Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Hostingplex.com - Spamming hits a new low.


dandanfirema
11-05-2002, 01:33 AM
I was just spammed through my customer support chat program by Hostingplex.com. This has to be a new low. Not only do I pay a significant sum of money for the program, but have to pay someone, either myself or someone that works for me to watch it. I consider this to be lower than spam. You be the judge.


Visitor: Hello Danny,
Danny: Hello. How may I assist you?
Visitor: My name is Kaumil Patel,
Visitor: i'm one of the owners at Hostingplex.com,
Danny: Yes
Visitor: i'm wondering if you'd be interested in unmanaged servers?
Visitor: $89.00 for 400gb,

okihost
11-05-2002, 01:54 AM
Hey you dont get 5000 customers in a month and a half just sitting there :laugh:

:uzi::spam:

TowerHost
11-05-2002, 02:10 AM
LMAO!
No no it was 5000 + :D

ckpeter
11-05-2002, 02:12 AM
I wouldn't consider that spam - spam is a random mailing of advertisement.

It seems that his contact was a targeted initiation. Even if you don't like it, it doesn't equate to spam.

Peter

m0nkeyhost
11-05-2002, 02:21 AM
Pretty funny though. Guess they aren't too picky on who they solicit for business.

Kaumil
11-05-2002, 02:32 AM
Here's clearification on this incident. I was surfing through some web hosting companies, and was emailing to talk to the people incharge of managing the servers. You can see I asked if they were interested, it was miscommunication that lead to the price and other information being said by me because I read "Yes" in his answer.

I don't think this was spam, I really did ask for his permission. I also apologized to him.

Aussie Bob
11-05-2002, 03:02 AM
Originally posted by ckpeter
I wouldn't consider that spam - spam is a random mailing of advertisement.

It seems that his contact was a targeted initiation. Even if you don't like it, it doesn't equate to spam.

Peter
Agreed. It's not spam. It's someone making a targeted approach to do some business. Hardly the same as blasting an ad to 50 million email addresses....:eek:

okihost
11-05-2002, 03:52 AM
Was this on AIM or something or was it on there site? I was under the impression you just got a IM out of nowhere.. although I have to say I find NOTHING more aggrivating than going to a website and having someone pop up wondering if I need any help.. I usually tell them I see the huge "LIVE HELP IS AVAILABLE" image and if I do I will click it.. kinda makes me feel like someone is following me around..