Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : This is starting to piss me off


okihost
11-07-2002, 03:12 PM
For some reason for the past 3 months or so I get weekly :spam: offering to purchase OKIHost.. Just out of nowhere people wanting to know if we want to sell.. Its really starting to get to me.. Here is the latest one I have gotten:

HELLO,

My name is Richard James and I am the Director of Business
Development with Simple Easy Hosting. We are a growing hosting
company and are looking to expand. We are currently looking at two
opportunities that could be available to qualified hosting companies and
resellers: a complete acquisition of your customer base, or
hosting/managing your customer base and paying you a perpetual
residual for the lifetime of the customer.

For multiple reasons, we know that there are people who may be
interested in getting out of the hosting business, and therefore I am contacting you to see if you are looking for such an opportunity.

The web site for our company is: www.simpleeasyhosting.com

If this is appealing to you, please respond to this email.

Thank you for your time,

Richard James.

Now I mean I could understand if we had shown any interest at any time at all emailing me but this is crazy.. Its like me walking down to Joe's Pizza Shop and just asking him if he wants to sell just you know out of the blue.. "Hey can I get a slice of cheest and Oh, do you want to sell this place I will give you .25 cents on each slice of cheest pizza I sell.' anyway I am done ranting off to Spamcop.

:uzi::spam:

smidwap
11-07-2002, 03:20 PM
Same email each time you receieve the spam (same sender, etc)? Or are just random people looking to purchase OKIHost?

Aussie Bob
11-07-2002, 03:25 PM
I wouldn't consider that as spam if they want to purchase your client base. [if they are serious about this etc]

okihost
11-07-2002, 03:26 PM
Just random people.. I get it all the time to sales@, on aim, my email etc..

RackNine
11-07-2002, 04:57 PM
Just make a counter-offer on their business. Tell them you'll pay whatever they're considering offering you. That way their goal of undercutting and offering you peanuts either goes out the window or works in your favour :)

Sincerely,

-Matt

AussieHosts
11-08-2002, 12:31 AM
Originally posted by RackNine
Just make a counter-offer on their business. Tell them you'll pay whatever they're considering offering you. That way their goal of undercutting and offering you peanuts either goes out the window or works in your favour :)

Sincerely,

-Matt

Not if their business is worth little and/or their offer is peanuts. ;)

We don't hear back from most enquirers when we state a ballpark figure.

Gary

Haze
11-08-2002, 12:38 AM
Forgive me, but how is it spam?

AussieHosts
11-08-2002, 12:40 AM
Originally posted by Haze
Forgive me, but how is it spam?

I don't know that it falls necessarily within the confines of spam, but just annoying when you receive the same cut-n-paste job every few days to the same address(es).

If it was a serious piece of correspondence/offer, then some imagination in the approach would go down better. ;)

Gary

Rewdog
11-08-2002, 12:52 AM
I got the same spam conscerning hostingchat.net, its not even a web hosting business.

sphere2
11-08-2002, 12:57 AM
Ask them where they saw the ad saying you wanted to sell your company?

Than a) If they say they saw no such ad, ask them why they are emailing you then.

b) If there is such an ad out there you need to get to the source of it. Either way you get a better handle on it.

Hope that helps.

AussieHosts
11-08-2002, 12:59 AM
Originally posted by sphere2
Ask them where they saw the ad saying you wanted to sell your company?

An offer to buy something is not always/usually preceded with an offer to sell. :)

Gary

NexDog
11-08-2002, 01:58 AM
The only offer we ever received was from Hostway around 8 months ago. I told them I'd be in touch when the company was worth about 5 mill. :D

Biggles
11-08-2002, 02:50 AM
Originally posted by NexDog
The only offer we ever received was from Hostway around 8 months ago. I told them I'd be in touch when the company was worth about 5 mill. :D


Well I have already been asked if I want to sell my email providing company to: http://www.everyone.net :stickout:
:D