Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Hostbyte - Spam


coight
11-16-2002, 12:27 AM
Hello,

I'm writing to inform you that Host Byte Marketplace (a hosting resource site) invites
you to list your respective company (or the company you work on the behalf) on our web site.
The listing is completely free and offers many benefits.


Firstly, it'll allow your company to add your hosting plans into our database which anyone
can then use our search engine to find and explore your services. Secondly, you can place
any promotional or discount offer you are running in our 'The Lounge' section of our
web site. Thirdly, if you have any news or press release you want to share with the rest
of the community, we will gladly publish it. Again, all this for free.


The directory currently accepts any web vendors that offers the following services:


Application Hosting
Co-location Hosting
Dedicated Hosting
eCommerce Hosting
Managed Hosting
Reseller Hosting


We will be expanding our service categories soon!


On the behalf of Host Byte Marketplace I hope you can spare a few minutes and go to
following web site address and fill out the application form - http://www.hostbyte.com/
The application form link is on the left side of the screen under the section
titled "Web Hoster". If you want the exact url, it is at


http://www.hostbyte.com/myaccount/signup.php


Once your application is processed, we will e-mail you the login details to our
member's area.

Yours Sincerely,


The Host Byte Marketplace Team
http://www.hostbyte.com



Return-path: <sam@motionxl.com>
Envelope-to: sales@solidinternet.com
Delivery-date: Sat, 16 Nov 2002 04:16:26 +0000
Received: from sungold.motionxl.com
([63.149.34.50] helo=motionxl.com ident=qmailr)
by server1.solidinternet.com with smtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 18CuNe-00036P-00
for sales@solidinternet.com; Sat, 16 Nov 2002 04:16:26 +0000
Received: (qmail 1459 invoked by uid 2526); 16 Nov 2002 04:16:23 -0000
Date: 16 Nov 2002 04:16:23 -0000
Message-ID: <20021116041623.1458.qmail@motionxl.com>
To: sales@solidinternet.com
Subject: Host Byte Marketplace Listing Invitation
From: "Host Byte Support" <support@hostbyte.com>
Reply-To: support@hostbyte.com
MIME-Version: 1.0

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 12:44 AM
Yep :rolleyes: I got that one too. Just some more "targeted harvesting" of WHT. :eek3:

Lesli
11-16-2002, 12:52 AM
I got one this evening - about an hour ago. And they used an email address that I only have on the site, hidden in some config variables for the contact form - so these were some busy little harvesters. Working hard for their spam list.

Still...that's another one for the blockers.

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by living_media
I got one this evening - about an hour ago. And they used an email address that I only have on the site, hidden in some config variables for the contact form - so these were some busy little harvesters. Working hard for their spam list.

Still...that's another one for the blockers.
Yet the funny thing is, is that they're running a hosting directory [like there's a shortage of them :rolleyes:] and the objective of this directory is to promote hosts, yet to promote themselves, they have to spam. :blush:

Lesli
11-16-2002, 01:09 AM
They don't have to spam, they choose to spam. And they choose to work hard enough to attempt to spam, and they're so sure that it will work, that they went digging through the code on my site to find the email address that they used for me.

Indeed.... :rolleyes:

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 01:12 AM
Originally posted by living_media
They don't have to spam, they choose to spam.
Correct. I should have said "chose to spam". :blush:

It's still ironic that they spam to get business and expect hosts to benefit with increased exposure in their directory?? :rolleyes:

FHDave
11-16-2002, 01:17 AM
Hi Myacen,

I think Hostbyte will thank you now, since you just helped them spread the SPAM to thousands of other potential readers! :)

Lesli
11-16-2002, 01:23 AM
I think they may have started spamming because they did post a thread here, and received little response.

I don't know that they realised what they were doing, when they decided to randomly spam a bunch of web hosts (and do the extra legwork required, at least in some cases, to dig out email addresses.)

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 01:26 AM
Originally posted by FHDave
Hi Myacen,

I think Hostbyte will thank you now, since you just helped them spread the SPAM to thousands of other potential readers! :)
Hundreds maybe, but not "thousands". We'll check how many views this forum gets though....;)

44 views so far. :D

intellec
11-16-2002, 01:27 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
Yep :rolleyes: I got that one too. Just some more "targeted harvesting" of WHT. :eek3:

Does WHT sell email lists of their members to vendors?

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 01:31 AM
Originally posted by intellec
Does WHT sell email lists of their members to vendors?
Ahhh, no....:eek:

But there's nothing stopping email harvestors from crawling these parts etc....:eek3:

FHDave
11-16-2002, 01:39 AM
Originally posted by Aussie Bob
Hundreds maybe, but not "thousands". We'll check how many views this forum gets though....;)


It's a figure of speech, just an exageration :)

Lesli
11-16-2002, 01:41 AM
Originally posted by intellec
Does WHT sell email lists of their members to vendors?

In my particular case, intellec, they came to my site and viewed the source of my contact form and pulled the email address from there. The recipient email address for my particular piece of Hostbyte Spam, I don't have in my WHT profile and have never used on WHT.

Persistent //censored//s...

Aussie Bob
11-16-2002, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by FHDave
It's a figure of speech, just an exageration :)
I know, I know....hence the -
......;)
:D