View Full Version : 8th March Discovery!?!
UH-Matt 11-05-2002, 02:53 PM http://www.8march2003.com/
post your thoughts on the above ?!!
Is it just a way of generating hits to the site, is there something truthful behind it.....
DanielP 11-05-2002, 03:05 PM Well its either someones paranoid fantasy or it has something behing it heh
Its probabbly going to end up being some goat boy picture.
Hackers don't move mice or "whirr" harddrives on computers... well they can if you want to freak someone out but not if you want to know what their doing... also wire taps aren't going to leave audible "clicks".... prolly a buncha bs but it was a intresting read none the less... Looks like someone pulled a camera out of a car fire or something lol.
DanielP 11-05-2002, 03:10 PM hmmm too bad I'm no good at code... either its just a poorly made site or there is a hidden message in it hehe
Tallon 11-05-2002, 03:29 PM Aliens!! :) By March 8th I'm sure to forget that the site even exists. I think it's just someone messing around, why postpone going public with photos when someone is after you, why not just go straight to the press? Why create multiple web sites when that opens up the door to be tracked down?
March 8th gives this person plenty of time to build up a curious audience, generating a lot of hits.. watch it be an ad for some new hosting company, or some low budget flick :)
Angel78 11-05-2002, 03:34 PM Whatever happens on 8.3.2003 7 days later I ll have few green beer's @ my favorite Irish Pub :) (St Patricks)
DaveMc 11-05-2002, 03:47 PM well whoever did it went to the lengths to get their name registered privately.
All in all, I'm calling it a hoax. But it'll be fun to watch if the person actually keeps it updated and stuff.
RH Robert 11-05-2002, 04:00 PM Its the start of Spring break for these schools....
Colorado State University CO March 8
Duke University NC March 8
Florida State University FL March 8
GeorgeTown University DC March 8
Miami University OH March 8
runik 11-05-2002, 04:18 PM All though it is probably just a big hoax, it has got me curious. I bookmarked it, just so I can check back on it.
Ya never know, it could be legitimate.
hostpath.com 11-05-2002, 04:23 PM Wow! This is very bizarre. This is the second time the date March 8, 2003 was mentioned to me in an ominous way in the past two weeks. The second was this site, the first was in regard to national security.
davidb 11-05-2002, 04:58 PM just a bunch of bs, reminds me of a bad movie.
one or two probs I had with it:
1.The speed of them getting into his computer
2. The speed of them tapping his phone
3. The speed that "agents" got there
4. The fact that the "agents" did not have someone waiting for him
5. The fact that the "agents" got close to him(at the motel part) but they didnt do anything
6. The most obvious fact is that he hasent posted it. If it was big enough, it would start circulating around.
Also reminds me of the simspons found the remains of an angel and it turned out to be a marketing scam :)
The Dude 11-05-2002, 06:02 PM I wouldnt be surprised if it was a picture of Bill Gates using a Mac!!! (hehehehe)
The Dude :)
susannad 11-05-2002, 09:30 PM The aliens are landing !
and what a perfect day to pick to take over the planet and destroy civilisation as we know it .. we'll all be pissed to the eyeballs on green beer and singing 'Paddy McGinty's goat"
beam me up Scotty
theqase 11-05-2002, 09:39 PM actually there is a similar thread with different thoughts on it over at tutorial forums...
hre is the link http://www.tutorialforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=25216
i dont feel like explaining it
you should go check it out... very interesting
IGobyTerry 11-05-2002, 09:39 PM Yeah, sounded like a movie script. Reminded me of Enema of the State. Great movie BTW.
akashik 11-05-2002, 10:11 PM Originally posted by davidb
Also reminds me of the simspons found the remains of an angel and it turned out to be a marketing scam :)
Har har.. I was thinking exactly the same thing.
"It's the end of the world!... the end of the world of high prices!"
I think this guys 'lifted' half his ideas from the x-files and the other half from the Blair Witch.
Greg Moore
Aussie Bob 11-05-2002, 10:30 PM hehe. Good scam. I'd say someone's launching a book or something. Or maybe some home made flick they want to sell over the net. :laugh: :D
DanielP 11-05-2002, 11:16 PM HAHHA I know what it is now! I've figured it out
A celebrity porn site... some idiot's prolly taken some (or found some) pictures of a celeb and is gunna post em lol...
Thats the only logical explination I can come up with
Woody 11-06-2002, 01:04 AM I bet that the site is gone by December. ;)
Subwoofer 11-06-2002, 02:25 AM yeah. this is all over almost every popular message board now. its most likley a hoax. nothing to worry about: however, i did bookmark it, for the curiosity :)
WoodShedd 11-06-2002, 03:07 AM It was almost believable till the black van pulled up.
DanielP 11-06-2002, 03:24 AM LOL.. as soon as I saw the words "whirr of the harddrive" i knew it was a hoax. Thats just too simple... I mean if he had been some computer guru and mentioned something about an IDS alarm going off or a phone tap monitor setting off an alarm maybe..... but whirrs and clicks don't count in the world of hacking and phone tapping :)
hostpath.com 11-06-2002, 11:19 AM Linkfilter.net claims that the site is:
"An oddball site acting as a teaser for the 'The Matrix: Revisited' movie."
AH-Tina 11-07-2002, 03:10 AM Originally posted by WoodShedd
It was almost believable till the black van pulled up.
Yeah, "they" know where he lives...can hack his computer and tap his phone lines....can find out instantly which keywords he searches for...yet "they" let the website remain up, all this time???
Hmmmmm. :eek:
--Tina
susannad 11-07-2002, 07:12 AM you've got to admit it's a good story though
bet those hits are soaring :stickout:
the ultimate reason will be something very down-to-earth
maybe a film
UH-Matt 11-07-2002, 07:24 AM if you wish hard enough it might be true :) :) :)
Originally posted by DanielP
HAHHA I know what it is now! I've figured it out
A celebrity porn site... some idiot's prolly taken some (or found some) pictures of a celeb and is gunna post em lol...
Thats the only logical explination I can come up with
susannad 11-07-2002, 08:06 AM I believe
I'm with Scully
Darth 11-07-2002, 08:13 AM Originally posted by UH-Matt
http://www.8march2003.com/
post your thoughts on the above ?!!
Is it just a way of generating hits to the site, is there something truthful behind it.....
Kids today... yeesh :D it was all probably based on a movie :)
MikeM 11-07-2002, 08:24 PM well I was gonna say multiple sites havent been created, but they are.. they're just parked
K2rbka 11-08-2002, 05:35 AM Heh. I just read that. Looked interesting until the quickness of the 'faction'. Sounds like a mix between the matrix and enemy of the state.
I bookmarked it to check up on it later, but more than likely it's a hoax.
got http://********** ? :)
K2rbka 11-08-2002, 05:35 AM That was <removed> - I guess it was banned.
HAHA
<<MOD NOTE: And don't you think for a reason? Do NOT post blocked URLs on the forum.>>
susannad 11-13-2002, 05:01 AM and here is the answer to the 8 March site
http://www.8march2003.com/
have a look at it now :D
UH-Matt 11-13-2002, 05:34 AM thats no answer! :)
susannad 11-13-2002, 06:07 AM looks like it's the only one we're going to get ;)
|