
|
View Full Version : Genuine letter or phishing attempt?
Gamik 08-02-2009, 11:41 PM Hello,
I own a domain mydomain.net which I use mainly for e-mail. I have also registered mydomain.org and mydomain.com just to block them.
Today I received the following e-mail from a Chinese registrar:
-----------------------------------------
To whom it may concern: 2009-8-3
We are a domain name registration service company in Asia,
Last week we received a formal application submited by Justin Lee who wanted to use the keyword "[mydomain]" to register the Internet Brand and with suffix such as .cn /.com.cn /.net.cn/.hk/ .asia/ domain names.
After our initial examination, we found that these domain names to be applied for registration are same as your domain name and trademark. We aren’t sure whether you have any relation with him. Because these domain names would produce possible dispute, now we have hold down his registration, but if we do not get your company’s an reply in the next 5 working days, we will approve his application
In order to handle this issue better, Please contact us by Fax ,Telephone or Email as soon as possible.
Yours sincerely
Sunny
Checking Department
Tel: 86 513 8532 1087
Fax: 86 513 8532 2065
Email: Sunny@tech-wifi.com
Website: www.tech-wifi.com
Our File No.:2386471
-------------------------------------------
Does this look genuine? Since when do domain name registrars check whether someone else has registered the same domain name for other tld extensions? And "Checking Department"? Should I just ignore it, especially since I do not really care whether someone else registers the domain for other tld extensions?
Perhaps they are trying to scare me into registering these domains myself through them.
All input welcome.
- G. Amik
Jacob Wall 08-02-2009, 11:44 PM Probably just trying to make you register them. I'd just leave it be, com.cn domains are worthless anyways.
Mekhu 08-02-2009, 11:46 PM Wow, that's definitely an interesting approach. I'm actually not sure... I do agree the "checking department" sounds rather odd :D
Lubeca 08-03-2009, 03:33 AM Well-known scam (have seen this one many times).
Justin Lee doesn't exist.
They are just trying to get you to register .cn domains.
Ignore it.
Mekhu 08-03-2009, 03:37 AM Lubeca, nice confirmation. I'll make note of this as well. Good thread.
040Hosting 08-03-2009, 03:53 AM Seen this serveral times as well; they just try to scare you; if you are wanting these domain names i suggest not to reply on the email; go to a trusted domain registration agency and get your domains. If not .. let it be.
Gamik 08-03-2009, 07:28 AM Seen this serveral times as well; they just try to scare you; if you are wanting these domain names i suggest not to reply on the email; go to a trusted domain registration agency and get your domains. If not .. let it be.
Thanks all for the speedy responses. I've deleted the e-mail in question.
GarethP 08-03-2009, 07:42 AM I get about 10 of them a week, I am really going to fall for it, seeing as I can buy the domain (if I wanted it that is), for a 10th of the price they would want.
I get about 10 of them a week
About the same here, either directly or clients asking if it's legit. Ignore with extreme prejudice. ;)
nameslave 08-03-2009, 08:08 AM Justin Lee doesn't exist.
LOL! Justin Lee *could* exist, it's just that he doesn't need to submit a "formal application" in order to register a .cn, .hk or .asia, and no registrars would or could put a 5-day "hold" if anybody decides to actually go for those domains.
Obulus 08-03-2009, 09:38 AM As someone has said.. the Checking department seems a little... Weird?
Fake. Its got to be!
louis87 08-04-2009, 10:40 AM As someone has said.. the Checking department seems a little... Weird?
Fake. Its got to be!
Yes. I agree... Its definitely fake because the whole thing looks fishy.
Kinetik Hosts 08-10-2009, 12:38 PM Dear CEO,
We are an organization specified at dealing with domain name dispute and registration in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On Auq 5, 2009, we received an application formally. One company named "Generate Investment Co. Ltd" wanted to register following
Domain names:
mydomain.asia
mydomain.cn
mydomain.com.cn
mydomain.com.hk
mydomain.com.tw
mydomain.hk
mydomain.tw
Internet Keyword:
mydomain
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Generate Investment Co. Ltd yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Zara
: zara@west-technology.org
I wasn't sure what to make of these. An interesting approach on selling the .cn for sure. Thanks for posting this thread.
Justin Lee does exist. His full name is Jusin Lee COLLINS :)
KreCi 08-10-2009, 04:24 PM I have recived simmilar e-mail about month ago. We own ourname.eu, ourname.com, ourname.pl domains and he was asking about .cn. It looks it is mass mailing to sell domains for much higher price that it is worth.
zhizhinihao 08-10-2009, 11:56 PM I'll make note of this as well. Good thread.
boonchuan 08-11-2009, 01:47 AM Genuine phishing attempt :) . Received that in its various guises. They even called up my clients. Just toss it or if they call, hang up.
albatroz 08-11-2009, 05:31 AM Today I got this message
Ben Tsang <Ben@eworlddnr.hk>
para 7059722 <7059722@sip.virtualorbis.com>
asunto Notice of the "virtualorbis "(TO CEO&Principal)
lista de distribución info.virtualorbis.com
Dear CEO&Principal
We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration
and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia.
Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.
On Augest 10, 2009, we received an application formally.
One company named "ZYTIE Technology Co.Ltd" wanted to applied for the Internet Keyword "virtualorbis" and some domain names through our body.
Now we are handling with the registration of these domain names and find that the keyword of these domain names and Internet Keywordis identical with your company's.
So we have to confirm with you at two points:
1. If your company consign ZYTIE Technology Co.Ltd to register these domain names and Internet Keyword we will send application form to them and help
them finish the registration at once.
2. If your company have nothing to do with ZYTIE Technology Co.Ltd, they maybe have other purposes to register these domain names and Internet Keyword.
I want to confirm that are you the corporate representative of this company? If you do, I will feedback some problems to you;
if you do not, please send my words to your company's cororate representative or lawyer.
We need your answer of force adeffect. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Ben Tsang
Auditing Department
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Tel: +852-2297-9279
Fax: +852-2297-9209
Email: Ben@eworlddnr.hk Ben@eworld.hk
Website: http://www.eworld.hk
Dan541 08-11-2009, 06:24 AM I received an interesting email about two weeks ago.
Subject: BUZZARDFAMILY.COM Available For Purchase
From: "Trader Domains" <sales@traderdomains.net>
Date: Fri, July 31, 2009 6:55 am
To: whois@danscomp.net
Our company specializes in acquiring expired domain names to help
individuals and businesses protect their brand online.
The domain name BUZZARDFAMILY.COM expired recently and we were able to
secure it.
We noticed that you own BUZZARDFAMILY.NET and felt that you may be
interested in acquiring the .COM version of your existing domain name.
It is available for a one-time fee of only $49.00 USD.
To purchase or learn more, please visit
http://traderdomains.net/buy.php?domain=buzzardfamily.com
When I did a whois I found that the domain was NOT registered so I grabbed it with NameCheap instead.
In this case a spammer actually helped me out with securing a domain that I didn't realise had become available.
amnesia623 08-13-2009, 10:38 AM I would delete it and walk away. I tend not to trust much from that area of the world unless it comes through a company here first.
evk_87 08-14-2009, 10:12 PM Ultimate Scam thing...
the registrar wants you to register for that TLD as well..
Nice Sales program, isn't it ?:blush::blush:
|