Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : HostingTycoon.com - Used to be ****


chanacampos
11-10-2002, 06:22 AM
Yes - he's back...unfortunately Dennis Steyfa never really left. He has changed the business name to hostingtycoon and telling all of his old customers that they have to move their sites to this new one (he says he "sold" ****" , but the registration for the new company is his...! (I guess he doesn't think that people can figure this kind of this out..?) Oh, and they have to PAY to move their sites!!! I am the owner of ****.INFO and we have a dedicated group of people who are determined to make it difficult for this guy to do business and take advantage of more people.

Within two hours of my posting on ****.INFO that he was now doing business as hostingtycoon.com - he was on my home phone telling me that what I was doing was illegal. I finally had to take my phone off the hook because he kept calling back. And the next day the mysterious mystery callers began. Ring-Hang -up. Ring-Hang up. So, I changed my number...<g>

He also called my ISP that day and threatened to "hack" their site if they didn't take down my web site - he shut up quickly when they told him that a threat was as good as the real thing, and that they now had him on record.

At any rate, to top the week, he submitted a fraudulent request to RegisterFly.Com to change my ****.info registrar to them!!! He submitted the userID of his hotmail address(the same one he used to register hostingtycoon.com <I never said the guy was brilliant>..so that is being processed by their security department.
What infuriated me about registerfly.com (a division of UnifiedNames.com) is that they never contacted me for permission!!! They just sent me an email saying it was "in the queue for processing"!!! I know this isn't standard...so is registerfly violating their agreement with ICANN by not checking for authorization for a registrar change first????

Sorry this is so long, but my question is: what action can/does ICANN and what responsibilities to the registrars have to pursue these kinds of activities?

Thanks in advance - and warn everyone you know about HostingTycoon.Com. I have registered HostingTycoon.US as the "information site" about this situation..

Cheers,

Chana

chanacampos
11-10-2002, 06:28 AM
Excuse me, but why is the name of the former company of this man starred out??? It was upper case - is that why it is deleted???

I'd really like to know...thanks,

Chana

fantasmic0
11-10-2002, 06:54 AM
:eek: Probably because they have been "BAD" somehwere along the line ..

Looking at their website ... it's all very , as I'd like to call it - SHONKY ..:cartman:

chanacampos
11-10-2002, 07:00 AM
>Probably because they have been "BAD" somehwere along the >line ..

Well, yeaaahhh, that's sort of the point. Only no one will ever KNOW about them, if their name is starred out...!

BTW, what the HECK does "SHONKY" mean??? Sorry...but I honestly don't know!!! :confused:

fantasmic0
11-10-2002, 07:10 AM
:cool: you mean S/*W/*H/*U.com .. yes and it redirects to the new site now .

chanacampos
11-10-2002, 07:30 AM
Thanks ....:)

akashik
11-10-2002, 08:36 AM
Hep whoever this is, they're not a worthwhile individual. I don't know them from a hole in the ground but:

http://www.hostingtycoon.com/privacy.html
http://www.akashik.net/privacy.html

considering they rip content from other websites they show themselves to be a 'certain kind' of individual.

Greg Moore

chanacampos
11-10-2002, 10:04 AM
Oh boy, we were wondering about akashik...we thought maybe you were in league with him and we were trying to learn a little more about you. It's nice to hear that you're not part of the Dark Side <g>...We have a volunteer group that is working to track down as much information as possible on this person. We're compiling a complete dossier on him to submit to every regulatory agency we can think of...including the Dutch tax authorities. Just in case he forgot to pay his taxes last year. He isn't Dutch, but we believe he is Eastern European. At least, his accent doesn't sound Dutch and his English is far worse than any Dutch person's I've ever seen.

Are you going to say anything about the rip-off of your website data?

Cheers.
Chana

akashik
11-10-2002, 10:09 AM
rest assured we don't have anything to do with this guy...

I'll be sending him a note shortly about the 'borrowing'

Greg Moore

tycoon
11-10-2002, 10:41 AM
It is very normal that a hosting company cannot keep everybody happy.

Lets talk about miss campos...

**** did had some downtime in the past, and offcourse
nobody is happy with that, alsow miss campos was not
very happy with this. However we tried to offer her a good
deal which she cannot refuse.. (i belive we did offer her
1 year of freehosting or so) i think this is a verry good offer
but campos did refuse it. alsow she wanted to leave us and
thats fine with us, she asked for a FULL refund and we did
fully refunded her. However she claims that she own the
domain names that we registerd for her. however thats not
true, she dind own those domain names because we FULLY
refunded her so she dont own those domain names. campos
writed enom.com where we registerd her domain names and
enom was so kind to give her those domain names which she
dind own! fauld of enom, but who cares? we dont, she do not
care about the money that weve payd for those names, so she
have the names for free now.. alsow we do not care about that.

However now she talks bad about us etc etc. What she do not
tell the people at her website is the above text.

AND she does not talk about the other thing she done to us etc etc.

We can say that you can decide yourself if we are that bad or not.

Regards, tycoon.

ubergeek22
11-10-2002, 10:42 AM
So he's not Dutch, but you're reporting him to the Dutch Tax Authorities anyway? :confused:

akashik
11-10-2002, 10:48 AM
Originally posted by tycoon
We can say that you can decide yourself if we are that bad or not.

You want to keep using our privacy policy then I've pretty much made up my mind who the 'bad guy' is here

Greg Moore

XN CEO
11-10-2002, 10:53 AM
Question for the guy who started this:::

I use registerfly, and I've been very happy, VERY happy. What exactly happened with them, as im intrested, would you mind emailing it to me :: josh@sbyweb.net

Thanks, and good luck in your search,
Josh

AdamTuttle
11-10-2002, 11:34 AM
LOL, I totally agree with chanacampos,

and his English is far worse than any Dutch person's I've ever seen.

:eek: