up every single trade mark that exists with you. He's probably not a gamer and probably studied his butt off in school to become what he is.
Nevidia 11-18-2002, 09:53 PM My god man, just who is it that you think you are? Who are you to lecture me? A little bit presumptuous of you as well to discredit my lawyer, someone who you don't even know.
I'm going to be exiting this discussion now, I don't see how it is productive in the slightest. If you would like to showboat, do it on someone elses time; I have a business to run.
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
rusko 11-19-2002, 08:17 AM bryan is correct. web hosting is not even in the same international class as electronics and thus, if bryan wanted, he could happily register nevidia as a trademark with the uspto. also, please have a look at the icann arbitration guidelines and the 4 tests required to take the domain away - nevidia doesnt satisfy those tests and is thus safe.
on a sidenote, he did not ask for a comment nor did he ask to be flamed by incompetent trolls.
MrLister 11-19-2002, 11:16 AM In the law, it doesn't matter if you're selling books or computers if the names are similar then they can still shut you down or take control of your domain. You can't open a grocery store named MicroSofe, why try it with a hosting company. I can guarantee you, if you make anything good out of your nevidia business which is practically identical to nVidia (I mean you even say it the same way) you will either get shut down by them or they will take over the domain.
These are just warning, nobody is critizing you or anything. It's up to you what you want to do.
Nevidia 11-19-2002, 11:22 AM There is a difference between a "friendly" warning, and what has been going on in this thread.
I'm sorry, but I think that this is nothing more than another classic case of some WHT "guru" going after a WHT "newbie".
And while you are correct about it being possible to get shut down for certain reasons, I believe that it was said quite clearly in the last post as well as numerous posts that I have made, that it is not simply a matter of a name being similar. There are certain conditions that must be met before it is possible to remove a domain from somebody.
And personally, I would like to get back to a more productive thread where I'm not forced to defend myself from an immature bully. Leave it in the playground.
MrLister, thank you for your post, however. While I disagree with your "warning", at least it was genuine.
Bryan Jaskolka, CEO
Nevidia Internet Solutions
http://www.nevidia.com
UNIVERSA 11-22-2002, 06:15 AM Nevidia you started all this by the way you handled your response from the start so of course people are going to start picking on you. You dont snap at someone who has a basic question about your program, you basically explain once more how the program works. And it was a valid question I have all these customers that I worked hard to bring in and then you go out of business where does that leave my monthly residual is what he was asking. Comparing your name to someone else who knows may he taught you are associated with them or something no reason to snap... Just my 2 cents not trying to school you but maybe turning the picture the other way so you can take a look from another angle......
Nevidia 11-22-2002, 01:18 PM Is it just me, or has everyone on this forum given up posting on topic at this point? What is the purpose of a web hosting forum when no-one talks about webhosting anymore?
I'm not on this forum to listen to what every person in the world has to think of me, my company, my ideas, or anything else. I'm hear to exchange information and ideas with other friendly and and knowledgable people. That's it.
Does anyone know how to remove a thread from this forum? This thread is entirely unproductive, and its about time that it was removed from this system.
|