Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Innerprise software: Any past experience?


TheGAME1264
11-15-2002, 02:22 PM
I have a client who wants to build a search engine site and we're debating as to whether or not I'm to code the search engine aspects of it or if he will use a third-party component.

He found one such component. A company called Innerprise (http://www.innerprise.net) has apprently developed a software package that will produce "fast, relevant search engine results". On the surface, it appears to be a good deal and I don't think I could develop something for this client that offers the same value. However, a few things bother me:

1) http://www.innerprise.net/screenshots/searchresults.gif is a sample screenshot of the search results. These look eerily similar to Google search engine results.

2) No contact names or addresses or telephone numbers are published.

3) The site claims to be copyright 1998-2002 but the domain name itself was registered March 8, 1999.

I'm not sure whether to trust the financial reasons for buying it or my opinion reasons for not. So if anyone's got any feedback on Innerprise and its software, I would appreciate it very much.

jtrovato
11-15-2002, 03:47 PM
well it could still be copyrighted in 1998 but the domain has changed.

1. How much is something like this?
2. Does it matter if it looks like google? or is the concern that they just took a snap shot fo a goole site.
3. The only way to get in touch with the is through email??

They don't have a contact page?

They are not really hard to write, just the time it takes to write. I guess they are looking to do this soon.

john

TheGAME1264
11-15-2002, 05:31 PM
The concern is that if it looks like Google and seems to act like Google, it may be Google. That in itself doesn't bother me. However, if they're selling it as their own without the proper rights, how does that affect the owners? (It's like selling a stolen car; the person who buys the car legally doesn't get to keep it.) You also bring up a good point that the snapshot could be doctored and therefore not a legitimate representation of the software.

The cost ($499 US) seems reasonable enough in itself; the only thing I"m not sure of is what exactly is being purchased for that cost.

jtrovato
11-15-2002, 05:36 PM
If you have all these questions and you can't askt hem directly, I wouldn't deal with them. Can you image when you do need support and they are no where to be found?? I had that happen to my partner and from then on, we only use companies that give us their phone number.

John

happy hunting