Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Virus Warning


UH-Matt
11-05-2002, 04:21 PM
I just got sent an email with
"yourthehost.com 2002"
as the subject

I had visited that site recently.. attatched was a "index.html" and "logo.pif"

I scanned them and they both contained worms.

Very strange... be warned if you get any sort of similar email.

Matt.

creepcolony
11-06-2002, 07:22 PM
i could get a virus by just going to that site???

JeremyV
11-06-2002, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by creepcolony
i could get a virus by just going to that site???

Try it and let us know how it goes :D

UH-Matt
11-06-2002, 07:29 PM
no. But it was just a strange email which 100% had a virus in it. It was not related to yourthehost.com but i thought i would post here incase it was going around the forums or something like that.

ATST
11-06-2002, 10:04 PM
I got a bunch of them recently, all sent from the same address, addressed to "webmaster@oneofmydomains.com", contained virues, were 24 kb in size, and the subjects were titled:
Re: Order Notice
Re: Tracking Numbers
Re: Account Confirmation
Re: Order Notice
Re: Account Status
Re: Account Status
Subject: Re: Order Notice
Subject: Re: Account Status

The IP traces back to the Latin American and Caribbean IP address Regional Registry.

UH-Matt
11-06-2002, 10:10 PM
Yeah i have had a couple more, normally containing a url of a hosting site i have visited recently (not one of my domains) its a bit wierd.

Got the scheduled virus checker going tonight anyway - will see its not something on my box before i start bashing heads :)

akashik
11-07-2002, 02:23 AM
Originally posted by creepcolony
i could get a virus by just going to that site???

Not sure about *that* site but yes, you can. I went to a site months back that had been defaced. Sure enough my browser tried to download and execute a virus. From memory it's to do with a javascript exploit or some such.

So it's another good reason to keep your virus protection up to date and running 101% of the time :)

Greg Moore